We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ojvind S
Aarhus, Denmark

Wonderful HillTop

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2024
We stayed in Mwtazi Lodge 3 days and enjoyed it a lot. Simon took so good care of us - even changed a flat tire :). Unfortunately we did not know that he could have cooked for us - it must be next time :)
The food in restaurant was as good as we remember from earlier visits. Staff was a pleasure to be with - all of them!
We had great trips in the park with Pumo as our guide and from our own car we saw a lot of animals. All in all a real pleasure - thanks to all at Hill Top!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 341
R 2 162
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 153
22.7 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 143
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 349
23.9 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
49.1 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
30.9 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.6 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
49.1 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
48.6 km from Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
73
116
63
29
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
116
63
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop camp game reserve game drives roads accommodation park animals africa safari deck reserves landscape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

We were very happy to stay inside the game reserve, as we could drive out 5 AM - the best time of the day to see the animals. Tophill and the restaurant has a magnificent view. Food was great for the prize. Burgers could be bigger, but a friend got an extra one for free. Breakfast included. All good.
For sleeping they have several options, some of them has a great view too. We stayed in one of the round houses with shared toilets, showers (even a bathtub!) and kitchen if one wanted. Also a washingmachine. We found it totally fine. Everything was clean and working. Fridge on the room. You could also cook water. Separate towels for the pool close by.
The whole area felt very calm and the staff were superfriendly and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

located in the game reserve, lodges are comfortable and clean and quiet, self catering would be easy, the restaurant was good value and good quality. Elephants at the gate as we left. easy for self drive game drives. accessible by a tarmac road.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank W6586XYdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

very disappointed with our food ordered Fish & chips was told Fish was hake..Fish we recd was tough, fill of bones & definitely not hake, was the thinest piece of fish ever seen at R165 per plate it was a total rip off I feel very sorry for our international visitors

Room tip: definitely ensure if you advertise Hake , provide Hake and ensure pieces not slices that look like they have gone through a polony machine
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tour03067773712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

The place is in grave need for a upgrade.The Chalets have old bathroom with a bathtub and when showering you are in the tub trying not to slip. The water is quite scarce and therefore the shower pressure is very low giving out few drops.

The Hilltop restaurant used to be quite good 10 years ago but these times are over. The food is eateable but for sure very basic and the buffe every night is simply a nightmare. The chef needs to be replace asap as the food is too poor....
The breakfast is almost as bad...This time we were cuing up 8-10 people in order to get an omelet and a Cook who was not able to produce eggs....come on, how difficult is it ?
The shop in Hilltop is almost empty for food and drinks - you have to bring everything along ! Why is the shop empty ? Bad management ? They dont want to make money ?

Room tip: Bring everything along for your stay
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank zdewasfbcgjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2023 via mobile

On arrival at the gate, the ablution’s were dirty, doors broken and generally no maintenance. The little craft market had litter strewn around and just looked tatty.
We arrived at Hilltops and were immediately taken aback by the spectacular view.
We ordered some drinks and the bar had no gin and very little offering. We were then informed the management had forgotten to renew the liquor licence.
The was a smell of sewage around the seating area. All around the supporting wall are broken wooden posts with nails exposed. The step had missing bricks which lay against the wall next to a broken light with exposed wires. All very accessible for a child to stick its fingers into. There were cigarettes butts, wrappers and tissue paper on the grass which was full of weeds where you sit and admire the view.
The food was substandard and little imagination. There was soup on the menu but as their blender was not working they were not able to make it.
The chalets were in general although dated comfortably. The shower was leaking and it was difficult to shower as it was impossible to regulate the water temperature. Tiles were missing from the basin.
We then moved to the rondavels for two night. They were well equipped and the rooms comfortable. The doors all needs sanding and painting. There was damp and and drains visible blocked on quite a few of the rooms.
The communal kitchen was clean and well appointed.
The ablutions were not acceptable. Only one shower worked but was leaking. Two of the four toilets were leaking. The men’s urinal was pouring out onto the footpath and by the staining had been for some time.
All the footpaths were full of weeds. The pool was cleanbut the fence was broken and no signs of repairs.
Before leaving I wrote a report and did a walk around with on of the junior managers pointing out everything.
Tiny Major is the manager of Hilltops and she has yet to acknowledge my review. The staff are not trained and there is no management or maintenance. I asked about why there is not maintenance and was told he was on holiday. No one seems to care or take any pride whatsoever.
This beautiful facility is sadly has seen its heyday.

Room tip: Find accommodation outside the park.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Downsouth345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews