We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife at every turn in the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Mombo Camp is another great Wilderness Safari facility. It is a premier camp and the price reflects that. But, it was beautifully decorated, the food was very tasty, the staff exceptional, the spa service very good, and to top it all off, the wildlife was tremendous. We saw the Big 5 as well as everything else! Our guide, Moses, was very knowledgeable and fun. He kept us quite entertained! We went at the end of the dry season (November 2013). Lots of birds, as well. We would like to return. We stayed at 3 different Wilderness Safari facilities during this trip and each one was exceptional. Wilderness Safaris knows how to run its camps well!! This trip was taken in Nov. of 2013. My earliest date to choose from drop-down menu was Nov. 2016.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank debmcb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear debmcb2017,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us - even though it was a couple years ago. You will have to come and visit us again especially with the New Mombo Camp on the verge of re-opening. Moses and all the staff would love to welcome you back soon.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

The wildlife on Chief's Island beats anything I have ever seen in other locations on Botswana or the rest Africa.
Wilderness Safaris is a top notch outfit. OB, the guide-tracker was a good as they get, the food, accommodations, attention to detail, personnel were all 5 star.
I was delighted with my stay at Mombo Trails and could not have improved on the experience in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Larry,

We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Mombo Trails and hope you will visit us as soon as the new Mombo opens so that we can blow you away even more great memories.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed at the temporary camp as the real camp is being fully renovated. We will definitely come back when the new camp is open! Highlight was the game drives where the animals are so plentiful! We had lions in the camp the last morning and got to watch them hunt zebras! The WOW events were a lot of fun. ..picnic lunch overlooking the water hole and the "mombo combo" was a highlight. Staff is friendly and food very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Kate,

Thank you for your amazing review and for visiting us at Mombo Trails, we cannot wait to welcome you back to the New Mombo soon. Arguably the best big game viewing in all of Africa, the area boasts enormous concentrations of plains game and predators which begin virtually on Mombo’s doorstep.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Mombo Trails Camp - even for the quick overnight stay which is all the time we had - was without doubt my best safari experience ever. Botswana offers a wilder, more up-close experience than anywhere else I've ever been. Thanks to Yompi, our exceptionally knowledgeable guide, we were able to sit close to a cheetah with three cubs while they fed on an impala, and later watch from a safe but nearby spot as hundreds of buffaloes, spooked by a lion, came stampeding past us. On the way back to camp, under a sliver of a moon, we watched hyenas hunting. Elephants were mooching around in the background. By then the milky way and a whole galaxy of stars were shining. Yompi used a laser-beam pen to make sense of it all. After dinner round the camp fire, just before bedtime, an elephant made its ghostly way past us and into the bush. Perfect. Next day he successfully tracked a rhino mother with two young, following their spoor for miles through the bush. We ended up close enough to touch them (obviously we didn't do that!). There were jackals and vultures, eagles and mongoose. And at the end of our visit, a beautiful leopard resting under a tree where her kill was still dangling. Life in the wild, best seen with Yompi.

Room Tip: Eight luxury safari tents with good personal touches. The hot-water bottle was very welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraJonesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear BarbaraJonesCapeTown,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Yompy is truly a great guide and really does encompass our companies values with his great passion for what he does. "I believe tracking is an art, you need to learn and master it. Having learnt this from an early age, I have taken my findings and incorporated them into my guiding career. I absolutely love finding animals for my guests, and it’s what drives me daily to go out and achieve. I also love storytelling as this is how I was raised by my family, around the fire."

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I first stayed at Mombo in 1998. It was so brilliant that I returned the following year. In those days the accommodation was ground level Meru style tents. Shortly afterwards it was completely changed with the construction of the ultra-luxury camp which became famous worldwide. I visited in 2013 ( my review available on this site) and thought that although the 'new' camp was wonderful, the wildlife viewing was not quite as good as the late 1990s.

Principally, this was because the lions had become so ascendant. The wild dogs had gone and cheetahs were never seen. But the 'pull of Mombo' is very great and I decided to return. Shortly before we left the UK, we had word from our travel agents ( Africa Travel Resource who are really good) that Mombo had closed for refurbishment and that we would be accommodated in a temporary tented camp called Mombo Trails. We received a generous rebate. I wasn't really bothered: the luxury camp was wonderful but Mombo stands out for the beauty of the scenery and the wildlife.

The Mombo Trails camp is absolutely fine - the tents are spacious, the showers are excellent, the food is delicious (and there is plenty of choice) and the staff are attentive and friendly. The wildlife is as good as I remember in the late 1990s. We were there for 2 nights and had 4 game drives. Each game drive was characterised by an excellent predator sighting -(1) a great sighting for 45 minutes of a cheetah hunting; (2) a 17 strong pack of wild dogs returning to their den: (3) separating viewings of male lions and lionesses; and (4) a female leopard and a male leopard - we just missed the fight between them and wondered if the supposition that the male leopard had just killed the female's cubs is true. On each drive, we saw all the general game one could hope for - save for buffalo. Other guests staying at the same time were lucky to see a Serval Cat and others saw a Black Rhino.

Our guide, Tebla, was quite outstanding.

So, for a few months until December 2017, it's possible to visit Mombo without having to pay extraordinarily high prices. When the new camp is built, I'll almost certainly visit. There won't be many customers who will have been to Mombo in its four different styles.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kirkmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Kirkmans,

There certainly won't be many people who have experienced as many levels of Mombo as you have - with Mombo Trails being a special "Limited Edition". We are delighted to see that through the changes over the many years the "pull of Mombo" as you referred to it is the outstanding game viewing. We hope when you come back to see us at the "new" Mombo we will be able to track down some of the rare sightings you missed out on this time round - like the beautiful black rhino.

Until your next visit
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
15,3 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
249 reviews
65,3 km away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
296 reviews
106 km away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#10 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32,1 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
0 km away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#21 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
102,7 km away
Sango Safari Camp
Sango Safari Camp
#6 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp

Address: Mombo Island, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: R 13 459 - R 56 354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nostalgic look back at our roots as safari pioneers in Botswana, Mombo Trails Camp is a light-footprint tented camp that has been specially erected to provide accommodation during the rebuild of Mombo and Little Mombo camps. As such, there are no permanent structures, but all the luxury and comforts of a Mombo experience, along with Mombo’s world-famous spectacular game viewing on offer. Eight elegantly furnished and spacious guest tents with en-suite facilities are situated on slightly raised decks to minimise impact on the site, all under large, shady trees, and often within sight of a variety of the area’s wildlife. Set under towering jackalberry trees, the dining, bar and lounge area offers beautiful views over the floodplain. Delicious meals are enjoyed here or under the stars, while veteran Mombo guests, guides and staff gather around the campfire to relive the history of one of our longest-running camps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mombo Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing