We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
78
70
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
70
11
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Spent 3 night at the lodge returning from the Simien mountains. We are a family with young kids and the lodge was great. The kids loved the beautiful grounds with a great variety of trees and plants. They loved the swimming pool too. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. They did everything they could to make our stay really memorable. The food in the restaurant is really nice although perhaps a little bit overpriced for the area. They have a van service into Gonder which is really handy as they drop you into Gonder and collect you at the arranged time. I definitely would recommend this lodge

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpp235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Looks like it had it's day. But, that day has long past. Just avoid this place. In fact, avoid this country. Remember, there's no guarantee the pictures on the website are new. In this case, they're ancient.

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayleko_lodge, Manager at Mayleko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Doug,

We are so sorry to hear that you had such a bad memory of our lodge! We admit that there were some renovation going on during your stay to expand our facility with more rooms and amenities, but we are happy to inform you that everything is completed now and the pictures on our websites are current.

Thank you for your feedback!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We stayed at the Mayleko Lodge one night on our short stay in Gondar. We had breakfast, and dinner here. The cottages are clean and comfortable. The restaurant was minimal but the service was good. There is a pool which we didn't use

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Sherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayleko_lodge, Manager at Mayleko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope you will use the pool the next time you visit us! You will love it!

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Spent 2 nights while in Gondar and then returned for a third night after returning from a trek to the Simien mountains national park. We were 4 couples. The rooms are very specious and beautiful. Large and comfortable bed (and another bed in each room) and fantastic bathroom.
The hostess was very accommodating and pleasant and spoke very good English and the whole stuff did whatever possible to make our stay pleasant.
We had dinner once in the hotel and it was very good. I recommend the chicken kebab.
The lodge is located outside the city so you should have a vehicle with you.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Liat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Great location a bit outside town, but extremely welcoming atmosphere, pool area, great service and wonderfully arranged and decorated small cottages.
A fantastic addition to the hotel offer in Gondar.
We came twice to this place during our 11 day round trip and it was of our favorites

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews