We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
40
74
28
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
74
28
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach boys royal reserve reef walk low tide large group safari apartment kenya resort steve flowers
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We stayed a week with several of us in the 2+ bedrooms. It's fully self-contained and we felt it was very affordable, being able to cook several of our own meals. With kayak rental available, 2 swimming pools, activities for the children, and beautiful surroundings we were very happy indeed.
The beaches in the north coast aren't as pristine as the south, but we had no complaints, and the kayaks being readily available made up for it. We had a large group over one Sunday afternoon and they were very obliging in providing extra cooking pots and serving bowls etc. We would readily go back there again, as the on-the-beach situation was magical.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robiny222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile


This place is hidden deep within but once there it's a good place
We booked the cottages for Easter and got ours next to the pool side
Rooms were nice clean n fully furnished plus point was the Ac's in all the rooms including the main cottage lounge room
We had a dedicated maid who was there full time as we had brought our own food to be cooked there
the staff was very good and helpful
One drawback was we had to hand over one cottage earlier then the agreed time despite the fact that there were others empty and we were to check out that day
Overall it was a good holiday and all was nice

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank AamirSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

Visited this RCI resort with young kids some time ago, and they have fond memories of the nice pools and shallow ocean with lots of seaweed. We self catered, so can't say much about restaurant food. Room was clean, but not up to par with most timeshares. About 30 mi. north of Mombasa, a little too remote. We prefer Diani Beach resorts to the south of Mombasa, or those farther north near Malindi.

Date of stay: January 2014
1  Thank Philip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We stayed at Royal Reserve for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the area with super snorkelling and fishing trips. These were organised by the local beach boys led by Francis who can be contacted at www.krtoursandsafaris.co.uk the boys really made the trip for us as the hotel is suffering badly from the lack of tourists and is a little run down. The mini mart is CLOSED so you will have to travel about 4k to Mtwapa by car to get any shopping or ask the boys to fetch it for you. Such a shame that the area is suffering from lack of revenue, but notwithstanding, we had a non eventful two weeks of perfect sun and sand as long as you allow for the fact that this is Africa and not UK or the US you should enjoy your stay.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Very sad state this place is in with practically no one there. Beach is terrible with small area of sand and locals bother you. Food was terrible in restaurant and with us the only ones eating, it took a half hour to get coffee and never mind the rest of the mix ups. Front desk not very friendly. Massage girls annoying as well. How many times in a week did I have to say NO! The room we had had no screens on the windows so we had to close up and use a very noisy air conditioner that had poor cooling. This place needs a major overhaul and really, it just isn't in a descent location, especially if you want to get out and explore. The beach boys were helpful to us. We used Wenslus Kombe who arranged transportation, tours etc. he has a website if you want to book safari or other things prior to your arrival. I highly recommend him and Patrick. They were the only thing about Kenya we enjoyed. Just go to the beach and ask for them. They will keep others from bugging you.

Room tip: Don't!!
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshap59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews