We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
juanti b
Centurion, South Africa

Home away from home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2023via mobile
We regularly drive up from SA through Botswana to Zambia. Woodlands is the truly home away from home.
We stayed in the cottage as we are a family of four.
2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms. Big kitchen with everything you may need. Coffee and tea are provided with even a rusk and a cookie!
Beds are comfortable, clean and even a hot water bottle for cold nights. They definitely thought of everything. We will definitely sleep over again. Actually, feld so welcome we wanted to stay longer...
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Use your GPS to find them. Turn off at night a bit tricky.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 25 May 2023
Good day juantib,
WOW, thank you so much for your very high rating and wonderful review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you felt relaxed and comfortable enough to call Woodlands "HOME AWAY FROM HOME" -- what a grand compliment! Happy that you found the beds comfy and that the staff made your visit so welcoming-- they work very hard in their own areas of responsibilities and so when our guests appreciate what is provided for them it is a direct reflection on their efforts and commitment.
Thank you! We value and appreciate the time taken to rate and review us!
Kindest regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Diggers Inn
R 1 437
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 447
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 182
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 447
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 663
R 1 579
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 663
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 577
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 577
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 289
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 057
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 289
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 777
R 2 339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 761
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 761
  • Priceline
    R 2 339
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 768
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 754
  • Official Site
    R 1 494
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 754
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 924
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 924
  • Agoda.com
    R 924
14.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 070
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 070
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 072
R 811
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 811
  • Agoda.com
    R 811
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 560
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 560
  • Agoda.com
    R 561
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 791
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 791
  • Agoda.com
    R 791
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2023

This is the happiest place to spend a night or two when entring Botswana or even coming home. the pool is inviting, the ablutions are clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The Wine is a must buy.

Room tip: Call to make a booking, or just pop in.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day tonyM6189JX,
How lovely receiving such a wonderful review such as yours! Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us so well and to write something so positive about us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We appreciate it very much and trust that the rest of your trip through our beautiful Botswana was as happy as with us. Memories to keep forever and hopefully plans to return to us again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2023 via mobile

We needed to stop over to rest on our travels through Botswana and we’re driving a little behind schedule into the evening and it was getting late. We called ahead to Woodlands and asked if they would accommodate us. They told us they would have someone waiting to greet us at the gate after hours. We were so relieved when we got there we were greeted by Daniel at reception he was very pleasant and helped us to get the four of us to a beautiful cottage for an overnight stay.
The accommodations were outstanding the beds are comfortable. The kitchen was complete. We had fire ring and grill cooking facilities and a beautiful view of the plush green grounds from our deck. There is a Palapa area that looks over the water from the river and sounds of lots of wildlife wildlife throughout the night.! we really enjoyed our stay, and would love to come back on our next journey through this part of Botswana and we highly recommend this to any other safari travelers or weary travelers looking for a restful stay.!

Room tip: Signs were difficult to see from road at night
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dpinpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Good day dpinpb,
What a high rating and wonderful review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge! Thank you so much. We value all your comments and highly appreciate your recommendation of us to other fellow safari travellers.
Our staff are all committed to the high standards that we have set for ourselves and are responsible for different areas of the business keeping it all in the condition in which you found it!
We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your travels through our beautiful Botswana and that it won't be too long before you are back again -- and to stay with us?
Kindest regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2023

What a relief to arrive at a peaceful, interesting, and safe venue! Thank you for allowing us the opportunity of staying here with the very generous voucher you donated to Nippers Pre-School. We are very greatful.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianned737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Hello Dianne
We are so happy to hear that you managed to come all the way to Botswana to enjoy your stay with us! Thank you so much for your high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge and trust that the rest of your trip through our beautiful Botswana was a happy and memorable one?
Maybe you'll be back again soon?

Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2023

The place is exactly as its described and the pictures maybe even more BEAUTIFUL in reality.Clean and tranquility defined and VERY friendly staff and management. its definitely gona be my place of frequency.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helenngoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Hello helenngoma,
Thank you so much for your great rating and wonderful review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are so thrilled to hear that you found our advertising matching the 'hard copy' of the establishment!
All the members of staff work very hard in their areas of responsibility with such commitment, passion and personal responsibility. Your comment of 'VERY friendly staff and management' has been shared with all the staff with much appreciation. Thank you!
We look forward to your frequent visits.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2023 via mobile

Well equipped cottage. Beautiful scenery around river. Warm hosts and staff (Winnie & Lwazi).
Delicious lasagne for dinner.
Strange cooling system. Would prefer aircon.
Comfortable stay. Good beds. Shower en suite.
Dirt road approach.

Room tip: Outside Francistown
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChintaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2023

Good day ChintaSouthAfrica,
Thank you so very much for the great rating and the lovely sincere review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. So very thrilled to hear that you had a delicious meal - 'Mike's Meal' and that Winnie and Lwazi welcomed you so warmly! The quiet, serene surroundings are maintained to the best of our ability all the time for your pleasure and enjoyment.
The cooling system is an "EVAPORATIVE COOLER" (Australian invention for the dry hot climates). It works very efficiently and uses a small amount of electricity. Our power supply into the property would prohibit the use of aircons so this is a most effective and efficient means of cooling the rooms.
Our dirt road receives due attention twice a year and is due for a good grading soon once we know the rains have left us!!
Trust you had a wonderful trip through our beautiful country and that you will be back again soon -- and of course to us here at Woodlands as well?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews