We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Stables
Nearby Hotels
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rietjiesbos B&B(Graaff-Reinet)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heathers B&B(Graaff-Reinet)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Cypress Cottage(Graaff-Reinet)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drostdy Hotel(Graaff-Reinet)
US$172
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse(Graaff-Reinet)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
US$556
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camdeboo Cottages(Graaff-Reinet)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
184
27
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
27
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming ownerquiet stayhoneymoon suitewarm welcomebeautifully decorated roomsan amazing hostbeautiful antiquesa lovely place to stayguest houselovely roompleasure of stayingspecial touchlovely gardencape townsecure parkinggreat accommodationmany years
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Rene is a fantastic host of her lovely Guesthouse.We had a long drive and arrived to find a lovely room and a reservation already made for us at a great local restaurant, a very thoughtful touch. Having not been to Graaff-Reinet before Rene gave us some great pointers which made our trip all the more enjoyable. The Valley of Desolation at sunset will long stay in our minds. After a lovely night's sleep Rene's breakfast was fit for a king. Lovely room, safe and peaceful but still within walking distance of museums and restaurants etc.We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The extra-large king was a treat.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxxxxxxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you so so much for taking time to write a much appreciated review on Somerset Stables, it was such a pleasure to play host to you and welcome you to Somerset Stables.
I do hope that you will return one day GOD willing...Have a blessed XMAs. Kind regards
Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

This B&B is very central with 2 excellent restaurant only 2 minutes walk away on the same street. We were welcomed and show to our room by a lovely receptionist. The room itself could do with a little updating but it was certainly adequate for our stay. Breakfast was served in the main house and was plentiful. We enjoyed our 2 nights here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Dave...thank you so much for taking time to write a review,.
I hope that the rest of your visit and holiday was very pleasant. I wish you a blessed XMas and do hope that you will return one day. Regards Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Somerset Stabled and it was perfect! Our room was very large and confortable. The breakfast prepared « with love » by Reinette is delightful. If you like warm welcome, peaceful place, nice and smart people, you should not miss Somerset Stables once you’ll go to Graaff-Reinet.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

aWW





































































































Aww Claude, how nice to get a review from a senior reviewer and a well travelled couple like yourselves....THANK YOU SO MUCH. You were such easy guests and a absolute pleasure to accommodate you in my home....hope I get more guests from Switzerland. I wish you safe travel in our country. Kind regards
Reinette










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Very welcoming service and always pleasant to stay.
Well located within walking distance of very good restaurants.
The host could not do enough to look after our every need.
Thank you, Reinette, for once again making out visit memorable!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

THANK YOU so much for this review Ed. I am so grateful when I receive guests that returns
time after time.... I look forward to your next visit. Take care. Reinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Arrived at Somerset Stables after a tiring drive from Cape Town..
Just driving through the gate of Somerset Stables is refreshing... and a quick shower and and afternoon nap in the most comfortable bed and I was revived..
The Barn is a lovely room tastefully furnished and decorated with a lovely en suite
bathroom.
Breakfast at Somerset stables is easily the best in town and the recipe for the scrambled eggs is a closely hidden secret.
Thanks once again Reinette for you hospitality will be back again soon....

Room Tip: All the rooms are great the Honeymoon suite and the Barn are my favorite
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetStables, Owner at Somerset Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. Yes The Barn has become very popular and I am very grateful that it is well liked by my guests.
Thank you for your kind words...I look forward that you will return to Somerset Stables.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews