We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

How do you please a chef... Ask Cafe Gannet... They have just the recipe, from excellent service to amazing food. They make not only my eyes, taste buds and stomach smile but it hits the soul... Every time

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    403
    112
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Unfortunately disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading all the positive reviews I was excited to eat here. Unfortunately the food was a real let down. I am a huge foodie so flavours and presentation are extremely important to me. If this is one of the top restaurants in Mossel Bay then that is frightening.

The shrimp bisque had absolutely no flavour to it, except an aftertaste of garlic which unfortunately gives me an upset stomach. I had to add whatever I could find on the table, including fresh lemon, pepper and a lot of salt (which I never add to anything!), to make it somewhat palatable.

The tuna sashimi was ok, but obviously one of those frozen preshaped pieces of pinkish tuna that non-sushi restaurants get. Not the fresh stuff you should be getting on a coastal town.

The pizza was best thing I had, but pizza dough tasted like pre-bought frozen crust. They were nice enough to let me delete and add a topping even though it said no substitutions.

On a positive note, the setting is nice, with views of the bay and the service was also good.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank corinnek808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What's not to like? ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful setting with outdoor seating, prompt courteous service and very good food at a reasonable price. We had the kingklip fish and grilled ostrich which were both perfectly cooked and a vanilla panna cotta with orange sauce that was excellent. The wine list is adequate with fair prices. Altogether a very enjoyable evening.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vibey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there for a few cocktails on a Friday Night and there was a DJ playing in the bar. The Gannet is great for families, couples and friends. Overall a nice place

  • Visited February 2017
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseM_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed everything: food, wine, service and atmosphere. Will definitely come back when we are in Mossel Bay.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank mfelchlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing