We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
28
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low price sisters restaurant quiet area the owner basic room hot water airport pickup within walking distance simien mountains central location rooms are clean power birr soap shower wifi ethiopia
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

I stayed at Sycamore for 4 nights, and it was an absolute pleasure. Everywhere was very clean, the bed was really comfortable with a quality mattress and good sheets, and the powerful shower was consistently hot. The manager and the rest of the staff were all lovely and very helpful, and it's in a good, central location. I'd definitely recommend staying here. The only downside was the slightly noisy coffee house next door, but with earplugs I slept like a dream.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank malinfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

If you looking for a low price geust home this is the best offer for you. The owner very kindly, and all the staff are very nice.
Low price for a very good room, good location, and Wifi without problems.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yotam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had the most wonderful time in sycamore pension! It was clean and pleasant, good location and WiFi, not only that, all the stuff members are caring and giving, especially Beautiful Tigi, the owner. We really recommend this place for people looking for a home in the middle of the trip!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank mharpaz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent place to stay 1 night or even to stay 1 month. The pension is quiet, safe, and the location is perfect. It is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. Every room has a private bathroom with hot shower. Some rooms have a small balcony. There is wifi and even a flat cable tv. The owner/manager is very friendly and is always there to help you or offer you a cup of coffee or tea.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had a frustratingly chaotic experience with Sycamore. Despite our email correspondence with the manager, they seemed to have no record of us, and things started badly when the airport transfer we'd arranged with them failed to materialize. The manager was rarely on site, so on two occasions there was significant confusion about which room we should be staying in, resulting in us getting moved after starting to settle in. No one seemed to know how much we'd agreed to pay. Also, one on night there was a power cut that lasted several hours, and the property appears not to have a generator. (Not a huge problem at this price range, of course, but worth noting.)

At the same time, there were certainly some positives. The location is very good, very close to Piassa and Four Sisters. As mentioned, the staff on site were really friendly and kind. And the room was spotlessly clean, including the bathroom (with hot water).

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews