We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hluhluwe - iMfolozi Park Wilderness Area
from US$78,59
More Info
from US$270,78
More Info
from US$63,59
More Info
from US$84,64
More Info
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
510
251
58
28
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
510
251
58
28
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive game reserve white rhino hilltop camp memorial gate beautiful scenery cape buffalo rolling hills hluhluwe imfolozi park early in the morning water buffalo bull elephant tar road st lucia fantastic experience wild animals warthogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This Game park is huge. About 96,000 hectares. It is one of the oldest in South Africa, and contains all the 'Big Five', plus Wild Dogs, and probably the largest stock of 'Rhinos' (both white and black) in the whole of Africa. But the game is not always easy to see. This is very beautiful, rolling (even mountainous) 'Bush' country, not flat open 'veldt'. The animals are plentiful (over 20 'Rhino' on one drive), but you have to work for your viewings, driving many miles round the open tracks of the Park. But serendipity is everything with wildlife and the joy and satisfaction of rounding a corner to find a leopard or an elephant crossing your path is amazing. Without doubt, for beauty and wildlife, this is one of the premier reserves in Africa.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Lovely Park, pleanty of Rhino, ellies, girraffe, wildebeest etc, but predators are difficult to come by.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Jade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Had the best driver, do knowledgeable about the park and animals. Went well beyond to ensure we had the best experience. Definitely would encourage the use of this company versus trying to do a do it yourself your. So many things you would not see if you were in a low car and didn't know where or when to look. It trylu was a brilliant experience!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Shelley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

This is the oldest game park in SA. We were lucky to get in for 2 game drives and a one night chalet stay. It seems that you need to book months in advance. This was a fantastic stay particularly as we were lucky to see Rhinos, Elephants and Buffalo within a few metres of our game drive truck. We also saw Zebra and Giraffe fairly close by, also buck, a Leopard Tortoise and Dung Beetle rolling it's home with Mrs attacked down the track. We only spotted a female Lion through binoculars but they are very hard to find in an enormous area which was very green due to recent rain. We did the 5-8pm and the 5-8pm drives thinking that as it would be cooler then then animals would be out more. The morning one proved the best but the evening was good too. We had booked breakfast with the room and both were lovely and bought evening meal at Hill Top resort which came with the kitchen staff providing Zulu dance entertainment which was fun. An amazing couple of days and got some amazing photos and videos using only my mobile. Quite a few took long lens cameras but I can't be bothered particularly as I do more backpacking style travel and it would weigh me down. All staff were lovely, informative and helpful. A trip I won't ever forget.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

We were day visitors to the park, and in the period of our visit we got to see many of the animals the park has to offer, our next visit will definitely be a stay in.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews