We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Café Gannet Restaurant is Mossel Bay's seafood House. Acclaimed for local seafood specialties, ingeniously prepared. Coastal oysters, black mussels and Mossel Bay Sole are delivered daily from the harbour to make a delectable and varied a la carte menu, which includes pizza, salads, meat dishes, light lunches and Rainbow Cuisine. For a relaxing afternoon, come and enjoy a cocktail overlooking the Indian Ocean... The Cafe Gannet is a great treat, which will please the most discerning palate - very trendy, so bookings are recommended.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

How do you please a chef... Ask Cafe Gannet... They have just the recipe, from excellent service to amazing food. They make not only my eyes, taste buds and stomach smile but it hits the soul... Every time

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    431
    126
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What's not to like? ”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

A beautiful setting with outdoor seating, prompt courteous service and very good food at a reasonable price. We had the kingklip fish and grilled ostrich which were both perfectly cooked and a vanilla panna cotta with orange sauce that was excellent. The wine list is adequate with fair prices. Altogether a very enjoyable evening.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vibey”
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We went there for a few cocktails on a Friday Night and there was a DJ playing in the bar. The Gannet is great for families, couples and friends. Overall a nice place

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseM_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely garden”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed everything: food, wine, service and atmosphere. Will definitely come back when we are in Mossel Bay.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank mfelchlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem hidden in Mossel Bay”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Let us start with the food and drinks. The have a great drinks selection, all kinds of different wines and proper cocktails too. Oh and the food, of course, was divine, was fantastic, was indulgent. There are so many words to describe the amazing food. You will definitely not be sorry to eat seafood at Cafe Gannet. Just awesome.

The atmosphere is great, Cafe Gannet is actually quite fancy, but you can't see that from the outside, they are a little hidden with their brick walls and native fishing decorations. But once inside it all changes, you actually forget that you are in Mossel Bay.

The service was good, our waitress kept us informed of the status of our food and was there when we needed her.

The one thing that bothered us a lot was that we informed them that it was a special evening, a birthday. We told them when we made the reservations, we told them when we phoned to check the reservation on the day and we told the waiter as we sat down. She even thanked us for informing her. That is as far as it went. No special birthday anything. We were quite disappointed about it.

Other than that it was a great evening.

Cafe Gannet get's Two Tasty Tummies' stamp of approval

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTastyTummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing