We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
thattingh

Excellent Campsite in Francistown

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2023
Woodlands is a beautiful, safe and clean Stop over Lodge and campsite in Francistown, where the staff are always friendly and helpful.
The reception shop is stocked with the basic needs to make your stay comfortable.
You can enjoy the beautiful nature trail / bird walk or watch the Impala's from the deck as they come to drink from the waterhole.


Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 27 May 2023
Good day thattingh,
Thank you so very much for your very high rating and lovely complimentary review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you always find the staff to be friendly and helpful! They so enjoy welcoming guests to Woodlands where they have committed themselves to their own areas of responsibility. Also so happy to hear that you find the 'basics' in our little reception shop which offers travellers few things that may have been forgotten. Glad you have seen the Impala at the waterhole and hopefully next time you will get to see the Eland, Sable, Waterbuck, Kudu, Zebra and even Giraffe? It's a new waterhole and we are noticing more and more animals are finding it and coming in to drink.
Trust you will be back again soon to stay at Woodlands. Thank you for your support.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 144
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 452
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 588
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 581
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 581
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 212
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    R 2 119
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 296
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 778
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    R 1 466
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 760
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 810
R 2 352
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 768
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 768
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 727
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 746
16.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 824
R 815
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 824
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 570
R 563
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 570
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 675
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 682
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2023

Had a wonderful over night stay. What a lovely place , very clean and you could tell they very proud of what they offer. So clean everywhere, even the camping area. Had a good night sleep. Will be back

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day sddsanders,
Thank you so much for your fabulous rating and heartwarming review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are very proud of the facilities that we offer to our very valuable guests such as yourself and take much encouragement from such comments! Thank you. So thrilled to hear that you will be back and we look forward to those return visits.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2023

Thank you. The place is very clean nice green lawns. Bathrooms are clean. Place is very quiet.
Internet is on and off for payment but office did call us later to do a payment. Gravel road to site a bit bad but worth it. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allr0undsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day allrOundsafaris,
Thank you so much for the very for your high rating and the lovely review of us here by Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
So sorry about the instabilility of the internet-- it is very largely out of our hands but we do try to offer the best service at the operational time. The service providers do also try their best all of the time. Our gravel road gets graded twice a year and is due again very soon (July 2023). We trust that you will be back again soon and to be able re-evaluate us!
Again thank you and we look forward to your re-visits.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2023

Woodlands is a great stay over place. It is very neat and clean with friendly staff. Will recommend and we will be visiting again in August 2023. It is quiet and the swimming pool and all other activities is clean.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trudievk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day trudievk49,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and to review us so highly here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge so favourably as well.
We appreciate the fact that you will recommend us to others and that you will be visiting us again in August-- we look forward to that. Our staff all have different areas of responsibilities and rise to the occasion when our guests arrive and are able to offer their service and display their workmanship. Thank you and travel safely.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2023 via mobile

We regularly drive up from SA through Botswana to Zambia. Woodlands is the truly home away from home.
We stayed in the cottage as we are a family of four.
2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms. Big kitchen with everything you may need. Coffee and tea are provided with even a rusk and a cookie!
Beds are comfortable, clean and even a hot water bottle for cold nights. They definitely thought of everything. We will definitely sleep over again. Actually, feld so welcome we wanted to stay longer...

Room tip: Use your GPS to find them. Turn off at night a bit tricky.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank juantib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day juantib,
WOW, thank you so much for your very high rating and wonderful review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you felt relaxed and comfortable enough to call Woodlands "HOME AWAY FROM HOME" -- what a grand compliment! Happy that you found the beds comfy and that the staff made your visit so welcoming-- they work very hard in their own areas of responsibilities and so when our guests appreciate what is provided for them it is a direct reflection on their efforts and commitment.
Thank you! We value and appreciate the time taken to rate and review us!
Kindest regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2023

This is the happiest place to spend a night or two when entring Botswana or even coming home. the pool is inviting, the ablutions are clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The Wine is a must buy.

Room tip: Call to make a booking, or just pop in.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day tonyM6189JX,
How lovely receiving such a wonderful review such as yours! Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us so well and to write something so positive about us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We appreciate it very much and trust that the rest of your trip through our beautiful Botswana was as happy as with us. Memories to keep forever and hopefully plans to return to us again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews