We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tuskers Bush Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$766
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1 845
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sango Safari Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1 175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyena Pan Tented Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1 157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Chief's Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$5 205
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
200
29
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
29
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilderness safarisgame viewingchief's islandblack rhinonew chefevery turnelevated walkwayduma tauover the topwild dogsother guestsevery guestlion pridecape buffalookavango deltaherd of elephantssouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The wildlife on Chief's Island beats anything I have ever seen in other locations on Botswana or the rest Africa.
Wilderness Safaris is a top notch outfit. OB, the guide-tracker was a good as they get, the food, accommodations, attention to detail, personnel were all 5 star.
I was delighted with my stay at Mombo Trails and could not have improved on the experience in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Larry,

We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Mombo Trails and hope you will visit us as soon as the new Mombo opens so that we can blow you away even more great memories.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed at the temporary camp as the real camp is being fully renovated. We will definitely come back when the new camp is open! Highlight was the game drives where the animals are so plentiful! We had lions in the camp the last morning and got to watch them hunt zebras! The WOW events were a lot of fun. ..picnic lunch overlooking the water hole and the "mombo combo" was a highlight. Staff is friendly and food very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Kate,

Thank you for your amazing review and for visiting us at Mombo Trails, we cannot wait to welcome you back to the New Mombo soon. Arguably the best big game viewing in all of Africa, the area boasts enormous concentrations of plains game and predators which begin virtually on Mombo’s doorstep.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Mombo Trails Camp - even for the quick overnight stay which is all the time we had - was without doubt my best safari experience ever. Botswana offers a wilder, more up-close experience than anywhere else I've ever been. Thanks to Yompi, our exceptionally knowledgeable guide, we were able to sit close to a cheetah with three cubs while they fed on an impala, and later watch from a safe but nearby spot as hundreds of buffaloes, spooked by a lion, came stampeding past us. On the way back to camp, under a sliver of a moon, we watched hyenas hunting. Elephants were mooching around in the background. By then the milky way and a whole galaxy of stars were shining. Yompi used a laser-beam pen to make sense of it all. After dinner round the camp fire, just before bedtime, an elephant made its ghostly way past us and into the bush. Perfect. Next day he successfully tracked a rhino mother with two young, following their spoor for miles through the bush. We ended up close enough to touch them (obviously we didn't do that!). There were jackals and vultures, eagles and mongoose. And at the end of our visit, a beautiful leopard resting under a tree where her kill was still dangling. Life in the wild, best seen with Yompi.

Room Tip: Eight luxury safari tents with good personal touches. The hot-water bottle was very welcome.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraJonesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear BarbaraJonesCapeTown,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Yompy is truly a great guide and really does encompass our companies values with his great passion for what he does. "I believe tracking is an art, you need to learn and master it. Having learnt this from an early age, I have taken my findings and incorporated them into my guiding career. I absolutely love finding animals for my guests, and it’s what drives me daily to go out and achieve. I also love storytelling as this is how I was raised by my family, around the fire."

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I first stayed at Mombo in 1998. It was so brilliant that I returned the following year. In those days the accommodation was ground level Meru style tents. Shortly afterwards it was completely changed with the construction of the ultra-luxury camp which became famous worldwide. I visited in 2013 ( my review available on this site) and thought that although the 'new' camp was wonderful, the wildlife viewing was not quite as good as the late 1990s.

Principally, this was because the lions had become so ascendant. The wild dogs had gone and cheetahs were never seen. But the 'pull of Mombo' is very great and I decided to return. Shortly before we left the UK, we had word from our travel agents ( Africa Travel Resource who are really good) that Mombo had closed for refurbishment and that we would be accommodated in a temporary tented camp called Mombo Trails. We received a generous rebate. I wasn't really bothered: the luxury camp was wonderful but Mombo stands out for the beauty of the scenery and the wildlife.

The Mombo Trails camp is absolutely fine - the tents are spacious, the showers are excellent, the food is delicious (and there is plenty of choice) and the staff are attentive and friendly. The wildlife is as good as I remember in the late 1990s. We were there for 2 nights and had 4 game drives. Each game drive was characterised by an excellent predator sighting -(1) a great sighting for 45 minutes of a cheetah hunting; (2) a 17 strong pack of wild dogs returning to their den: (3) separating viewings of male lions and lionesses; and (4) a female leopard and a male leopard - we just missed the fight between them and wondered if the supposition that the male leopard had just killed the female's cubs is true. On each drive, we saw all the general game one could hope for - save for buffalo. Other guests staying at the same time were lucky to see a Serval Cat and others saw a Black Rhino.

Our guide, Tebla, was quite outstanding.

So, for a few months until December 2017, it's possible to visit Mombo without having to pay extraordinarily high prices. When the new camp is built, I'll almost certainly visit. There won't be many customers who will have been to Mombo in its four different styles.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kirkmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Kirkmans,

There certainly won't be many people who have experienced as many levels of Mombo as you have - with Mombo Trails being a special "Limited Edition". We are delighted to see that through the changes over the many years the "pull of Mombo" as you referred to it is the outstanding game viewing. We hope when you come back to see us at the "new" Mombo we will be able to track down some of the rare sightings you missed out on this time round - like the beautiful black rhino.

Until your next visit
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

My wife and I first heard about Mombo from a British couple we met at Victoria Falls in 2015 who had been coming to Africa for more than 40 years and told us that Mombo was their best experience in the whole 40+ years. With this sort of recommendation we made it a top priority to experience Mombo for ourselves. We first visited Mombo in March of 2016 and to say the experience was magical would be an understatement. Less than 5 minutes from the airstrip we found a leopard up a tree. After dropping our bags in our room we embarked on our first game drive and, less than 5 minutes from camp, we found a pride of lions on a warthog kill. Our whole 4 days there were more of the same, including a leopard with a house cat sized cub, a lion pride with 7 small cubs, and both black and white rhinos etc. etc. Our guide, Yomby, and the rest of the staff were exceptional. The "tents" were amazing, the beds comfortable, the food and wine great. This year both Mombo and Little Mombo are being renovated (Although we thought Mombo was just fine last year.) so we returned to Mombo Trails in June, a "temporary" camp installed for the duration of the renovations. This temporary camp is the equal of many permanent camps we have visited. The major differences between Mombo Trails and permanent Mombo are the absence of elevated walkways and platforms, somewhat smaller tents (but still huge), and dining tables on the ground under the trees instead of on a platform. The staff and service are still the excellent equal of the permanent camp. Our guide this year, Andy, was equally as good as Yomby last year. The game viewing was equal to last year, but somewhat different. Last year the rains had ceased so that we had lots of green, but the floods had not yet arrived so that we saw big plains filled with numerous species of wildlife. This year the floods had arrived so that many of the plains were now filled with water. This resulted in a somewhat different disposition of the wildlife and significantly more water associated birdlife. The highlights this year were 2 prides of lions, the leopard cub from last year being almost grown up, a cheetah mother and cubs on a kill, and close encounters with a mother rhino and a 2 week old calf and "big daddy" the father of the calf who was chilling out and allowed us to get within 20 feet. I really can't say enough good things about the whole Mombo experience, either at the permanent camp or at Mombo Trails.

Room Tip: All the tents are equally good, just some further away from the central area.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear David,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Mombo Trails and your beautiful comparison between the "old" Mombo and it's temporary counterpart. We will be sure to share your kind words with Yompy and all our exceptional staff in camp. We hope you will come back to see the "new" Mombo - which, although there may be significant changes will still offer the outstanding wildlife viewing which solidifies the Mombo concession as "the place of plenty".

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews