We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hennie H
Brackenfell, South Africa

Woodlands Stop Over

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jun 2021
A beautiful place with fine ablution block in a safe environment.
I was however a bit put off by the fact that I had to pay Pula45 to be able to hook-up our fridge/freezer to electricity. For the same amount I could buy 122 units of electricity in Cape Town. Our household does not even use half of that for a full 24 hour day. It did not see this anywhere on your website. Please make it clear that electricity is extra over and above camping fees.
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jun 2021
Good day retiredsir,
Thank you so much for your high rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge and for your lovely review as well. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We also appreciate your comments about the power and wish to apologise for the fact that it is so expensive.
Sadly, the cost of our power in Botswana has gone twice in the last few months and with the fact that we went through very harsh times last year we have to watch the usage of it very closely.
We, too, are horrified at the cost and have had to switch off our huge 4x4 meter freezer and 4x4m fridge facilities together with many other units using electricity in order to "march time" with the ever rising costs and slow income for us.
We will take your advice and see how to best add this information to our website -- on the website we just make reference to the fact that power and water facilities are available on the camping sites.
It is, however, not included in the camping fees. But all our email communication going out to our guests when they book clearly states that it is an extra charge.
We do sincerely hope that this will not prevent you from visiting and staying with us again. We do so appreciate both your support and your comments.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Diggers Inn
R 1 437
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 447
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 182
  • Priceline
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 580
R 1 490
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    R 1 579
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 490
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 289
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 055
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 289
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 774
R 2 339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 761
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 761
  • Priceline
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 768
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 754
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 572
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 754
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 924
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 924
14.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 671
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 672
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 130
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 130
15.9 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 811
  • Agoda.com
    R 811
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 560
  • Agoda.com
    R 561
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2021

What a great camp site!! All grassed and well maintained. We decided to stay an extra day. The walks in the area are great as well. We walked the river bed in attempt to locate the Verreaux's Eagle Owls but we were unfortunately not successful. The birding was also excellent as was the bird walk.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alant889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Good day alant889
Wow! So very glad you had such a great experience with us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge! Thank you for taking the time to rate us so highly and to review and comment on your stay here. Sad you never got to see the Verreaux's Eagle Owls as they keep us awake at night on occasions. They must have been out hunting on greener pastures when you stayed. BUT that should give you a wonderful excuse to come back again SOON!
Very happy to hear that you also enjoyed the bird walk and found many other birds to enjoy!
Thank you for your support of us!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

Very nice, tidy, well maintained stop over. Have stayed at Woodlands once before and was pleasantly surprised to see all the improvements made over the years. Very nice facilities and friendly staff.
Definitely worth the stop.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandyvanderwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hello sandyvanderwalt,
So glad that you have come back to check up on us!
We have grown step by step over the years enjoying it along the way. So very happy to hear that you noticed many of the improvements and additions - many of which happen because of comments or requests from our guests.
We love our little patch of Botswana and so appreciate your appreciation of it as well.
Thank you for the great rating and lovely comments.
Our staff love their work very much and are so happy to have the return of visitors to keep them busy. Thank you for appreciating them too!
We trust that your holiday through Botswana was a happy and memorable one and that you will be back again soon.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Woodlands. I was worried about the 7km on dirt road to get in to the property but it is a very well maintained road with no potholes... and absolutely worth the drive for the peace and beauty of the place.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Toriwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hello Toriwilkinson,
Wow -- all the way from Brisbane Australia!
Thank you so much for the fabulous rating and the great review of us here at Woodlands Sop Over & Lodge.
We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at Woodlands right from the entry along the 7km dirt road. We do try to maintain it to the best of our ability but sometimes it does get the better of us in the rainy season.
We have strived over all the years of our existence to create and maintain the peace and quiet together with a "bush beauty experience" (whilst being so close to a city) for guests, like yourself, to appreciate and enjoy.
Perhaps your appetite for more trips through Botswana has been stimulated.
We trust that your whole experience of our beautiful Botswana has been good and that we will see you again soon-- especially here at Woodlands?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Was advised by mates to use Woodlands as a stop over when traveling to Maun. The accommodation was nice and quiet. The setting was beautiful and quiet - just what you wanted for your first night in Botswana.

The only downfall of the establishment, in my opinion, was the cost of their booze. We bought a six pack of beers and these were excessively over priced. My advice to visitors would be to bring their own food and drinks - a trip into Francistown prior to checking in would not go amiss.

I will be back though. Just better informed

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brentm415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hello brentm415
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review us and so highly!
So glad to hear that you accepted a recommendation from a friend and that you came and stayed and were not disappointed. Also very happy to hear that you will stop over again when passing through.
We have been running huge specials on the accommodation to try and capture some of the little business that is around and passing by.
Sorry to hear that the alcohol seems over priced in your opinion but as you are fully aware business has been extremely slow (if any) for over 18 months and the holding of stock through closures of bottle stores etc is quite a costly exercise for us. As our business improves, hopefully, we will look at all the costings again.
Thank you for your comments though - we do appreciate all of them.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021

We stayed here for one night en route from Kasane back to Johannesburg. We booked a 2 bedroom chalet, expecting a somewhat basic type stopover room. We could not have been more wrong! We were taken to a beautiful home, tastefully decorated with everything and more that you could possibly need for a night on the road.

The care with which this property is managed is evident both in the accommodation and in the beautiful surrounding gardens.

I would not hesitate to recommend Woodlands to anyone in need of accommodation in the Francistown area.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Good day LinvdW,
Wow! Thank you so very much for your high rating and wonderful review and comments about us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge in our Woodlands Cottage.
We are thrilled to hear about your expectations of us and then the finding of something a little of a surprise! We have worked very hard over the years to create and maintain what you see and have experienced. Thank you for appreciating everything and for taking the time to put your thoughts down in writing on this platform.
Very much appreciated. We trust you will be back again very soon in the future, and that your whole experience of our beautiful Botswana was to your expectations and that it was good?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews