We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sunshine27004124575

Stunning

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2023
Beautiful grounds and accommodation. Hidden and peaceful setting in gorgeous nature ~ well kept gardens and grounds. Great accommodation facilities ~ well equipped and comfortable... Frozen food was also enjoyable
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 18 Mar 2023
Good day Sunshine27004124575
We appreciate you taking time to rate and review us so highly on this forum.
We do consistently try our best to maintain our property and business in the condition you found it and delight in the knowledge that you have enjoyed and valued everything here.
Trusting that you will return again and again to us?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 330
  • Priceline
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
11.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 199
  • Hotels.com
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 686
  • Hotels.com
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 778
  • Hotels.com
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 725
  • Agoda.com
14.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
RELAXING AREA
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 791
  • Lol.travel
17.4 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 330
  • Hotels.com
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2023


We stayed at wonderfull places in Botswana on our 8 day trip, but this one was the best one in terms of value for money, the rooms was very nice, smelled fresh, all you need was in the rooms was in, service was fast and great! Lovely braai and the braai packs was well priced and good quality meat. The wood is proper wood and made great coals.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hendrikk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Good day hendrikk19
Thank you so much for your high rating and truly lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful trip through Botswana recently!
Absolutely delighted that you found us to be the best in terms of value for money and so appreciate all your lovely comments. Our staff do work very hard at keeping the establishment in 'tiptop shape' and so when customers value the fruit of their efforts it makes us all very happy!
We do hope to see you again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2023

Very neat, clean and welcoming. Such a peaceful stay in a beautiful setting. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The communal braai area is set in a beautiful setting overlooking the river, and the walk along the river is stunning,

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NatsLie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Hello Natslie1981,
Thank you for your high rating and lovely, comprehensive review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are delighted to hear that you were warmly welcomed to a very clean and neat establishment. The staff all apply themselves diligently to their specific areas of responsibilities to produce the environment which you found to be so peaceful and beautiful.
When one finds a 'well loved' establishment one generally goes away leaving it 'well loved'! Thank you!
We trust that the rest of your trip through our beautiful Botswana was a happy and memorable one and that you will be back again very soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023

We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay. Serene! Very suitable for resting, winding down. The place is very clean and neat. The gardens are so beautiful; well kept; refreshing. Bird lover's paradise too. Friendly and helpful staff!

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank boimama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Hello boimama11,
Thank you so much for your very high rating andlovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge!
We are thrilled to hear that you had a very peaceful, relaxing and refreshing stay with us. Happy, also, to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that the fruit of their work was noticed--- "very clean and tidy". All our staff, both indoor and outdoor, take a personal interest in their work hence the results that you see.
We look forward to your return visits?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2023

Woodlands is a non-pretentious stop-over that strives to offer a comfortable, pleasant stay-over for an affordable price. It exceeds at that. The surroundings are peaceful and well-groomed and Mike's Meals are a very thoughtful optional extra.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2023

Good morning Andre N,
Thank you so much for your very high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We really appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the time to rate and review us!
We do strive for excellence and all the staff work to their full potential to make it happen.
We trust that you will be back again soon to stay?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2023 via mobile

Goodness knows how many times we’ve frequented woodlands and how many times we’ve recommended it to other travellers.

It ticks all the boxes:
Ideally situated, spotlessly clean, full facilities for every type of traveler, including spacious, well appointed and shady campsites, pristine swimming pool, spotless ablutions and the necessary Braai essentials available to purchase.
For those that have been caught at the veterinary road block just up the road and had their meat confiscated - there’s food available to purchase by way of ‘mikes meals’ - tasty portions ready to cook or Braai packs.

Chalets are spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. Linen is crisp and fresh. Beds are comfortable & supportive.
In the hot weather, rooms are equipped to cool you down nicely.
Each chalet has a fully equipped kitchenette and a generous stoop on which to settle down to listen to the wonderful birdsong that abounds.
What more can anyone ask?

Recommend 100%

Room tip: Travelling South, there’s a veterinary checkpoint. Ensure that you either have no meat on board, or it’s at least well hidden!
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Helicopter40t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Good day Helicopter40t,
WOW -- thank you for your very high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We also thank you for your very loyal support of us and trust that it will always be your accommodation of choice?
We will also continue to offer you the very best of service as we strive for excellence all the time.
Our staff delight in welcoming our guests as well as maintaining the high standards we set for ourselves.
We look forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews