We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in a foodie desert!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis in a foodie desert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Attractive decor, friendly and efficient staff, an interesting menu.
Our sole was perfectly cooked, falling off the bone. It was served with stir fried julienne of vegetables in a sauce which complimented the delicate fish.
The wine list was varied and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    403
    112
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant had good range of tasty options. The service was friendly and prompt. The chicken stack was delicious.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek, South Africa
1 review
“The Cafe Gannet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were all very impressed with the Restaurant and surprised when we asked the Waiter if we could share a curry (my husband and I) and he said he would ask. Normally you get a outright NO, but we were presented with 1/2 portions each, which we very much enjoyed. The gentleman who served us was also very helpful and very nice. We will definitely visit again when we are next in Mossel Bay. Thanks for a very nice lunch. We will definitely recommend your Restaurant.

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank barbarakF120FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
“Always Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always a Good Experience. Regular Monthly Customer on Business and never been let down. Friendly Staff. Value for Money and the food GR8T

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 354annettep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

How do you please a chef... Ask Cafe Gannet... They have just the recipe, from excellent service to amazing food. They make not only my eyes, taste buds and stomach smile but it hits the soul... Every time

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing