We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hluhluwe - iMfolozi Park Wilderness Area
from US$78,28
More Info
from US$269,70
More Info
from US$63,33
More Info
from US$84,30
More Info
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
509
250
58
28
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
509
250
58
28
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive game reserve white rhino hilltop camp memorial gate beautiful scenery cape buffalo rolling hills hluhluwe imfolozi park early in the morning water buffalo bull elephant tar road st lucia fantastic experience wild animals warthogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We discovered the park with our own car and spent the whole day there. It was a wonderful experience and we saw loads of animals just next to the road and only some meters away from us: Rhinos, Elefanten, Giraffes, Buffaloes... it was a cloudy day beginning of December and not many guests were there so that we met only some cars once a while. The views are absolutely stunning. The main roads are paved but for the gravel roads a car with high wheelbase or a 4x4 is recommended.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank puxbareg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This park has some of the most beautiful views and tons of game to see. We found ourselves in the middle of an elephant heard playing and eating on both sides of the road.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank smazza68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

About 19 years ago we once visited this park with the children and it made a good impression on us, so that is why we wanted to visit the park again, this time as a couple. The park is still very beautiful, but as it had rained a lot over the last few weeks, it was very lush and green, and therefore we did not see a lot of animals. We did have a few good sightings, but overall it was a bit disappointing, we had probably better visit the park in another period during the year.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank 960maartenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Having visited the game reserve since the age of 5, it is very sad to see how the way the reserve is being managed and run and being run into the ground. I am now in my forties. The reception at the gate is friendly, but the counter staff are unfriendly and uninspiring. The toilets are disgusting. Accommodation at the Hilltop game is in a terrible state, which was once first class, as was the restaurant. High charges for unmaintained run down units that are well past sell by date. Viewing of game is ok, but I would not recommend staying within the reserve. Rather spend accommodation money outside the reserve at guest houses in Hluhluwe!!

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Simply1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Four foot from two massive rhinos passing directly in front of car. Zebras galore. Cape Buffalo at 20 ft.And then to cap it off we were in the right spot at the right time to watch a group of cape buffalo come down to the river for a drink. Saw a pride of lions basking in the sun behind a small rise. Two male lions broke off from the pride and one circled around behind the herd and then sprang and sent them fleeing into the jaws of the second male. Unbelievably exciting.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews