We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
c0rreiaj0se
Johannesburg, South Africa

Layover - Coming home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jul 2022
An absolutely ideal place to stop over at.
Clean, spacious and if you can get the cottage (absolutely adorable).
Everything I needed I found and then some.

Each bedroom had it own private heater, each bedroom had it private onsuite bathrooms, towels to spare and cleand as my own at home.

Surprise - Was the lounge fireplace and all the outside furniture to host two famlies and children.

This is a Home
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Good morning cOrreiaOse,

What a really lovely review and such great rating from you! We so appreciate your comments and the fact that you found our cottage to be adorable! It is designed and furnished to make it is a comforable as possible for the tired but excited traveller.
We do hope that you will be back again to visit, not only us in your "home from home", but also our beautiful country?

Many thanks again,
Kind regards,
Mike& Anne West (Owners)

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Diggers Inn
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 348
  • Booking.com
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 663
  • Booking.com
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 057
  • Booking.com
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 776
  • Booking.com
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 494
  • Hotels.com
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 420
  • Agoda.com
14.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
RELAXING AREA
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 330
  • Agoda.com
17.4 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 811
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 097
  • Booking.com
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 791
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2022

The room and grounds are very well maintained, clean and neat.
Positioning excellent overlooking river (although it was dry when we were there) and even though it is called a "stopover" it is far enough away from the main road that no traffic noise is heard.
Very friendly, helpful and professional staff and deliver what is promised.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank freddiemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2022

Hello freddiemeyer,
Thank you so much for the great rating and the really lovely review. We are so happy that you found the rooms and the estate to be in a well maintained condition. The staff all work very hard in their different areas of responsibilities to keep the establishment looking in top condition for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for your support and we trust that you will be back soon in the near future?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2022

We were looking for a one night stop over and found Woodlands I’m on iOverlander. Due to such a long drive we arrived late but we felt safe and comfortable to setup and make a meal. Great facilities and really clean. Would highly recommend. Staff were super friendly. I even bought a T-shirt from their curio shop :)

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolaandrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2022

Hello nicolaandrag,
Thank you for your high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you stopped over with us even though you arrived late and in the dark, that you found the staff to be so friendly as well as the facilities to be great and really clean. Thank you so much for the high recommendation of us and we hope that one day you will come back to stay with us again one day soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2022


Very clean bathrooms and lovely hot showers. The campsites had lots of grass which was a novelty. Overall it was an ideal stopover on our way to chobe. An extremely enjoyable camping experience.......

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fishyfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2022

Hello Fishfarr,
Wow we are thrilled to receive your high rating and the lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. So good to hear that your camping experience with us was extremely enjoyable and we do trust that you will be planning another trip through our beautiful Botswana and a stay with us at Woodlands in the future.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2022

After a long ours trip with 3 kids in the car, this was a bonus. Very comfortable chalets, well stocked and the ready made food helped a lot. It was very cold when we were there and we slept very good as there is enough heaters and blankets etc.
I can strongly recommend Woodlands and we will definetly go there again.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizellegrabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2022

Hello lizellegrabe,
Thank you so much for the fabulous rating and the lovely review. We're thrilled to hear that you found the accommodation to be very warm and comfortable --- our winters are very cold and so staying warm is important. We appreciate your high recommendation of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge and so look forward to having you back with us again one day in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2022

I love everything about Woodlands, the people, environment, accommodation, facilities etc.
The owners and staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.
There are a great variety of birds to photograph.
The gardens and camping grounds are beautifully maintained and a joy to walk through.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

Hello TishArcher,
Wow what a fabulous rating and review! Lovely to have favourites and we are so thrilled to know that we feature on your "favourite list" and that you enjoy everything we offer. We work hard to maintain Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge in the condition that you found it -- a place you find well loved is a place you leave well loved. Thank you Tish and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you for sharing all your photos and expertise with us as well!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews