We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2015

I have never stayed at this hotel so I cannot comment on the accommodation, but I always stop there for a snack or drink on my way to Oudtshoorn for business and sometimes I go there for Sunday meals. The food is always good and well presented although the service is a bit slow during the weekday. The staff are pleasant and friendly. The main attractions for me are views and the surroundings which are very pleasant for relaxing.

Room Tip: It is always worth stopping on your way to or from Mossel Bay even just for a cup of tea/coffee and...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank 42Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Thank you for your review and for your kind words, it is appreciated. I must agree that we are privileged to be situated here in the mountain offering these beautiful views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2015

Swiss cottages have excellent view over the mountain. Garden well taken care of, together with the horses. Rene is a hands-on owner who is always looking at ways to improve 8 Bells. Food was very good and establishment is a good spot to enjoy lunch enroute to Oudshoorn or Mossel Bay.

Room Tip: The Swiss cottages are the best positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogamat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Thank you so much for your review of our property, it is much appreciated. The Swiss Village chalets are certainly popular and highly regarded by most visitors. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Eight Bells secures a superb stay in the foot hills of the Outeniqua mountains between Mosselbay and Oudtshoorn with many outdoor activities. Quality food, comfortable accommodation and friendly staff are typical attributes of this venue, situated in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petrus721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Thank you for your kind words in reviewing our property and for highlighting all the attributes that we hold dear. It is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Rene Bongers
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We were on a big family holiday with three generations. There was loads for everyone to do: horseriding (Heidi was really excellent at handling a wide variation in abilities and sensitive teenage egos), tennis, bowls, squash, swimming and gorgeous walks. The staff were utterly delightful - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are very nice and spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed. The food is not gourmet standard, and the evening meal took a long time, because service was very slow. But it's plentiful and wholesome (bran muffins for breakfast were super) and there is a kids' menu as well as adults, which is very helpful. And they'll do you a toasted sandwich at pretty much any time of day and bring it to wherever you are in the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Our delightful Swiss chalet was super, but a short walk away from the main area and had steep wooden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZPJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Thank you for your comprehensive review and for highlighting our various activities. We have been fortunate to host many similar family groups here at Eight Bells and the attraction is perhaps that we are able to entertain all age groups. We apologise that the dinner service took longer than anticipated but it is sometimes more difficult to serve everyone at the same time if they are all seated together. We appreciate your feedback and am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Spend a few days during the last long weekend of April 2015. The location of this homely country hotel is in the Robinson Pass and set amongst the most beautiful scenery. The hotel and grounds are kept immaculate and well maintained. I found the staff overall very helpful and friendly except for Sunday lunch when the restaurant got busy with couples and groups - to serve a single person just seems to be too much effort from the waiting staff! Did spoil my lunch experience. The food is very tasty and value for money. Stayed in a log cabin - comfortable bed, clean, underfloor heating (can get chilly at night) with a turn down service. Overall a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Log cabins - away from the hotel with a beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Thank you so much for staying with us again and for your updated review of our property. It is always nice to have return visitors and to hear from them how we fair over time. I apologise that the service offered to you on the Sunday was not up to our usual high standard and the fact that we were very busy can not be used as an excuse. All guests are important to us and there is no reason why a single person would not be afforded the same service levels. I will certainly address the matter with my staff. We are however pleased that you again enjoyed the overall experience of staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rene Bongers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
28,8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
30 km away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
259 reviews
26,3 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29,6 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
568 reviews
36,4 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
27,5 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Address: Robinson Pass on R328 | and Oudtshoorn ., Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: R1 449 - R1 741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing