We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
95
23
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
23
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street wonderful garden great hospitality stayed one night centre of town self catering unit pleasant stay riverbend accommodation host braai comfort
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Riverbend Self Catering Cottages is beautiful with stunning decor and a lovely little "stoep" where you can relax and braai. The self catering unit has everything you need, from air-conditioning to lovely bedding to keep you warm in the chilly Karoo. The hostess (Hilary) is extremely friendly and goes out of her way to make you feel welcomed. We will definitely be back in the future.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mensie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin Clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you very much for the review, it was only a pleasure to accommodate you at Riverbend Self-catering cottages. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your time in our beauituful town. We do look forward to accommodate you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The Riverbed self catering unit is very spacious and neatly decorated. I liked that externally it looked old fashioned but the interior is modern. It has off road parking and each unit has a patio area. The staff is extremely friendly and very accommodating especially with late arrivals for check-in. I will definitely book this accommodation the next time I visit in Graaff Reinet

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank khanyoumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you very much for the review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you at Riverbend self-catering units. We are glad that you like the unit and that you have enjoyed the weekend in Graaff-Reinet. We do look forward in accommodating you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I used the accommodation to break a Bloem to PE trip. The cottages are very neat...typically suitable as a base for a short period of time. In my view not suitable for children...nothing to do and no gardens ir swimming pool etc. Tge accommodation consisted of a bedroom with en suite bathroom (shower), a loung area and a kitchen. The DSTV bouquet is really inadequate though...no CNN or anything worthwhile. The breakfast was served in a seperate cottage...was very good. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you very much for the review, we appreciate it. We usually tell families that there is a playground with a swimming pool at the reception house that they can use for the children. The cottage that was used is one of our self-catering units where the space is limited for a garden, and children that are staying there can still access the playground. Our bed and breakfast cottages do have gardens to sit outside and enjoy the lovely weather of the Karoo. The DSTV bouquet is a standard hotel package bouquet with 7 channels. We strive to give our guests a pleasant and memorable stay and that they leave as very satisfied guests and we do hope that you will return to stay with us in one of our bed and breakfast cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I arrived late on a sunday afternoon, but was so bowled over by the accommodations. Yes it is an old house, but the attention to detail was really great. The furnishings are mostly antique, but the bed is one of the most comfortable i have slept in in a looooong time. The bathroom is very quaint and so spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was really a tasty affair, with homemade quince preserve, yummy. Will go back for that alone...:):):):)
Definitely a place to recommend and where I will stay in the future.
Thank you....

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Verdi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin Clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you very much for the review, it was such a pleasure to accommodate you at Cypress Cottage, and that you had a comfort and peaceful sleep. We would really love to accommodate you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We spent a couple of nights in a 1-bedroom cottage along the leafy back streets of the town, probably less than 1km to the town center. The cottage was beautiful – roomy, clean, comfortable, and modern. It had a fully functional kitchen, large, airy living area, and a roomy bedroom. The bed was really comfortable, the surroundings quiet, so we had a great sleep. The bathroom was a bit small and cramped – definitely a one person at a time facility. The back veranda was a great place to enjoy an outdoor breakfast. Free Wifi was a great bonus. The parking area is a bit tight and cramped, but it is safe and secure with a remote control gate.

Overall we had a great stay here and would definitely recommend it to other travelers looking for a nice comfortable base in Graaff-Reinet.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressCottage, Admin clerk at Cypress Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you very much for the review, it was a pleasure to accommodate you and your wife at Cypress Cottage. We do look forward to accommodate you in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews