We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Café Gannet Restaurant is Mossel Bay's seafood House. Acclaimed for local seafood specialties, ingeniously prepared. Coastal oysters, black mussels and Mossel Bay Sole are delivered daily from the harbour to make a delectable and varied a la carte menu, which includes pizza, salads, meat dishes, light lunches and Rainbow Cuisine. For a relaxing afternoon, come and enjoy a cocktail overlooking the Indian Ocean... The Cafe Gannet is a great treat, which will please the most discerning palate - very trendy, so bookings are recommended.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The restaurant had good range of tasty options. The service was friendly and prompt. The chicken stack was delicious.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    423
    121
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fish Hoek, South Africa
1 review
“The Cafe Gannet”
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We were all very impressed with the Restaurant and surprised when we asked the Waiter if we could share a curry (my husband and I) and he said he would ask. Normally you get a outright NO, but we were presented with 1/2 portions each, which we very much enjoyed. The gentleman who served us was also very helpful and very nice. We will definitely visit again when we are next in Mossel Bay. Thanks for a very nice lunch. We will definitely recommend your Restaurant.

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank barbarakF120FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
“Always Awesome”
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Always a Good Experience. Regular Monthly Customer on Business and never been let down. Friendly Staff. Value for Money and the food GR8T

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 354annettep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

How do you please a chef... Ask Cafe Gannet... They have just the recipe, from excellent service to amazing food. They make not only my eyes, taste buds and stomach smile but it hits the soul... Every time

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What's not to like? ”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

A beautiful setting with outdoor seating, prompt courteous service and very good food at a reasonable price. We had the kingklip fish and grilled ostrich which were both perfectly cooked and a vanilla panna cotta with orange sauce that was excellent. The wine list is adequate with fair prices. Altogether a very enjoyable evening.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing