We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oceans Hotel(Mossel Bay)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portao Diaz(Mossel Bay)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa(George)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fancourt(George)
US$286
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
208
138
27
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
138
27
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingunderfloor heatingdonkey cartlog cabintennis courtsswiss villagebilliard roombowling greenlawn bowlstable tennismountain walkssquash courtthe palm courtaway from the roadbell ringslovely venueswimming pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Swiss cottages have excellent view over the mountain. Garden well taken care of, together with the horses. Rene is a hands-on owner who is always looking at ways to improve 8 Bells. Food was very good and establishment is a good spot to enjoy lunch enroute to Oudshoorn or Mossel Bay.

Room Tip: The Swiss cottages are the best positioned.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogamat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Thank you so much for your review of our property, it is much appreciated. The Swiss Village chalets are certainly popular and highly regarded by most visitors. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Eight Bells secures a superb stay in the foot hills of the Outeniqua mountains between Mosselbay and Oudtshoorn with many outdoor activities. Quality food, comfortable accommodation and friendly staff are typical attributes of this venue, situated in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petrus721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Thank you for your kind words in reviewing our property and for highlighting all the attributes that we hold dear. It is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Rene Bongers
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We were on a big family holiday with three generations. There was loads for everyone to do: horseriding (Heidi was really excellent at handling a wide variation in abilities and sensitive teenage egos), tennis, bowls, squash, swimming and gorgeous walks. The staff were utterly delightful - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are very nice and spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed. The food is not gourmet standard, and the evening meal took a long time, because service was very slow. But it's plentiful and wholesome (bran muffins for breakfast were super) and there is a kids' menu as well as adults, which is very helpful. And they'll do you a toasted sandwich at pretty much any time of day and bring it to wherever you are in the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Our delightful Swiss chalet was super, but a short walk away from the main area and had steep wooden stairs
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZPJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Thank you for your comprehensive review and for highlighting our various activities. We have been fortunate to host many similar family groups here at Eight Bells and the attraction is perhaps that we are able to entertain all age groups. We apologise that the dinner service took longer than anticipated but it is sometimes more difficult to serve everyone at the same time if they are all seated together. We appreciate your feedback and am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Spend a few days during the last long weekend of April 2015. The location of this homely country hotel is in the Robinson Pass and set amongst the most beautiful scenery. The hotel and grounds are kept immaculate and well maintained. I found the staff overall very helpful and friendly except for Sunday lunch when the restaurant got busy with couples and groups - to serve a single person just seems to be too much effort from the waiting staff! Did spoil my lunch experience. The food is very tasty and value for money. Stayed in a log cabin - comfortable bed, clean, underfloor heating (can get chilly at night) with a turn down service. Overall a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Log cabins - away from the hotel with a beautiful view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Thank you so much for staying with us again and for your updated review of our property. It is always nice to have return visitors and to hear from them how we fair over time. I apologise that the service offered to you on the Sunday was not up to our usual high standard and the fact that we were very busy can not be used as an excuse. All guests are important to us and there is no reason why a single person would not be afforded the same service levels. I will certainly address the matter with my staff. We are however pleased that you again enjoyed the overall experience of staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rene Bongers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

A well run and nostalgic holiday farm in beautiful surrounds. Having visited as a child and then a few times as an adult, Eight Bells continues to charm. The staff are very helpful and friendly and their breakfasts and tea time treats are excellent. Dinners are traditional and the addition of some more modern, lighter meals, could only improve the offering. Being halfway between Mossel Bay and Oudtshoorn, makes for great day drives to visit local attractions. A lovely getaway for both couples and families.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Thank you for your positive review of our property and for highlighting our traditional values. We are justly proud of our long-serving staff and the charm that they offer. Apart from being close to both Mossel Bay and Oudtshoorn to experience their attractions we offer enough activities to satisfy everyone that stays on-site. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rene Bongers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews