We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
iansJ5943BV
Benoni, South Africa

Ian Smit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jul 2021
On very short notice on a Sunday evening Woodlands had no problem in accommodating us and we were waited upon. Everything was immaculate. Every detail in the rooms were well thought through. This place is a winner!!!
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Good morning iansJ5943BV,
Thank you so much for your great rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
So very glad that you found everything on your arrival to be more than your expectations! It is exciting for us to get feedback on our efforts here at Woodlands. We are very grateful for your support and thrilled that you chose us to come spend a night.
We look forward to your return visits!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West(Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 449
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 292
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 766
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Pool/restaurant
R 2 473
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 473
6.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 398
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 398
16.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 1 595
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 595
  • ZenHotels.com
14.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 420
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 420
10.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
RELAXING AREA
R 1 663
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 663
  • ZenHotels.com
17.4 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 466
  • Priceline
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 742
  • ZenHotels.com
16.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2021

After a held up at Martensdrift I arrived at 20h00 at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge. Friendly people was waiting for me, took me to a spectacular room. Sparkling clean bathroom and crisp clean bedding. A place where one can rest after a days hard work or driving. I will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Broloks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Hello Broloks
Thank you so much for the good rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
So happy that your experience of Woodlands has been a good one and that you will return to visit again.
We appreciate your support and trust that the rest of your visit through Botswana was good and successful.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

A beautiful place with fine ablution block in a safe environment.
I was however a bit put off by the fact that I had to pay Pula45 to be able to hook-up our fridge/freezer to electricity. For the same amount I could buy 122 units of electricity in Cape Town. Our household does not even use half of that for a full 24 hour day. It did not see this anywhere on your website. Please make it clear that electricity is extra over and above camping fees.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank retiredsir2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Good day retiredsir,
Thank you so much for your high rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge and for your lovely review as well. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We also appreciate your comments about the power and wish to apologise for the fact that it is so expensive.
Sadly, the cost of our power in Botswana has gone twice in the last few months and with the fact that we went through very harsh times last year we have to watch the usage of it very closely.
We, too, are horrified at the cost and have had to switch off our huge 4x4 meter freezer and 4x4m fridge facilities together with many other units using electricity in order to "march time" with the ever rising costs and slow income for us.
We will take your advice and see how to best add this information to our website -- on the website we just make reference to the fact that power and water facilities are available on the camping sites.
It is, however, not included in the camping fees. But all our email communication going out to our guests when they book clearly states that it is an extra charge.
We do sincerely hope that this will not prevent you from visiting and staying with us again. We do so appreciate both your support and your comments.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

What a great camp site!! All grassed and well maintained. We decided to stay an extra day. The walks in the area are great as well. We walked the river bed in attempt to locate the Verreaux's Eagle Owls but we were unfortunately not successful. The birding was also excellent as was the bird walk.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alant889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Good day alant889
Wow! So very glad you had such a great experience with us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge! Thank you for taking the time to rate us so highly and to review and comment on your stay here. Sad you never got to see the Verreaux's Eagle Owls as they keep us awake at night on occasions. They must have been out hunting on greener pastures when you stayed. BUT that should give you a wonderful excuse to come back again SOON!
Very happy to hear that you also enjoyed the bird walk and found many other birds to enjoy!
Thank you for your support of us!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

Very nice, tidy, well maintained stop over. Have stayed at Woodlands once before and was pleasantly surprised to see all the improvements made over the years. Very nice facilities and friendly staff.
Definitely worth the stop.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandyvanderwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hello sandyvanderwalt,
So glad that you have come back to check up on us!
We have grown step by step over the years enjoying it along the way. So very happy to hear that you noticed many of the improvements and additions - many of which happen because of comments or requests from our guests.
We love our little patch of Botswana and so appreciate your appreciation of it as well.
Thank you for the great rating and lovely comments.
Our staff love their work very much and are so happy to have the return of visitors to keep them busy. Thank you for appreciating them too!
We trust that your holiday through Botswana was a happy and memorable one and that you will be back again soon.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Woodlands. I was worried about the 7km on dirt road to get in to the property but it is a very well maintained road with no potholes... and absolutely worth the drive for the peace and beauty of the place.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Toriwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hello Toriwilkinson,
Wow -- all the way from Brisbane Australia!
Thank you so much for the fabulous rating and the great review of us here at Woodlands Sop Over & Lodge.
We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at Woodlands right from the entry along the 7km dirt road. We do try to maintain it to the best of our ability but sometimes it does get the better of us in the rainy season.
We have strived over all the years of our existence to create and maintain the peace and quiet together with a "bush beauty experience" (whilst being so close to a city) for guests, like yourself, to appreciate and enjoy.
Perhaps your appetite for more trips through Botswana has been stimulated.
We trust that your whole experience of our beautiful Botswana has been good and that we will see you again soon-- especially here at Woodlands?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews