We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Willem A
Centurion, South Africa

Hilltop better than expected

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2024
In spite of some previous negative reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. The gardens and chalets are well maintained, the restaurant is very good, the bar is operational and well stocked and the staff friendly. The tarred access road from Memorial gate is in a good condition as well as the tarred road to Mpila camp.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Beware of the monkeys
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 880
  • Agoda.com
    R 880
9.7 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
R 475
    11.3 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
    R 1 200
    • Priceline
      R 1 200
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 200
    • Vio.com
      R 1 195
    39.6 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 2 162
    • Expedia.com
      R 2 147
    • Hotels.com
      R 2 143
    • Agoda.com
      R 2 180
    22.7 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 1 340
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 357
    • Agoda.com
      R 937
    • Priceline
      R 1 387
    23.9 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    49.1 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    30.9 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    48.6 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
    Reviews (305)
    Filter reviews
    305 results
    Traveller rating
    73
    116
    63
    29
    24
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    73
    116
    63
    29
    24
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews hilltop camp game reserve game drives roads accommodation park animals africa safari deck reserves landscape
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 305 reviews
    Reviewed 26 February 2024

    We stayed in Mwtazi Lodge 3 days and enjoyed it a lot. Simon took so good care of us - even changed a flat tire :). Unfortunately we did not know that he could have cooked for us - it must be next time :)
    The food in restaurant was as good as we remember from earlier visits. Staff was a pleasure to be with - all of them!
    We had great trips in the park with Pumo as our guide and from our own car we saw a lot of animals. All in all a real pleasure - thanks to all at Hill Top!

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Ojvind S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

    We were very happy to stay inside the game reserve, as we could drive out 5 AM - the best time of the day to see the animals. Tophill and the restaurant has a magnificent view. Food was great for the prize. Burgers could be bigger, but a friend got an extra one for free. Breakfast included. All good.
    For sleeping they have several options, some of them has a great view too. We stayed in one of the round houses with shared toilets, showers (even a bathtub!) and kitchen if one wanted. Also a washingmachine. We found it totally fine. Everything was clean and working. Fridge on the room. You could also cook water. Separate towels for the pool close by.
    The whole area felt very calm and the staff were superfriendly and helpful.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Anna E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 November 2023

    located in the game reserve, lodges are comfortable and clean and quiet, self catering would be easy, the restaurant was good value and good quality. Elephants at the gate as we left. easy for self drive game drives. accessible by a tarmac road.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank W6586XYdavidr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 November 2023

    very disappointed with our food ordered Fish & chips was told Fish was hake..Fish we recd was tough, fill of bones & definitely not hake, was the thinest piece of fish ever seen at R165 per plate it was a total rip off I feel very sorry for our international visitors

    Room tip: definitely ensure if you advertise Hake , provide Hake and ensure pieces not slices that look like they have gone through a polony machine
    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Tour03067773712
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

    The place is in grave need for a upgrade.The Chalets have old bathroom with a bathtub and when showering you are in the tub trying not to slip. The water is quite scarce and therefore the shower pressure is very low giving out few drops.

    The Hilltop restaurant used to be quite good 10 years ago but these times are over. The food is eateable but for sure very basic and the buffe every night is simply a nightmare. The chef needs to be replace asap as the food is too poor....
    The breakfast is almost as bad...This time we were cuing up 8-10 people in order to get an omelet and a Cook who was not able to produce eggs....come on, how difficult is it ?
    The shop in Hilltop is almost empty for food and drinks - you have to bring everything along ! Why is the shop empty ? Bad management ? They dont want to make money ?

    Room tip: Bring everything along for your stay
    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank zdewasfbcgjh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews