We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-done Cypress Cottage”
Review of Cypress Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Cottage
Ranked #8 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2017

The fact that they are pet-friendly is wonderful. They make one feel welcome and even went so far as making a reservation at Polka (a must to eat at whilst in town). Staff and owner very friendly and cannot do enough for one.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank radley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We have the feeling of being in another days... very charming and authentic place. Very high level of comfort. The cottage is fully equipped. Nice garden, very well maintained, huge space for living and to get rest. Very kind owners and helpful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Riverbend Self Catering Cottages is beautiful with stunning decor and a lovely little "stoep" where you can relax and braai. The self catering unit has everything you need, from air-conditioning to lovely bedding to keep you warm in the chilly Karoo. The hostess (Hilary) is extremely friendly and goes out of her way to make you feel welcomed. We will definitely be back in the future.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mensie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin Clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you very much for the review, it was only a pleasure to accommodate you at Riverbend Self-catering cottages. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your time in our beauituful town. We do look forward to accommodate you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The Riverbed self catering unit is very spacious and neatly decorated. I liked that externally it looked old fashioned but the interior is modern. It has off road parking and each unit has a patio area. The staff is extremely friendly and very accommodating especially with late arrivals for check-in. I will definitely book this accommodation the next time I visit in Graaff Reinet

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank khanyoumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you very much for the review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you at Riverbend self-catering units. We are glad that you like the unit and that you have enjoyed the weekend in Graaff-Reinet. We do look forward in accommodating you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I used the accommodation to break a Bloem to PE trip. The cottages are very neat...typically suitable as a base for a short period of time. In my view not suitable for children...nothing to do and no gardens ir swimming pool etc. Tge accommodation consisted of a bedroom with en suite bathroom (shower), a loung area and a kitchen. The DSTV bouquet is really inadequate though...no CNN or anything worthwhile. The breakfast was served in a seperate cottage...was very good. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you very much for the review, we appreciate it. We usually tell families that there is a playground with a swimming pool at the reception house that they can use for the children. The cottage that was used is one of our self-catering units where the space is limited for a garden, and children that are staying there can still access the playground. Our bed and breakfast cottages do have gardens to sit outside and enjoy the lovely weather of the Karoo. The DSTV bouquet is a standard hotel package bouquet with 7 channels. We strive to give our guests a pleasant and memorable stay and that they leave as very satisfied guests and we do hope that you will return to stay with us in one of our bed and breakfast cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0,9 km away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
482 reviews
0,6 km away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
205 reviews
0,6 km away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#3 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,8 km away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
138 reviews
1 km away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
107 reviews
0,6 km away
Villa Reinet Guest House
Villa Reinet Guest House
#11 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Cottage

Address: 76 Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: R 1 139 - R 1 465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages are of the early 1800s Cape Dutch variety & are understatedly decorated with a highly developed taste for the natural & comfortable. Rooms display high reed ceilings, solid pine & slate floors, antique chests, fresh flowers & free-standing baths. Breakfasts consist of free-range eggs, yogurt, fruits from the orchard, toast, bacon & delicious sausage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cypress Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing