We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Kaai 4

Kaai 4
Ranked #8 of 131 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$3
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful setting looking over the ocean.
Food was delicious.
The owner was a bit of a character too.
I would highly recommend and will hopefully be back one day.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Chelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an epic day. Had to go to Kaai 4. Food was brilliant. The roosterkoek soft and buttery. The chicken kebabs so succulent and delicious. The owner came from my valley. The craft beer was delectable. Reminded me of Lion Lager. The view to die for. The best part, you can take your shoes off and sit with your feet in the sand and nobody will judge. And you get dolphins for visitors. A must eat and see.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MariaanC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a gem, best Roosterkoek and a fantastic vibe. I loved the seasand under my feet and te prices are very affordable.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank hilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Traditional SA brai, owner is an absolute legend. Great food, service and beer all in a cool location by the water. Don't miss it!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We ordered a light lunch of "roosterkoek" and cheese/jams, but were very disappointed (as also by people at table next to ours) - the roosterkoeke were cold and flat, with only a little bit of margarine (vs butter at other places) for 3 roosterkoeke. The waiter was also not that friendly.
I believe they perform to a higher standard during peak seasons, but off-peak - please give this joint a miss.
I would rather make my own roosterkoeke when visting Mossel Bay again

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FanieV54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaai 4 also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Great Brak River, Mossel Bay
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Kaai 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing