We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 12:00
Review Highlights
What a lovely surprise

My son and I had the pleasure of visiting the Dynamite museum this week and were pleasantly... read more

Reviewed 12 July 2018
Shelley J
,
Kempton Park, South Africa
via mobile
Great history!

Its one of those lovely surpriswes, and Modderfontein is the best for history in the whole of... read more

Reviewed 17 May 2013
Piet14
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
6
4
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
4
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

My son and I had the pleasure of visiting the Dynamite museum this week and were pleasantly surprised. Our guide Ludwik was an extremely knowledgeable and very interesting person to talk to about the beginning of the dynamite industry in South Africa. Thank you so much for the informative morning. Some amazing exhibitions.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Visitors have the privilege of being taken through the museum by the museum curator- Ludwig. He is knowledgeable and passionate about his job. The museum is filled with fascinating exhibits on the history of the factory and on the chemical processes used to create dynamite. After the tour one can enjoy a picnic on one of the beautiful gardens that surround the museum. It is an educational experience for both chldren and adults and it is totally free!!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank ElliJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I was not sure whether to drive a bit far from my home to a "Dynamite Museum"- thanks that I went!. It is so interesting part of Johannesburg and SA history with the names of many famous SA personalities who were involved in introduction of dynamite production into SA .There are exhibits, lots of photographs, old machinery, even and nurse station with such a strange old equipment. Outside are most beautiful gardens, with a lot of old trees. Do not miss further on from the museum a grand scale General manager of Dynamite factory house. Is fully furnished with several rooms and gigantic dinning table in a very large dinning room. This apparently can be rented for special occasion eg. functions etc. Everything is spotless and maintained with great care .Great place to take older children as they would love old machines on display, some very huge are located in the gardens.Entrance is free! Really worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank Danutam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2015

The museum is well worth a visit as it provides insights into the start of one of the largest explosives factories in the world. Although worth a visit, the museum is not very big and will take the average visitor less than an hour to go through. Once needs to outweigh the benefits of visiting against the travel time to get to Modderfontein. Well worth a visit though, but perhaps a bit out of the way.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Albert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Excellent. You are transported to another lifetime. Well executed and extremely interesting. Worth a visit!

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank 122gillr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews