We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
40
74
28
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
74
28
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach boys royal reserve reef walk low tide large group safari apartment kenya resort steve flowers
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

So....we had a week booked at Royal Reserve. But as things sometimes go, we needed to move our arrival date forward two days and our departure date forward four days. Absolutely no flexibility from the Royal Reserve. Even when they knew they would come out ahead with only 5 days of occupancy instead of the paid-for 7 days, they would NOT budge. They wanted $140 per day for each of the two days we would arrive early, and they wouldn't allow anything for our need to depart four days early. So our fully paid week was only three days long.
If occupancy had been really high, I might have understood. But they were at 80% vacancy!!! This is just a case of inconsiderate management.
The location, 3 km down a rutted dirt road, assures peace and quiet. The apartments are spacious. The restaurant is overpriced for Kenya. The menu is rather ordinary Kenyan. But just down the beach is Maridadi, and excellent restaurant!
Walk out to the reef at low tide--great for observing intertidal life.
The beach boys are particularly annoying, continuing to talk even when you are well within the hotel property. A quiet beach walk if nearly impossible without beach boys trying to make conversation repeatedly.
The massage staff is pushy, to the point that they called me in my room one day asking when I'd be coming for a massage!!!
The paint is peeling. It's time for a facelift. The AC in one of the bedrooms was dead and required recharging after a very warm night.
So I've grumbled lots. But the setting IS lovely. Great pools and palm trees. Very relaxing at the inner pool (away from the beach). The pool right on the beach is within chatting distance of the beach boys, and they don't give up even when you ask for quiet. Pool lounge chairs are wearing down and the pads have holes.

Room tip: You can ask for a beach view room, but you won't get it even with only 20% occupancy. They don't understand the concept of "good will" and building a clientele.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We visited Royal Reserve for 2013 Christmas. The place was packed with guests. The kids had fun swimming in the two pools as well as running at the beach. We did our own self catering so we did not each much at the hotel restaurant.
We enjoyed our stay and will definately go back.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have visited Kenya and stayed two weeks at the Royal Reserve Safari Beach Club Kilifi.
The hotel is far away and is one of the few hotels that are in operation along the coast, depending on the tourists betrays Kenya because of terrorist threats.

At the hotel were very few guests but the staff and service were very good.
Booked Safari via the Internet from home with Wildlife Kenya Safaris and got the best possible guide
Benedict which made our four days in Tsavo East, Tsavo West and Amboseli unforgettable.

We also recommend doing other excursions like snorkeling, visits to Masai people etc then the tide makes it difficult to swim in the sea during the day.

The Beach Boys who are outside the hotel every day are very nice and caring, they will arrange tours and safaris as well as the hotel but at much better prices.

We used them at all excursions and when we went shopping and got even go with one of the guys, Francis, home to the family 20-minute walk from the hotel. Very interesting and gave us a real eye-opener, they live in very poor conditions.

The Beach Boys we recommend is Charlie with email rongoma2002@yahoo.com, Morris email kahindi@yahoo.com, Moses with email papayatsofa@yahoo.com, Samuel K Lewa by email sammylewa@yahoo.com and Francis with email francismwanzia2@yahoo.com .

Make a visit to Kenya, making excursions and you have memories for life!

Hasse, Gunilla and Robin from Gavle

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank androb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The pool was beautiful, apartment comfortable and beaches gorgeous! Staff was very accommodating. They provided an activities director who keep the kids busy and assistance booking our dive and snorkeling trip.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GmaAkiyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Royal Reserve is ideally situated right on the beach, far enough away from Matwepa for it to be peaceful. There are two excellent pools. Food is ok but our rooms were a bit mouldy and dank. I would rate this place better were it not for the completely obnoxious beach boys who seem to believe they have a right to harass paying guests. This hotel's manager's response to our request that the beach boys be asked to stop pestering us was totally inadequate. You got the impression the manager and beach boys were somehow in cahoots. Otherwise a nice enough place to stay but in future we'll look elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews