We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
339
57
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
339
57
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river okavango delta game drives wild dogs resident hippo moremi national park great guide private dinner boat safari staff choir beautiful birds spent nights wonderful experience wildlife viewing water based hot water bottles the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2023

We stayed 3 nights at Xakanaxa and in our opinion it tried to accommodate too many guests and therefore lost the personal touch.
The game drives and boat trips are all good as you go on those with the same group of 6 people and our guide TS was excellent. Although sometimes in a bit of a hurry, and the roads aren’t built for speed.

The food, on the whole is very good, apart from our third evening, more on that later. The singing from the staff was great, and in general the service was first class, apart from our third evening!

Because there are 24 guests the time at dinner, the chance to discuss what others saw on their drives is lost as everyone doesn’t sit at one table. More on that later. Yes, it’s the third evening again.

Our third day was quite an adventure, and not a great last impression of Xakanaxa.

Our group of 6, various nationalities decided to head out on a full day drive to search for Cheetahs and Wild dogs which are usually found in the far flung corners of the reserve.

The chefs at the camp had prepared an excellent buffet lunch for us which we had out in the bush. While heading back towards camp, about 90 minutes away, we had a puncture.
The wheel was changed by TS while we kept a lookout. Unfortunately the spare was under inflated and that didn’t last long and punctured too. At this point we were well away from the main tracks so there was no chance of any passing traffic so we were stuck.

TS put in a call to the camp to get another wheel brought to us, which would be over an hour, then checked all the bush around us to make sure there were no wild animals lurking. We got some of the picnic chairs out of the vehicle and tried to find some shade while keeping at least one ear and one eye on full alert!
Fortunately nothing came to investigate these stranded people during the next 90 mins, a new wheel and spare were delivered and we headed back to camp arriving at 7:30, 13 hours after leaving. Having not seen a Cheetah or a Wild dog.

Well, we thought, that was an adventure, now for a relaxing final dinner and a chat and chuckle about it. Oh how wrong we were!!!

It was a quick turnaround for dinner at 8 so not enough time for us both to shower before being collected from our tent!

8 o’clock came and we were asked to head to the dining area. We were directed to a different table from the one we had been at for the previous two nights which meant we weren’t sat with our game drive companions with no explanation. There was further shuffling as some people were taken off in drips and drabs to another area for a private dinner. a bit of a shambles.
By 8:25 the chef was ready to announce dinner but there were no other members of staff to accompany her. Finally two others joined her, obviously I was more than a bit grumpy now as I would have had a chance for a shower, nap, relax and still been there in time!

So it was time, at last, for dinner, however, we were sitting with people we were meeting for the first time, including staff members!

The menu was a little strange. The soup was fine. The main courses were chicken or Oxtail. Not too bad so far, but the accompaniments were Polenta, Dumplings, and very al dente vegetables. The wine waiter who had been so good serving drinks for the first two nights seemed to have been seconded to the private dining, so the drinks became self service.

The American couple that were part of our game drive group had received a bottle of champagne as both were celebrating significant birthdays in October. They brought us over some champagne and were also perplexed as to why we were not sitting with them. All in all very strange organisation.

To top it all off, two of the people we were sat with left the table before finishing the main course, two went to sit by the fire and the other two left soon after. The staff members we were sat with also disappeared as they were having to act as waiters for the evening

As my title suggests, there are too many guests for all the staff to be aware who has been on drives with who. My personal view is if you can’t sit all your guests at one long table that allows interaction, then there are too many.

Would we go back - no, it’s not for us and we’ve been going on safari holidays every other year for the last 20 years.

I hope it doesn’t sound like a complete whinge, we saw a lot, and two thirds of our stay was good, but when you pay a lot of money for these stays you have high expectations which weren’t met fully.

All of the above was raised with the Lodge Manager Andy before we left, so hopefully there was something useful in it for him too.

Room tip: Beware if you have a bad back. The roads aren’t great
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank henders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Odumetse, Marketing at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2023

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Xakanaxa. Xakanaxa area has good wildlife experience usually even though this also depends on the time of the year when you visit. Our guides spend more time with the guests ensuring that they get the best experiences in the wilderness. Our guides are highly trained and knowledgeable about the areas they operate in and naturally they are supposed to be at their best. In view of the experience you had we are definitely going to establish what the glitches were and please accept our profound apologies on the unfortunate experience you had with the tire puncher.

We will address your concerns to ensure that something like this never happens again.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at Xakanaxa in the not so distant future.

With Regards,

The Desert & Delta Safaris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

I loved everything about this camp, and our guide Keti! The room was lovely and spotless. The people were so kind and cheerful and always ready to help with any wanted or needed. Our guide was so knowledgeable and fun and made each outing a pleasure!

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vickyg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Odumetse, Marketing at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Vicky,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay at Camp Xakanaxa.

We are pleased that you had an incredible experience. Camp Xakanaxa is the best place to disconnect from the rest of the world and appreciate nature. We will let the team know that you enjoyed your stay including the ever-amazing guides who always ensure the guests experience becomes a memorable one.

We hope to welcome you again to our paradise.

Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2023

This place is excellent. Great people, large luxury 'tents' marvelous food and fantastic game drives. It was very hot for us during the day but the cool water of the pool helped. No a/c but the temperature was comfortable at night so no problem with sleeping. We were so lucky to have Harry (Harrison) allocated as our guide. What a man...so friendly, fun, attentive and knwledgable. He found us lions, leopards as well as all the usual elephants, antelopes etc. Our highlight was when he detected the tracks of wild dogs and eventually found them. It was magical. We then had another first when he spotted a honey badger, another first for us. Oscar the hippo caused the odd detour on our accompanied short walks to thevdining area but with cuation he was no problem. During the night we could often here him, and others outside our tent. A couple of buffalo wandered into camp one night but we were always kept safe.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffRuthHudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Odumetse, Marketing at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Dear Geoff and Ruth,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Camp Xakanaxa.
Wow you had an incredible stay with us filled with spectacular sightings. Harry is a wonderful guide who is certainly passionate and dedicated.

Kind regards,
The Desert & Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

A wonderful safari experience. Our guide Thabo Dello Legwatagwata was knowledgeable and so much fun to learn from! Food, setting, accommodations all top notch.you will not be disappointed!
Saw so many animals-wild dogs, hippos , giraffes, zebra, water buffalo .. the list goes on!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Odumetse, Marketing at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Dear Nancy,

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us at Camp Xakanaxa! We are delighted that we have helped ticket of a spot on your bucket list! Fantastic that you had such great sightings, wild dogs are always a special one!

We hope to welcome you back to our paradise.
Till then, best wishes,
The Desert & Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2023

This camp was at edge of Okavenga in the game reserve so had a bit of wet and dry animals and experiences. The game drives were great. We happened to get a good view of lions fighting, a leopard visiting a kill to eat, and many other experiences of hippos, giraffes and elephants! The camp itself was lovely and I have to say the employees here really enjoyed their jobs and wanted every guest to know how special the people of Botswana are. Besides just amazing hospitality and service, the staff loved to present something unique of their heritage every night. We had two large groups leaving one night and I think the entire staff, working or not came by and there was a 10 minute concert of traditional songs. Just a special place.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Odumetse, Marketing at Camp Xakanaxa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2023

We are delighted by your positive review and feedback and cannot thank you enough for the comments shared.
We are elated to hear that you had one of the best game drives, and hope that it ticked all boxes on your sighting bucket list. Thank you for highlighting our team members and highlights of your trip, we will be sure to share them with the Camp Xakanaxa Team.

We do hope that we will welcome you back to Botswana!
Kind Regards,
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews