We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tuskers Bush Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$766
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1 845
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sango Safari Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1 175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyena Pan Tented Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1 157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$6 145
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sanctuary Chief's Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$5 205
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$205
US$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
41
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall islandresident elephantwater basedmain guidedining tentwater experiencewater safariokavango deltabird watchingpel's fishing owlfish eaglesknowledgeable guideland rovergame driveshigh teaour honeymoonjack
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had an incredible time at Pelo - I only wish we had stayed longer. Ras's guiding and bird spotting was amazing, but the whole team was excellent, and focussed on giving us a special and relaxing time. As an all-water camp, Pelo is very different, intimate and special. Birding especially is outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MonktonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear MonktonPhil,

Thank you for the amazing review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time on the island with us and sincerely hope you will come back soon. Ras sends his fond regards and is looking forward to showing you many more great animals and birds.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

3 nights here was not long enough. The least sophisticated but most delightful of the 3 camps I visited in Botswana. Russ knows more about birds than anyone I've ever met and roaming along the canals with him was a sheer delight. Sundowners on a boat while watching amazing African sunsets will forever be etched in my memory. A bull elephant provided much excitement when he visited the camp!

Room Tip: All "tents" are similar.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pasummers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear pasummers7

We are so happy to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and glad to see Russ and the elephant provided so many great memories for you to enjoy. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Fling low over the Ocavsngo Delta sets the stage to discovering a unique Eco system. Staying at the "Heart of the Delta", Pelo Camp, brings the grandeur to a personal level.
Falling asleep to the sounds of Hippos calling outside the door, waking to a bull elephant eating leaves that fall into your cereal, and spending the days on a boat with Rasta the best guide we have had anywhere made this unforgettable. Mokoro rides to coffee on a sandbar and wading in the Delta enable you to feel the life of this incredible wildlife area!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkish62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you Turkish62 for the amazing review we are delighted to have been able to share our heart with you and hope you will come visit our little island again soon. We will be sure to share your kind words with Rasta and all the great staff in camp.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Totally amazing, small, intimate, friendly, 2 nights in paradise. Quiet the first night, the second night was INCREDIBLE, we had hippos sleeping, snorting, snoring either side of our tent all night, and an elephant trumpeting past as well. An experience not to be missed. The camp was great, and lots of individual attention due to the small size. Absolutely in the middle of nowhere, a privilege to have visited. Water safari in the delta, wonderful food and surroundings. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14DLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear 14DLB,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are glad to hear that the noisy camp visitors at night did not scare you during your sleeps but only made your evenings that much more enjoyable. We will be sure to share your kind words with all the staff in camp and hope you will visit us again soon.

Your friends on the island
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We received an amazing welcome from Russ and he was our amazing guide during our stay. He knows so much about everything... birds, mammals, photography, history... everything. He was kind, funny, and a great guy to boot! The staff: Derk, Tanja, and the rest of the staff were so wonderful. They made us feel comfortable and welcomed. We were lucky to meet the owner and head manager of the concession too and they were equally as warm and friendly as well. We loved our two nights and two day stay but I wish we would have stayed longer. The food, accommodations, location, people, and Jack the resident elephant are something that we will remember forever! We hope to visit again. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so amazing. Take care!

Room Tip: You are in a lodge on an island in the Okavango Delta... how could you beat that?
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Pelo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Gregory,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we hope you got some great photos of Jack during his adventures around the island. We will be sure to share your kind words with Russ, Derk, Tanya and all the staff in camp.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews