We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tony Y

Hunters road trip

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2021
East Rand 4x4 Training and Tours stopped here for an overnight on the start of our Hunters rd tour.
Camped on the well maintaned lawns near the refreshing pool.
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Quiet and calm. Ablutions were excellent. A MUST stop at this venue, also enjoyed the bird life.
See you again soon.
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Good day tonyM6189JX
What a lovely surprise receiving your great rating and fabulous review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. So happy that we can expect your return visits and that you will bring along with you enthusiastic adventurers of both the Hunters' Road as well as keen birders. Happy to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and that the tranquility of Woodlands was experienced by you and your group.
See you soon??
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 445
  • Vio.com
    R 1 109
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 452
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 588
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 588
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 581
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 581
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 212
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 212
  • StayForLong
    R 2 119
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 296
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 778
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 760
  • Official Site
    R 1 466
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 760
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 810
R 2 352
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 352
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 768
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 768
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 727
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 746
  • Priceline
16.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 824
R 815
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 815
  • Agoda.com
    R 824
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 570
R 563
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 564
  • Agoda.com
    R 570
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 675
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 675
  • Agoda.com
    R 682
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2021

Stayed with our two young children in the cottage and loved our time there. Kids loved the pool, playing in the river and on the beautiful lawn. Bush babies for company in the evening.
Everything is clean and beautifully looked after, you feel welcome and relaxed.
Highly recommend a stay here!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roxi_Barnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hello Roxi_Barnard,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us --- and so highly as well! We value the lovely review of your stay here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge with your family. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed it and found it to be a lovely peaceful and relaxing environment. We have worked hard over the years to create and maintain it as such and we continue to work hard at whatever our hands find to do!
We do look forward to your return visits to us in the not too distant future--- before the kiddies don't want to go with mama and papa!
Kind regards,
Mike and Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2021

Woodlands is a really a pleasant place to stay-over or spend an extra night or two. The whole setup is well organised, very clean, has absolutely everything you may need (except fridge magnets) and the garden is beautifully maintained. The store is well stocked, the braai and brunch packs are good and the people are friendly.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B8383MHmartinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Good day B8383MHmartinp
What a lovely review and fabulous rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge!
Thank you so much for taking the time to put your appreciation into words on this forum-- we in return appreciate it as it helps to keep us motivated and committed during what has been a very difficult time for us in this industry.
We do look forward to your many return visits which we trust will be for longer stays and we will also try to get the "fridge magnets"in stock by then!
Again thank you!
Kind regards,
Mike and Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2021

Had a very comfortable one-night stay-over at Woodlands Stop Over. We also ordered a meal which was in our room with our arrival. The food was tasty and sufficient. The outdoor area was lush and green - lovely peaceful gardens

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HelenIainG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Hello HelenIainG,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us and review us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
So glad that you stopped with us and found everything waiting for you! The gardens are starting to come alive again as spring passed by Woodlands a couple of weeks ago--- the frost this last winter destroyed much of the gardens that had survived the "kudu" destruction last year when there were NO people, NO fires and NO cars to disturb them! It was a great joy and privilege having them visit and return every night last year during the time our whole business was closed!
We trust you will be back soon to visit our beautiful country including us into your itineary again please!
Kind regards,
Anne & Mike (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2021

Over the past 13 years we have occasionally slept-over at Woodlands on route to or from Zambia. Always have enjoyed the quietness of the bush environment. Great place for bird watching. Just very relaxing after a long day of driving

Date of stay: September 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hugosalomie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Good day hugosalomie1986
Thank you so much for the very high rating and lovely comments about us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We trust that each time you have the need to travel to & from Zambia that you will make Woodlands your stop of high preference. As you say, it is a good place to stop and relax in the tranquil setting that we have worked so hard to create and maintain.
Travel safely and come back soon!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2021

It was a pleasure to stay again at Woodlands in their 2 bed 2 bath garden cottage. Anne supplied the braai packs for the braai which were very good. The new aircon system worked wonderfully. Thanks again

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulD6667UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Dear paulD6667UO
So lovely to hear from you and with such a great rating and super comments.
So glad you enjoyed the braai packs and the evening spent at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge around the fire!
Very happy to hear that the new Vapcooler in the Cottage worked efficiently for you--- yes this unit is not an aircon but draws water over pads on the outside of the building and then the fan pushes cool air through the rooms. They have proved to be very efficient on power while doing a good job at cooling.
We look forward to your return visits in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews