We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
harold h
Gaborone, Botswana

Fantastic stopover so stayed an extra night

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Sept 2020
This resort is superbly run and maintained and is an attractive stop for nature lovers. Situated on the banks of the Tati River, the owners have made full use of the environment.
We stayed in a cottage which was well fitted and satisfied our needs.
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: All good; rooms and camp site are all maintained in impeccable condition. The camp ablution...
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 11 Oct 2020
Dear Harold h,
Thank you for your high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
It was, indeed, a great pleasure to host you and we thank you for your support and especially staying the extra night!
We do work hard to try and maintain the ambience created just a few kilometres from the busy city of Francistown.
We look forward to your return visits with ALL your friends? \
Kind regards,
Anne West
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Diggers Inn
R 1 437
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 447
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 182
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 447
10.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 579
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 577
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 577
6.5 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
R 2 200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 289
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 057
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 289
12.1 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 2 777
R 2 339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 761
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 761
  • StayForLong
10.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 768
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 754
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 591
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 754
14.8 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 924
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 924
14.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 070
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 072
R 791
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 791
16.3 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 811
  • Agoda.com
    R 811
14.6 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 560
  • Agoda.com
    R 561
20.2 km from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Francistown
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
139
27
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews braai packs bird life frozen meals self catering the river gravel road small shop braai area ablution facilities sparkling pool ablution block the cottages one night bush babies bird walk beautiful surroundings camp sites are
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2020

The Rooms are lovely and spacious. Very clean and tidy. Beautiful surroundings with lots of bird life to enjoy. Service is fantastic. Nice precooked meals available for a weary traveler. I highly recommend this Lodge.. A home away from home...

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hatty983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Hello hatty983,

What a surprise getting such a lovely review and grand rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We so appreciate all your kind words and wonderful continued support of us.
We continue to strive towards excellence even under the difficult Covid-19 pandemic situation.
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to your next visit to us when it will certainly be much warmer!
Very kind regards,
Anne West (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

The family cottage was well equipped, clean, peaceful. Internet was also good. If you arrive late, please make sure to understand in advance how the utilities work. We were well advised on all issues, but for some reason could not work out how to turn on gas for cooker or fire.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 217ziac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Dear 217ziac,
Thank you so much for your high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge.
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the cottage and found the wifi working well!
Our sincere apologies for the hiccup with the gas. We can only assume that the gas cylinders for both the cooker and the fireplace were not turned on and ready for your use. It would have been so easy to resolve for you at the time but as you say with a late arrival it does make things a little more difficult.
Under normal circumstances (not this COVID-19 pandemic) I'm very confident there would not have been a problem as all our staff would have been on duty and performing to their full capacity.
Again please accept our apologies and we hope to see you again in the near future?
Kind regards,
Anne West (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020

Wow, what a great time we had. The facilities are well laid out and well maintained. The showers were hot and the the ablutions are excellent. The fire pit was a great way to spend time with friends who were also camping and the kids were busy all the time exploring and having fun. A great location for a weekend away!!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TLDerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Hello TLDerrick,
WOW -- in return to you too!
Thank you for such a lovely review and fabulous rating! We are so very glad that you had a great time with your family and friends and that everyone seemed to have lots to do! Happy also that you appreciated all the facilities including the ablutions with hot showers!
After five and half months of no human life in the campsite, due to the Covid-19 pandemic closing us down, it was fabulous for us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge to have our " sleeping beauty" woken with the kiss of life that you breathed into us! To hear laughter and see people enjoying themselves was a welcome "tonic" for us.
Thank you for choosing us and for your wonderful, most appreciated, support. We look forward to your return visits in the future and now that the weather is warming up the swimming pool may also become a great attraction as well!
Again thank you.
Kind regards,
Anne West (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

You can tell that the owner/staff pay attention to every detail. They know exactly what they are doing and do it better than anyone else. This was an unplanned stop for my wife and I and we could only stay for a night. It's an excellent stop for your travels to other parts of the world or probably a great place to stay for a while, too. We camped at one of the immaculate campsites and next time we'll probably try one of the chalets. Thanks for providing a beautiful, clean and safe place to camp for the night. See you next time, Andrew

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ProtectWorldWildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary-AnnePass, Manager at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Hello Andrew.
Your review and rating certainly brought a smile to our faces! Thank you so much for taking the time to send in such a lovely review and high rating. We are very pleased to hear that your comments alone recommend us and that you will be back again in the future. And yes be sure to try one of our chalets next time! You won't be disappointed!
We have over the years, while continually building and improving our establishment, instilled in our staff and management team a pride for their work. This can be evident in the running of the establishment. Our management staff work tirelessly to provide good and clean accommodation (of a high standard) for travellers visiting Botswana. We are thrilled to hear you got to experience this first hand!!
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards.
Mary-Anne West Passaportis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

Very welcoming and lovely staff. Felt very safe and secure due to security guards.
They went the extra mile for us on our honeymoon which was a beautiful surprise and for which we are grateful. Rooms are good size with big bed - no mosquito net over bed but there was one about. Small kitchen area which was handy - very well equipped including microwave. Very clean kitchen and bathroom (one of cleanest we’ve come across in entire trip). Big shower cubicle with powerful shower in a good size en-suite. Had our own little deck, garden furniture, garden area and brai. We could park the truck next to the room. WiFi was quite good.
Easily accessible in 2 wheel drive. Definitely just a one night stop unless you want to just chill out in your room/ garden area after busy days of camping and driving.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MJ91019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary-AnnePass, Manager at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Hi MJ91019.
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in such an informative review and lovely high rating. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge. Thank you for touching on so many aspects of our establishment. We pay attention to detail and we value that you noticed this. Our very hard working team strive for excellence and we work tirelessly to make the property clean and welcoming for all our guests. We hope you had a wonderful Botswana honeymoon experience. We trust you will be back soon.
Kind regards.
Mary-Anne West Passaportis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews