We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sue F

Recommended camping stopover

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Jan 2022
After a long trip through Namibia, Zambia and Botswana we have come across many campsites that have obviously sat back during the quiet, covid affected months with no maintainance or planning done for post covid times. Woodlands was very different - from the prompt helpful replies from Sunet, the friendliness and endless patience shown by Connie and all the staff, the neatness and cleanliness of the campsite, pool and ablutions, the upkeep of the bird trails around the lodge grounds. Everything just made our stay a memorable one and we will certainly suggest to anyone travelling through Botswana to make a stop here. It's close to Francistown for the necessary PCR testing and the Thorn Tree coffee shop is a must. Well done Woodlands for showing us that, with good management and motivated staff, it's still possible to run a good establishment when the tourist numbers have dropped, this certainly hasn't always been the case elsewhere.
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 08 Jan 2022
Good day SueF2069
Thank you so much for the great rating and the very encouraging and motivating review.
We appreciate everything that you have said and shared on this platform and that you will recommend Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge to others travelling as well.
So very happy that you discovered us and that you were able to enjoy a few days here! We remain committed to the high standards that we set for the business and the staff enjoy performing to that level. They are highly valued by us and form a most important and integral part of the business.
Don't wait too long to return to visit us and our beautiful country again!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owers)

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Diggers Inn
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
11.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 490
  • Hotels.com
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
13.7 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
16.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
15.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2022

We had an awesome stopover, the rooms were great and clean, kids enjoyed the pool
Thank you Annie for your hospitality, you were a wonderful host
Will definitely stop over again in the future on our way!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank javid5khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Good day javid5khan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us so highly and for your kind words of gratitude! We value your support and are thrilled that you had an "äwesome" time here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We look forward to all your future visits when passing by in this vicinty of Botswana. We will be waiting for the visit.
See you soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2022

The family chalet was clean and comfortable. For some reason we were not given the option of a chalet for two, although when we arrived the place was almost empty.
Bathrooms should be updated, specially the toilets. Beds are a bit too soft.
The camp is beautiful and very well kept.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank malaga29007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Good day malaga29007,
Thank you so much for your great rating and comments about Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge.
The accommodation you stayed in was all that was available the night that you stayed. The rooms that appeared empty had been pre-booked and paid for with the guests arriving late after a long road journey.
All the small chalets (7) in the campsite area remain closed since April 2020 when the ban on travels affected us all so badly in this industry and we have still not had the return of business to be able to re-open them. Sad to say the least!
The same applies for the rennovation of rooms and in particular the bathrooms, all of which as you could well understand are very expensive projects in times when basic maintenance is what is a huge priorty. To keep our property and grounds "beautiful and very well kept" also requires committment and deditcation as well as funds in order to maintain our pristine Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge in the condition you found it!
So happy that you stopped with us and experienced and little bit of our beautiful Botswana just outside a hustling busy city-- Francistown.
Trust you will stay with us again one day again in the future but please book well in advance in order to get a beautiful Riverview Room which sleeps just 2 persons to avoid your disappointment?
Kind regards,
MIke & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2022

Everything was perfect from crystal blue pool, green grass and clean ablution facilities. Walked down to the river bed which was fabulous, highly rate their camping facilities. Staff helpful and friendly when checking in.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liesl_erasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hello Liesl_erasmus,
So lovely receiving your very postive feedback. Thank you so much for your high rating of us as well as your terrific review. We are so happy to hear that you thought everything was perfect! We do strive for excellence here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge and our staff love performing to the hugh standards as they then also receive lovely compliments. Thank you!
We trust that the rest of your trip through Botswana was a happy memorable one and that you will be back soon. We are waiting to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Mike and Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2021 via mobile

Definitely one of the best stop over camping spots, well managed and well maintained . Lovely walk down to the river , lovely clean pool and ablution facilities.if possible and you have an hour or two stop at the crocodile farm next door, absolutely fascinating and learnt things I never knew about crocodiles

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 485liesle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2021

Good day 485liesle,

Thank you so much for the super rating and the really lovely review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the camping area and felt that it's one of the best that you have experienced here in Botswana. It's always very encouraging for all of us here as we do work hard at trying to keep everything in tip top shape whilst still "tip-toeing" through the Covid era!
Happy to hear there's always new things to learn about crocodiles!
We look forward to your return visits to us in the future.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Riverview rooms were quaint, clean and well presented. Plenty of space for two mattresses for the kids. Always having a self catering section to the room. Pool was lovely and clean and kids enjoyed the swim. Will certainly look at an extended stop over next time

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GarethWeinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2021

Good day GarethWeinrich,

Thank you so much for the great rating and the fabulous review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. So very glad that you found everything to your satisfaction and that the children enjoyed the swimming pool! Everyone was happy? We do look forward to your future visits and longer stays. Thank you for your recommendations.
We trust that your holiday through Botswana was a happy and memorable one?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews