We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
73
68
35
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
68
35
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dam wall great zimbabwe many years sitting room old style bream set in beautiful gardens accommodation options cold beer beautiful place camping views ablutions kyle budget lodge africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Nice, quiet, comfy, spacious and clean accomodation for six people, with parking place, good breakfast and dinner and wonderful view from terrace! Only one bathroom in apartment is a little disadvantage. Breakfast was good (eggs in your style, bread, jam, butter, joghurt, cereals, juice tea or coffee) as well as dinner (we had fried fish with potatoes), service very good and dining room was very nice place.
If you need internet, there is a wifi, but you have to buy a voucher in value of data you choose at the reception.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We had such a great stay at Norma Jean's. We'd read it was the best place to stay in the area and we were not disappointed. Clean, comfortable, great service from friendly staff and great location to the Great Zimbabwe Ruins.

After our car being broken into in Bulawayo, we arrived in the dark - tired and dejected after a long drive. The team welcomed us in, showed us all the accommodation options and really helped to make us feel at home and more relaxed. They could not have been more helpful with making calls to the embassy for the stolen passport, putting us in touch with their local immigration official connections and even drove us to the ruins as we didn't want to leave the car unattended with a missing window. Oh yes, and Robbie even took us fishing!! Even messaging us after we'd left to see how we'd got on with the passport debacle!

We stayed in the self catering lodge and a budget room - as we returned a second time on our trip! Both options were clean and comfortable with everything one would need. And they have wifi coupons available to purchase which is an added bonus!

We had dinner in the restaurant one evening which was delicious and good value - 4 course meal for US$ 22. The views from the stoep / deck of the restaurant and you can't help but relax as you look out over Norma Jean's beautiful garden.

The lodge is about 30kms from Masvingo which is a decent sized town offering most services needed like a good sized supermarket, banks, fuel stations etc.

By far, our highlight of Zimbabwe was the friendly and interesting people that we met - Norma Jean, Mark, Robbie, Val and Charity were top of the pops!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KC_Meisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Having just traveled through Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe I can safely say that Norma Jeane's campsites were the best we experienced during our extended overland journey. It is also a conveniently short drive from the ancient city of Great Zimbabwe. Norma Jean’s is an institution in this part of the world. They have a large, treed property with lodges and well appointed campsites. We were the only ones camping there that evening. There are five level sites of compacted river sand with easy access to electricity and drinking water. There is also a communal boma area with sunken fire pit and very clean, well designed ablutions. Norma Jean herself even took the time out to come down and check if we are settling in OK which I thought was a very nice touch. No harassing monkeys or baboons here either which makes a pleasant change. Approximately 300 kms from Beit Bridge it is the perfect stop-over when either entering or leaving Zimbabwe. Booking on-line was a breeze.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifefromstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed in the budget room, which has a shared bath. The room was basic and clean, the bathrooms were very nice, well tiled, clean, there were 4 available. The grounds are amazingly beautiful with gardens and a wonderful view of the lake, especially from the veranda at sunset. The restaurant, while we did not eat there, looks wonderful and there is a great lounge room to sit and read. The staff is also very welcoming. You have to pay for internet. The main issue is transportation if you do not have your own car. It is located 11km past the ruins and most public transport does not go past the ruins. On the way there from Masvingo, you take a shared van from across pick n pay (about a 10 min walk from there the Harare and Bulawayo buses stop). You can pay extra ($3/person) and they will take you to Norma Jeanes, but then getting from there to the ruins, there are no options and Norma Jeanes does not organize transport. We had the same guy the brought us there wait while we checked in and then take us. We thought we could pick up transport on the way back from the road, but were told there is nothing late in the day and staff from the ruins had to drive us. On the way back to Masvingo, we were lucky to be going in at the same time as the owners, so got a ride, but that is not common. Thus, while a wonderful relaxing place, it is wiser to stay in Masvingo or at the ruins themselves (there is a lodge for the same price) if you don't have a car.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I was booked by locals in the restaurant. It was really a big surprise how beautiful this place is. The staff do their utmost to keep the place clean and well maintained. The food is very good. The beds sleep well. The wifi should however be free in this place

Room tip: room 7,8 or 9, those have the best view
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillemHWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews