We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Stables
Nearby Hotels
US$534
US$510
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beau & I(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drostdy Hotel(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Obesa Lodge(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camdeboo Cottages(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Karoopark Guest House(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
185
27
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
27
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming ownerquiet staylocal restaurant for dinneruseful tipshoneymoon suitewarm welcomebeautifully decorated roomsan amazing hostbeautiful antiquesguest housegreat accommodationlovely roomlovely gardenpleasure of stayingspecial touchcape townsecure parking
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

There are good guest houses. Then there are really classy guest houses.

Somerset Stables is top rated in my opinion.

When we arrived Reinette, the owner, looked me up and down and declared that, with my height (yes I am tall), she wanted to upgrade us to a better room with a larger bed. In the process I had the opportunity to look at three different rooms and I can assure you they are all exceptional, comfortable, perfect, quiet and secure. After a long and hot car trip I particularly liked the bar fridge and air-conditioning. There is good parking with a secure remote to get in and out. Reinette is a sparkling personality with a wonderful sense of care and attention to detail. There are some really interesting visual pleasures around the breakfast room and breakfast was outstanding. Somehow we lost our TV remote and struggled to find it. Eventually Reinette sent a housekeeper to assist. We still could not find it and went ahead with breakfast and then checking out. As we were about to leave, I offered to pay for the remote but then, after having searched for a long time, the housekeeper ran in saying she found the remote. Once again attention to detail. And a special tip for attention to detail - this time the staff. I can recommend Somerset Stables. Go there. It is classy.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhynman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Aww THANK YOU SO MUCH for your very kind and glowing review.... I still remember you being to restless about the TV remote.... you were so kind to offer to pay for a new one, and I remember the joy on Hester's face for finding it and the her pleasant and grateful surprise for you rewarding her...thank you so much for your kindness towards me with you lovely wife...I believe that you will return and it will be such a pleasure.... Thank you so much and I look forward to your next visit. Have a great and blessed XMas... Lots of love Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Rene is a fantastic host of her lovely Guesthouse.We had a long drive and arrived to find a lovely room and a reservation already made for us at a great local restaurant, a very thoughtful touch. Having not been to Graaff-Reinet before Rene gave us some great pointers which made our trip all the more enjoyable. The Valley of Desolation at sunset will long stay in our minds. After a lovely night's sleep Rene's breakfast was fit for a king. Lovely room, safe and peaceful but still within walking distance of museums and restaurants etc.We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The extra-large king was a treat.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxxxxxxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you so so much for taking time to write a much appreciated review on Somerset Stables, it was such a pleasure to play host to you and welcome you to Somerset Stables.
I do hope that you will return one day GOD willing...Have a blessed XMAs. Kind regards
Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

This B&B is very central with 2 excellent restaurant only 2 minutes walk away on the same street. We were welcomed and show to our room by a lovely receptionist. The room itself could do with a little updating but it was certainly adequate for our stay. Breakfast was served in the main house and was plentiful. We enjoyed our 2 nights here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Dave...thank you so much for taking time to write a review,.
I hope that the rest of your visit and holiday was very pleasant. I wish you a blessed XMas and do hope that you will return one day. Regards Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Somerset Stabled and it was perfect! Our room was very large and confortable. The breakfast prepared « with love » by Reinette is delightful. If you like warm welcome, peaceful place, nice and smart people, you should not miss Somerset Stables once you’ll go to Graaff-Reinet.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

aWW





































































































Aww Claude, how nice to get a review from a senior reviewer and a well travelled couple like yourselves....THANK YOU SO MUCH. You were such easy guests and a absolute pleasure to accommodate you in my home....hope I get more guests from Switzerland. I wish you safe travel in our country. Kind regards
Reinette










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Very welcoming service and always pleasant to stay.
Well located within walking distance of very good restaurants.
The host could not do enough to look after our every need.
Thank you, Reinette, for once again making out visit memorable!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

THANK YOU so much for this review Ed. I am so grateful when I receive guests that returns
time after time.... I look forward to your next visit. Take care. Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews