We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitatunga surprise”
Review of Pelo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelo Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2016

A small and very friendly camp set on an island in the Delta. The food was excellent as were our hosts and our guide, Ras. The camp has its own elephant visitors, Jack and Grumpy, who swim over at night, the Delta is full of so many beautiful species of birds and we were fortunate enough to see the shy Sitatunga, male, females and baby, several times.

Room Tip: There are a small number of excellent rooms, you don't need to pick and choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DMS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear DMS1958,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your time in camp and with Ras and delighted to see how many great sightings you enjoyed during your stay. We hope our nightly visitors did not disturb your sleep too much :).

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had an incredible time at Pelo - I only wish we had stayed longer. Ras's guiding and bird spotting was amazing, but the whole team was excellent, and focussed on giving us a special and relaxing time. As an all-water camp, Pelo is very different, intimate and special. Birding especially is outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MonktonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear MonktonPhil,

Thank you for the amazing review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time on the island with us and sincerely hope you will come back soon. Ras sends his fond regards and is looking forward to showing you many more great animals and birds.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

3 nights here was not long enough. The least sophisticated but most delightful of the 3 camps I visited in Botswana. Russ knows more about birds than anyone I've ever met and roaming along the canals with him was a sheer delight. Sundowners on a boat while watching amazing African sunsets will forever be etched in my memory. A bull elephant provided much excitement when he visited the camp!

Room Tip: All "tents" are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pasummers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear pasummers7

We are so happy to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and glad to see Russ and the elephant provided so many great memories for you to enjoy. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Fling low over the Ocavsngo Delta sets the stage to discovering a unique Eco system. Staying at the "Heart of the Delta", Pelo Camp, brings the grandeur to a personal level.
Falling asleep to the sounds of Hippos calling outside the door, waking to a bull elephant eating leaves that fall into your cereal, and spending the days on a boat with Rasta the best guide we have had anywhere made this unforgettable. Mokoro rides to coffee on a sandbar and wading in the Delta enable you to feel the life of this incredible wildlife area!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkish62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you Turkish62 for the amazing review we are delighted to have been able to share our heart with you and hope you will come visit our little island again soon. We will be sure to share your kind words with Rasta and all the great staff in camp.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Totally amazing, small, intimate, friendly, 2 nights in paradise. Quiet the first night, the second night was INCREDIBLE, we had hippos sleeping, snorting, snoring either side of our tent all night, and an elephant trumpeting past as well. An experience not to be missed. The camp was great, and lots of individual attention due to the small size. Absolutely in the middle of nowhere, a privilege to have visited. Water safari in the delta, wonderful food and surroundings. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14DLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear 14DLB,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are glad to hear that the noisy camp visitors at night did not scare you during your sleeps but only made your evenings that much more enjoyable. We will be sure to share your kind words with all the staff in camp and hope you will visit us again soon.

Your friends on the island
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
20,6 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
85,6 km away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
296 reviews
126,6 km away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33,3 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
243 reviews
40,3 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
0 km away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelo Camp

Address: Jao Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelo Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word Pelo means 'heart' - a fitting name as, from the air, the island on which Pelo Camp is situated is heart-shaped. It is also found pretty much as deep into the heart of the Okavango Delta as it is possible to be. The camp is completely eco-friendly with solar power providing all energy requirements. The main area comprises a tented dining area and lounge situated under impressive wild date palms, jackalberry and Natal mahogany trees with a spacious deck overlooking the waterways. There is also a swimming pool, an outdoor boma area and a raised platform built onto an old anthill. Small and intimate, the five spacious guest tents have en-suite bathrooms and a covered front veranda with an outdoor bucket style shower. Given the camp's situation on an exquisite, small island surrounded by permanent water, activities focus on mokoro (traditional dug-out canoe) excursions in the open, shallow floodplains as well as boating and walking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing