We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amol K
London, United Kingdom

Faultless (largely).

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Sept 2021
Good accomodation. Convenient. Well signposted. Beds could be more comfortable and it may feel one is less watched over if there were fewer instructions (I counted no less than 18 signs dotted around the room)
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 09 Sept 2021
Hello Amol K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate & review us so highly. Glad you found the accommodation to be good, convenient and that you found us easily with the help of the sign boards. So sorry to make you feel as though you had someone watching over you with our little messages and instructions dotted around the room -- We have found it to be a thorough way of communicating bits and pieces about the business in case some things were not communicated on arrival or during your stay. Not all guests require this but others value it.
Thanks for your comments about this though-- I will take another closer look at them all again to see which ones can in fact be removed now.
Trust you will be back again to enjoy us and our beautiful country Botswana?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
11.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
13.7 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
16.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
    16.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Francistown
    Reviews (508)
    Filter reviews
    508 results
    Traveller rating
    333
    139
    27
    4
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    333
    139
    27
    4
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    142 - 147 of 508 reviews
    Reviewed 27 August 2021

    Excellent facilities, cleanliness one of the best camping spots I've ever been to !
    I would not hesitate to recommend Woodlands to other travellers.It is like can oasis in the middle of semi-desert.Well done !

    Date of stay: August 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank adriandt2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

    Hello adriandt2021,
    Wow what a lovely appreciative review and grand rating. So very thrilled to hear that you found us to be one of the best camping spots that you have ever been too! We have gleaned all the tips and suggestions from travellers over the years to make it what you enjoyed recently -- thanks to so many reviews and comments which we value greatly. Thank you for your referrals we would appreciate them a lot and thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this platform!
    Trust you will be back one day soon again?
    Kind regards,
    Mike and Anne West (Owners)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 August 2021

    Very comfortable spacious room, convenient stopover on our way home, excellent well-maintained pool, camping facilities and garden etc. Were lucky enough to see a giant eagle owl family in the riverbed trees.

    Date of stay: August 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank clairegdellis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

    Hello clairegdellis,
    Thank you so much for your great rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
    We are thrilled that you found everything to be convenient and comfortable-- the spacious rooms are appreciated by many especially when carrying large travel bags for extended holidays.
    The Verreaux's Eagle Owl is still sitting on eggs and we trust we will be seeing the "little ones" very soon-- hopefully two of them! Trust they don't find the tame garden Guinea Fowl easy dinner?
    We hope you enjoyed your trip around Botswana and that you will back to visit us all again soon?
    Kind regards,
    Mike & Anne West (Owners)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 August 2021

    Our family had a lovely stay at Woodlands. The staff was friendly and the chalet was well equipped and cozy with warm water bottles provided for the cold night. We saw the resident Verreaux eagle owl on and early morning walk in the dry river bed.

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank anitaerasmus
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

    Hello anitaerasmus,
    So lovely to hear from you with such a high rating and lovely review about us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. Thank you very much! So very glad you got to see the Verreaux Eagle Owl on your early morning walk -- he gives himself away with his deep grunting! We then know he is around for the camera lens!
    We trust you will be back soon to enjoy our little piece in Africa.
    Travel safely
    Kind regards,
    Mike & Anne West (Owners)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 July 2021

    Yes its a little out of town but well worth the short drive. The Manager Sunet yet again went beyond the norm to help with vehicle issues. The frozen meals are always good value. Fir me a big plus is that they allow my dogs.

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Angora v
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

    Hello Angora v
    Thank you so much for the great rating and the very nice review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
    So glad your vehicle was sorted out and that you and your dogs always enjoy Woodlands! Also very happy to hear that the meals were enjoyed as well!
    Thank you for your loyal support of us here -- we do so appreciate it very much.
    Kind regards,
    Mike & Anne West (Owners)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 July 2021

    On very short notice on a Sunday evening Woodlands had no problem in accommodating us and we were waited upon. Everything was immaculate. Every detail in the rooms were well thought through. This place is a winner!!!

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank iansJ5943BV
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

    Good morning iansJ5943BV,
    Thank you so much for your great rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
    So very glad that you found everything on your arrival to be more than your expectations! It is exciting for us to get feedback on our efforts here at Woodlands. We are very grateful for your support and thrilled that you chose us to come spend a night.
    We look forward to your return visits!
    Kind regards,
    Mike & Anne West(Owners)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews