We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Happiness02792845468

Nice quiet area

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jun 2023
It's quite a way off the main road so it is quiet, very accommodating staff we changed from camping to a chalet as we wanted to depart very early the next morning. Nice shady campsites and nice pool. There are ready made meals and a small shop in case you are running low on supllies
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 27 Jun 2023
Good day Happiness02792845468,
Thank you for your good rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are 7 kms off the tar road on a dirt road which we maintain and grade twice a year. Glad to hear that you upgraded to one of our self-catering Riverview rooms for your early getaway but only after you had appreciated the lovely shady campsites and clean pool. Hope you got to enjoy one of our homemade 'Mike's meals' readily available from our reception? They are even nice to take back home with you for that ready to eat meal after the long journey home!
Trust that you had a wonderful trip through our beautiful Botswana with loads of photos and memories to treasure.
We hope to see you back at Woodlands again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Diggers Inn
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 348
  • Booking.com
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
11.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 777
  • Booking.com
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 494
  • Hotels.com
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool/restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 211
  • eDreams
6.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 420
  • Lol.travel
14.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
RELAXING AREA
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 330
  • Lol.travel
17.4 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 097
  • Booking.com
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2023

Beautiful environment, pretty garden. But too many recommendations that spoil the pleasure of being there: no less than 18 labels stuck on the walls.
For those who know how to stand properly, it's aggressive.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2023

Good day PierreS,
Thank you for your good rating and lovely review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We're thrilled to hear that you found the environment and gardens pretty and beautiful-- the staff do take a lot of pride in their work and all have different areas of responsibilities. It all shows!
We don't, at all, mean to be "aggressive" with the signs placed in the rooms but without some instructions eg; about the use of the VAP COOLERS guests tend to use them like air-conditioners risking our ceilings falling in due to the high vacuum caused. Other messages are for general info about the establishment and about who we are!
Trusting that the rest of your trip around Botswana was a happy and memorable one and that it won't be too long before you return to our beautiful piece of Africa?

Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2023

We had 2 lovely, relaxed nights at Woodlands. It is always reliably good, camping on green grass with wonderful clean facilities and everything we needed. We enjoyed the delicious, pre-cooked meals that are available, and we also used their braai packs which made catering so easy.
We will definitely be back on our next time through Francistown. Thank you, Woodlands, for providing this little oasis!

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank birdhide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2023

Good day birdhide,
So lovely hearing from you with such a high rating and wonderful review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
So appreciate your positive comments and your appraisal of everything we offer. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the delicious, pre-cooked meals and braai packs and we look forward to all your future visits with us! We strive for excellence and so thrilled to hear your appreciation for the little oasis!
See you again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2023 via mobile

Convenient location with a short drive from Francistown. Perfect and clean amenities. Friendly staff and the best was probably that they have Cold beers for sale on arrival! Check in and out was also super easy and the bird life quite incredible.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoDuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2023

Good day JoDuffin,
We greatly appreciate your very high rating and lovely comprehensive review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
The friendly staff are our greatest asset and we value them very much. So happy to hear that they had the 'cold beers' ready for sale and your enjoyment and that they made your check in and out easy. Please come back again soon and may we suggest you take one of your cold beers over to the Viewing Deck to look out for other animals: Impala, Kudu, Waterbuck, Sable, Eland, Zebra and even a Giraffe or two!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2023

Woodlands is a beautiful, safe and clean Stop over Lodge and campsite in Francistown, where the staff are always friendly and helpful.
The reception shop is stocked with the basic needs to make your stay comfortable.
You can enjoy the beautiful nature trail / bird walk or watch the Impala's from the deck as they come to drink from the waterhole.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2023

Good day thattingh,
Thank you so very much for your very high rating and lovely complimentary review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you always find the staff to be friendly and helpful! They so enjoy welcoming guests to Woodlands where they have committed themselves to their own areas of responsibility. Also so happy to hear that you find the 'basics' in our little reception shop which offers travellers few things that may have been forgotten. Glad you have seen the Impala at the waterhole and hopefully next time you will get to see the Eland, Sable, Waterbuck, Kudu, Zebra and even Giraffe? It's a new waterhole and we are noticing more and more animals are finding it and coming in to drink.
Trust you will be back again soon to stay at Woodlands. Thank you for your support.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2023

Had a wonderful over night stay. What a lovely place , very clean and you could tell they very proud of what they offer. So clean everywhere, even the camping area. Had a good night sleep. Will be back

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day sddsanders,
Thank you so much for your fabulous rating and heartwarming review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are very proud of the facilities that we offer to our very valuable guests such as yourself and take much encouragement from such comments! Thank you. So thrilled to hear that you will be back and we look forward to those return visits.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews