We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
simone s
SA

Camping en route to Makgadikgadi pans

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2021
Thank you for accommodating us at such short notice. This is a well run place with attention to detail, friendly and efficient staff and cared for grounds. We appreciated lawn , hot showers and that it was well away from the light and noise of a town or road.
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jun 2021
Hello simone s,

Whew!
Thank you for your great rating and lovely kind review and comments about us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
The staff have all worked here for many years and love Woodlands as their own home.
Very happy to hear that you found them friendly and helpful and that you noticed all the areas in which they operate helping to maintain the property as you found it even though we have been through a most trying time with no guests or business for over a year (2020/21) and yet they carried on doing the good and right thing of maintenance!
We have all worked hard over the years to create and maintain the quiet, tranquil setting just a few kilometres from a busy city.
We trust that your experience of the rest of our beautiful country, Botswana, was a good and memorable one and that we will see you again in the near future again.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 445
  • Vio.com
    R 1 109
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 452
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 588
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 588
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 581
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 581
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 212
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 212
  • StayForLong
    R 2 119
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 296
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 778
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 760
  • Official Site
    R 1 466
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 760
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 727
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 746
  • Priceline
16.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 824
R 815
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 815
  • Agoda.com
    R 824
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 570
R 563
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 564
  • Agoda.com
    R 570
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 675
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 675
  • Agoda.com
    R 682
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 352
  • Priceline
    R 2 352
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 768
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2021

You can really notice the care of the owners, Not a distant corporation, but real people who love their campsite and cottages. The pool is wonderful and the ablutions are clean. Would definetely recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V2618JKeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Good day V2618JKeric,
Thank you so much for your great rating and fabulous review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We're so thrilled that you enjoyed the ambience that we have worked so hard to create over the years. It has been so wonderful to see the return of happy appreciative guests, such as yourself, to our beautiful spot here and to Botswana as a whole. It feels like you have given the "sleeping beauty a kiss of life"! And thank you for being so willing to recommend us - we so value and appreciate that.
Hopefully you will return soon?
Kind regards,
Mike and Anne (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2021

The spacious rooms where tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable. Outside view over the river under the deep shade trees was welcoming, after a long days drive, with a good amount of wild bird life around, stunning place

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gpaul2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2021

Hello gpaul2021
Thank you so much for your high rating and very nice review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We so appreciate you taking the time to make such lovely comments which we highly value and with which we continue to motivate and encourage our staff. We trust you had a wonderful holiday in our beautiful country and that you will be back here soon?
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

We stayed in the riverfront chalets. The rooms are well appointed. The beds were so comfortable, WOW, and a good nights sleep. Pity we couldn't stay longer. The general setting is spacious and well maintained.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Voyage91228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Hello Voyage91228
Thank you so much for you most generous rating, lovely review and HIGH RECOMMENDATION!
Wow -- much appreciated.
We are so very happy to hear that your stay was too short and that you could have stayed longer here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We trust this may be the beginning of many more trips to Botswana and obviously to us here at Woodlands.
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

Braai packs, wood, fire lighters, braai areas, lapa, dam, hiking trails, curios, everything is available, the units are fully stocked with all you need, beautiful grounds and garden. Friendly, trustworthy staff

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jennycaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Hello jennycaroto,
So very lovely to hear from you together with your fabulous detailed review and fine rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We appreciate your recognition of the friendliness and trustworthiness of the staff as this comment is in turn used to motivate and encourage them even further.
Our units are fully equipped in response to useful suggestions from our valued travelling guests such as yourself. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We trust that it won't be long before we see you again here in Botswana and most of all here at Woodlands!
Kind regards,
Mike & Anne West (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2021

Absolutely love staying at woodlands, have camped, slept in their budget chalets and river view room. All stunning. Staff friendly and welcoming, before and during the stay. It’s a welcome stop after a long drive. Wish we could spend a longer time there.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DansMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2021

Hello LiefusJane2016
So very lovely hearing from you with your very warm and sincere review of us. Thank you!
We appreciate you taking the time to rate and review us and it is always a pleasure having you, our loyal guests, return and enjoy what we have to offer--- It is for you and guests like you that we continue to strive to maintain Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge to the best of our ability. We always look forward to your return visits.
Our kind regards,
Mike & Anne West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews