We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Café Gannet Restaurant is Mossel Bay's seafood House. Acclaimed for local seafood specialties, ingeniously prepared. Coastal oysters, black mussels and Mossel Bay Sole are delivered daily from the harbour to make a delectable and varied a la carte menu, which includes pizza, salads, meat dishes, light lunches and Rainbow Cuisine. For a relaxing afternoon, come and enjoy a cocktail overlooking the Indian Ocean... The Cafe Gannet is a great treat, which will please the most discerning palate - very trendy, so bookings are recommended.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Buffet breakfast is a treat and everyone is catered for, including Champagne breakfast every day if you like. Every plate coming out of the kitchen is beautifully presented and very tasty. I spent a week at the Protea Hotel and ate most of my meals at Cafe Gannet - I was not disappointed once. Well done Chef !

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank bevl238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    423
    121
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cafe gannet”
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Outstanding food, ambiance, service, value for money. Best seafood platter ever and fabulous muscles! Restaurant was very busy but food arrived within 15 minutes from order and cooked to perfection.

Visited April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 99iz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Good experience”
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Great food loved it... made an exception for us we didn't make a reservation but we managed to get a table and enjoy the fresh fish!!! EXCELLENT!!!

Visited April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Annah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best food and service in town”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

This is the best restaurant to visit. For business or private dining. Excellent food. Worth every cent. Lovely atmosphere great food and best service. Will definitely be back for more

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank trudyk886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Little pricey but good food and service”
Reviewed 16 April 2017

One of the things that has struck me is that service on the whole is much worse than it was when I was here 11 yeats ago. Cafe Gannet bucks that trend and we got our food quicky without feeling rushed.The menu is a mix of seafood, meat and a separate sushi menu. My Indian fishcake starter an deconstructed apple crumble were very good, my burger was OK at best. The patty looked bought in and was overcooked. My wife's kingklip parcels main was excellent and huge.By UK standards it was good value but 10-20% more expensive than other SA restaurants

Helpful?
Thank The_Don_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing