We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ChintaSouthAfrica
Cape Town, South Africa

Attractive accommodation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2023via mobile
Well equipped cottage. Beautiful scenery around river. Warm hosts and staff (Winnie & Lwazi).
Delicious lasagne for dinner.
Strange cooling system. Would prefer aircon.
Comfortable stay. Good beds. Shower en suite.
Dirt road approach.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Outside Francistown
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Good day ChintaSouthAfrica,
Thank you so very much for the great rating and the lovely sincere review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. So very thrilled to hear that you had a delicious meal - 'Mike's Meal' and that Winnie and Lwazi welcomed you so warmly! The quiet, serene surroundings are maintained to the best of our ability all the time for your pleasure and enjoyment.
The cooling system is an "EVAPORATIVE COOLER" (Australian invention for the dry hot climates). It works very efficiently and uses a small amount of electricity. Our power supply into the property would prohibit the use of aircons so this is a most effective and efficient means of cooling the rooms.
Our dirt road receives due attention twice a year and is due for a good grading soon once we know the rains have left us!!
Trust you had a wonderful trip through our beautiful country and that you will be back again soon -- and of course to us here at Woodlands as well?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Diggers Inn
R 1 437
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 447
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 182
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 447
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 579
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 577
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 577
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 289
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 057
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 289
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 777
R 2 339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 761
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 761
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 777
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 768
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 754
  • Official Site
    R 1 494
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 754
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 924
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 924
  • Agoda.com
    R 924
14.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 070
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 070
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 072
R 811
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 811
  • Agoda.com
    R 811
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 560
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 560
  • Agoda.com
    R 561
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 791
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 791
  • Agoda.com
    R 791
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2023

We always try and stop at Woodlands at least for a couple of nights on our journey back to Malawi.
The bird life is wonderful and the garden beautiful and very well tended.
The riverside bedrooms are comfortable, clean and we bought delicious Mike’s meals at the office. The owners have thought of everything to make the stay perfect. It’s always the highlight of our trip.
We recommend Woodlands to any travellers we meet.
Thank you so much for another wonderful stay.

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2023

Good day MargaretW,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and high rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We value them very much as we do your loyal and constant support of us!
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the 'Mikes' Meals' and the birds 'showed off' all their glory for you!
We all do strive for excellence in our own areas of responsibilities here at Woodlands. Reading your comments, which cover so many of those areas, thrills us and motivates us to do better and better all the time!
We look forward to your return trips!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023

Beautiful grounds and accommodation. Hidden and peaceful setting in gorgeous nature ~ well kept gardens and grounds. Great accommodation facilities ~ well equipped and comfortable... Frozen food was also enjoyable

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunshine27004124575
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2023

Good day Sunshine27004124575
We appreciate you taking time to rate and review us so highly on this forum.
We do consistently try our best to maintain our property and business in the condition you found it and delight in the knowledge that you have enjoyed and valued everything here.
Trusting that you will return again and again to us?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2023


We stayed at wonderfull places in Botswana on our 8 day trip, but this one was the best one in terms of value for money, the rooms was very nice, smelled fresh, all you need was in the rooms was in, service was fast and great! Lovely braai and the braai packs was well priced and good quality meat. The wood is proper wood and made great coals.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hendrikk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Good day hendrikk19
Thank you so much for your high rating and truly lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful trip through Botswana recently!
Absolutely delighted that you found us to be the best in terms of value for money and so appreciate all your lovely comments. Our staff do work very hard at keeping the establishment in 'tiptop shape' and so when customers value the fruit of their efforts it makes us all very happy!
We do hope to see you again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2023

Very neat, clean and welcoming. Such a peaceful stay in a beautiful setting. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The communal braai area is set in a beautiful setting overlooking the river, and the walk along the river is stunning,

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NatsLie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Hello Natslie1981,
Thank you for your high rating and lovely, comprehensive review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are delighted to hear that you were warmly welcomed to a very clean and neat establishment. The staff all apply themselves diligently to their specific areas of responsibilities to produce the environment which you found to be so peaceful and beautiful.
When one finds a 'well loved' establishment one generally goes away leaving it 'well loved'! Thank you!
We trust that the rest of your trip through our beautiful Botswana was a happy and memorable one and that you will be back again very soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023

We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay. Serene! Very suitable for resting, winding down. The place is very clean and neat. The gardens are so beautiful; well kept; refreshing. Bird lover's paradise too. Friendly and helpful staff!

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank boimama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Hello boimama11,
Thank you so much for your very high rating andlovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge!
We are thrilled to hear that you had a very peaceful, relaxing and refreshing stay with us. Happy, also, to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that the fruit of their work was noticed--- "very clean and tidy". All our staff, both indoor and outdoor, take a personal interest in their work hence the results that you see.
We look forward to your return visits?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews