We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better”
Review of Somerset Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset Stables
Ranked #1 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Thank you to Reinette for opening up your home to us! You have a true gem in Graaff Reinett. Beautiful rooms, stunning garden, friendly staff and breakfast was delicious. Will definitely be back! Your excellent hospitality is greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Thanks for a wonderful stay. The beautiful decorated room, comfortable bed, beautiful garden and friendly, charming host make it an unforgettable stay. Enjoyable breakfast. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

I so enjoyed your company and welcoming you to my house...thank you for your review, it is so much appreciated....I look forward to your next stay. Have a great 2018! I love my job and meet such great people.
Be safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

A lovely venue. Our hostess was amazing, the room comfortable and well equipped and the breakfast wonderful. Situated in a quiet part of the town, ideal for an overnight (or longer stay). We would definitely recommend Somerset Stables.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CRT1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review...you were awesome guests and I do hope that you will return soon to Somerset Stables. I wish you a great 2018! Pity the stay was so short.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

There are good guest houses. Then there are really classy guest houses.

Somerset Stables is top rated in my opinion.

When we arrived Reinette, the owner, looked me up and down and declared that, with my height (yes I am tall), she wanted to upgrade us to a better room with a larger bed. In the process I had the opportunity to look at three different rooms and I can assure you they are all exceptional, comfortable, perfect, quiet and secure. After a long and hot car trip I particularly liked the bar fridge and air-conditioning. There is good parking with a secure remote to get in and out. Reinette is a sparkling personality with a wonderful sense of care and attention to detail. There are some really interesting visual pleasures around the breakfast room and breakfast was outstanding. Somehow we lost our TV remote and struggled to find it. Eventually Reinette sent a housekeeper to assist. We still could not find it and went ahead with breakfast and then checking out. As we were about to leave, I offered to pay for the remote but then, after having searched for a long time, the housekeeper ran in saying she found the remote. Once again attention to detail. And a special tip for attention to detail - this time the staff. I can recommend Somerset Stables. Go there. It is classy.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhynman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Aww THANK YOU SO MUCH for your very kind and glowing review.... I still remember you being to restless about the TV remote.... you were so kind to offer to pay for a new one, and I remember the joy on Hester's face for finding it and the her pleasant and grateful surprise for you rewarding her...thank you so much for your kindness towards me with you lovely wife...I believe that you will return and it will be such a pleasure.... Thank you so much and I look forward to your next visit. Have a great and blessed XMas... Lots of love Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Rene is a fantastic host of her lovely Guesthouse.We had a long drive and arrived to find a lovely room and a reservation already made for us at a great local restaurant, a very thoughtful touch. Having not been to Graaff-Reinet before Rene gave us some great pointers which made our trip all the more enjoyable. The Valley of Desolation at sunset will long stay in our minds. After a lovely night's sleep Rene's breakfast was fit for a king. Lovely room, safe and peaceful but still within walking distance of museums and restaurants etc.We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The extra-large king was a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxxxxxxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you so so much for taking time to write a much appreciated review on Somerset Stables, it was such a pleasure to play host to you and welcome you to Somerset Stables.
I do hope that you will return one day GOD willing...Have a blessed XMAs. Kind regards
Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0,7 km away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
482 reviews
0,9 km away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
182 reviews
0,9 km away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#3 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
138 reviews
1,1 km away
Obesa Lodge
Obesa Lodge
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
245 reviews
0,1 km away
Villa Reinet Guest House
Villa Reinet Guest House
#11 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Stables

Address: C/O Somerset & Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: R 933 - R 1 072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Somerset Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing