We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
afield2022
Gaborone, Botswana

Woodlands

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Nov 2022
Great Stay and peaceful environment. Friendly Staff and " Mike's Meals" are good value and tasty. Gardens and rooms well maintained with plenty bird life and safe to walk around the bush in the property.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 09 Nov 2022
Hello afield2022,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge-- and so highly as well!
We not only appreciate your comments, which are so motivating for us all, but also for your valued support!
So happy to hear that you had a great stay in the peaceful environment in amongst the friendly staff enjoying the home-made "Mike's meals" which are loving prepared!
The Woodland Kingfisher has arrived since your visit so be sure to be back soon to enjoy their serenades?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 445
  • Vio.com
    R 1 109
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 452
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 669
R 1 588
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 588
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 581
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 581
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 212
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 212
  • StayForLong
    R 2 119
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 296
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 778
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 760
  • Official Site
    R 1 466
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 760
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 810
R 2 352
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 352
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 768
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 768
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 727
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 722
  • Priceline
16.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 815
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 815
  • Agoda.com
    R 813
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 563
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 564
  • Agoda.com
    R 562
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 675
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 675
  • Agoda.com
    R 673
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2022

What a wonderful place close to Francistown. An oasis to relax. We loved the top-notch facilities, gardens, bird walk and viewing deck. Great attention to detail. This is why Woodlands is a favourite stopover. We stayed a few days and we are so glad that we did!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrentA330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2022

Hello BrentA330,
Thank you so very much for such a fabulous review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are so thrilled that you found our "oasis" so close to the busy city of Francistown.
We do work very hard at maintaining our property in the condition that you found it to be in... and appreciate it when our valued guests notice and comment. All our staff are very committed to Woodlands which they consider their home!
We trust that you will be back again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2022

It was a pleasure stopping over at Woodlands. The room was big and airy and and the beds comfortable with clean linen. There is a lovely deck to sit on and our own verandah also had comfortable furniture to use. We'd highly recommend Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2022

Good day LindaE,
Wow! Thank you so much for your high rating and really lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
I shall certainly be reading your comments to all the staff who are very committed in their areas of responsibility. It is very motivating for all us when our valued guests appreciate, enjoy and comment on what we work hard to provide.
We trust that you enjoyed your visit through our beautiful Botswana and that you will be back very soon again?
And of course stopping again with us?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022 via mobile

7 km off the tar road along a rather corrugated gravel road, is so well worth it, to experience the tranquility of Woodlands We pre-ordered frozen meals ( a la Woolies) yet there were alternatives at Reception. Be aware that Garmin Street Maps routes you incorrectly, so best to follow the signs. The directions on their website presume you are travelling north from Francistown, but you can work it out! A delightful overnight stop-over, we highly recommend

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2022

Good day RobertWB,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us so highly and to review us equally highly. We are so happy to hear that the detour on the corrugated road was so worth while.
We have just had the road graded, which usually happens twice a year and just after the first rains.
We do not understand why the Garmin Street Maps as well as Google maps route travellers along the worst roads in our district. However, we are so glad that the road signs still have an important place in this day of HIGH TECH! Will also check the website ( thank you for drawing it to my attention) because it should give directions both from north and south. BUT so thrilled that you came, stayed and enjoyed!
We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip through Botswana and that you will be back to visit our beautiful country again soon AND of course to stay with us too?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2022

Really a fantastic place, could have stayed a bit longer.
Staff was fantastic at the office.
Our booking was for 25/09/2022, we got a emergency call from home when we were at Khwai camp on the 24/09/2022 and had to go home, we then took a chance and did the stopover on the 24/09/2022.
Thank you for the staff at the reception for accommodating us a day earlier and supplying the pre-cooked meals for us at that time, there was no time enough for us to reach the Martins drift border post. Thanks to all, will make use of Woodlands again when we visit Botswana again

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dreamer36235679605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2022

Good day Martin & Elma v d Kuil,

Thank you so very much for your very high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
So sorry to hear that your trip through Botswana was cut short but also happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you with the day earlier than your planned date. I have passed on your comments onto the ladies in reception-- they are delighted! Thank you!
We do look forward to your return visit to both us and our beautiful country - BOTSWANA!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2022

We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff and had pre ordered soups to have for supper. These were heated and delivered to our tents which exceeded our expectations. The facilities are great and I would recommend Woodlands to anyone needing to stop on their way either North or West.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2022

Hello Denise W
Thank you so much for your high rating and truly lovely comments about the staff here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. They love to SERVE and the girls heating your food were probably the same ones who cooked the food .. so I'll share your comments with them! All so motivating for them.
We have set high standards for ourselves and so appreciate it when you, our valued guest, notice and value them.
We trust that the rest of your trip through Botswana was a happy and memorable one and that you will be back again soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews