We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This place is like the Garden of Eden. Zebras, Elephants, giraffes, antelopes altogether on the plain. Then being able to see the white and black rhinos! The accommodations were 5 star and the service was impeccable. Best of all were the guides - they had an unparalleled ability to figure out where the animals were - We saw them all!

Once-in-a-lifetime trip - although of course I hope to be able to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pskdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you pskdc for your beautiful review, we are thrilled to read all your great memories and delighted to have been a part of this once in a lifetime experience with you. We too hope you will visit us again, and very soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in November and had an excellent stay. The lodge sits in a great location looking out over the plains. The rooms are very large and spacious and well appointed. They are a little worn but they are going to be doing a complete rebuild of the lodge to up date the facilities and I am sure this will be amazing. The staff are all wonderful and so kind and wanting to make your experience top notch. They do lots of little things to make the stay memorable. For example one day while out on safari they had some one meet us with cold fresh fruit smoothies. The food was well prepared and had a good variety of choices. Our guide Tebla was fantastic and we had some fabulous leopard sightings. The only slight disappointment was with the diversity or lack there of. I don't know if it was just because we have heard so much about how this is the premier place to see wild life that we had very high expectations. We have been on many safaris in many different parts of Africa and we felt this was just an average wild life experience and we do recognize that a lot of it is based on luck and time of year and we were here in not the best time of year (Nov), however for example we did not see one elephant in 3 days and only saw one buffalo. We did not see any wild dogs or cheetah and when we asked about this they told us that in the past they used to see them a lot and now it is not as common to see these. We went to Vumbura after Mombo and we say large pack of wild dogs, cheetah hunting several times and tons of elephants and buffalo and several large male lions. All of these things were lacking at our time at mombo. We did see some great leopard sightings and one lion pride with babies and tons of giraffe and other plains game. We did love this place and the staff and lodge are excellent but I do think people need to realize that the wild life is not the same as it was ten years ago and a lot has changed with what predators you see on a regular basis. That said I would totally recommend staying here and it is a fabulous lodge in a great location and we hope to be able to come back after the remodel .

Stayed: November 2016
Thank thewanderingfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear thewanderingfamily4,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your great memories with us. We are thrilled to see what a great impact Tebla and all our great staff had on your overall stay with us. As you mentioned the game drives and sightings can be very much a luck of the draw and are sorry to hear this did not meet your expectations. Thankfully the other Wilderness Safaris Camp you visited was able to improve on this for you – this is why we have a number of camps spread throughout the Okavango Delta – offering our wonderful guests such as yourselves the opportunity to see every element this magnificent region has to offer. We certainly hope you will visit us again once the refurbished camp is up and running.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

There are reasons why people call this place the Legendary Mombo. It is the ultimate camp given the game, the amenities and the staff. The rooms while the plan is to rebuild are large and spacious with an amazing view of the plains and plenty of game in sight. The living space is well appointed with leather furniture in a safari theme and the decks are incredible. You can see elephants, mongoose playing out front and the outside shower is a treat. Annabel is an incredible manager focused on your every need and she is so personable that it's evident she loves meeting people. The food and wine is spectacular and it's hard to believe you are at a remote camp. We loved the lunch platters, especially the Pride and the choice of lovely wines. The common area is welcoming and guests feel at ease to mix together given the tone set by an exceptional staff. My guide Sefo was incredible. He knows game, where to track and find it and on my birthday we stayed out all day! We saw the big five and the staff set up a surprise birthday lunch in the bush set alongside a waterway with hippos and elephants in abundance. The lunch was simply lovely and it's an experience I will never forget. I'm heading back to Mombo in September next year with my sister and it will be a trip that's like coming home for me. Life is short. And you must put the Legendary Mombo on your list. It's isn't cheap but it's an experience that stands out for the luxury and the pure raw beauty that is Botswana. My niece and I throughly loved it and it was the perfect finish to an amazing trip. You can't go wrong traveling with Wilderness.

Room Tip: Always try for a tent at the end for privacy
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Jane,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that we could be a part of your birthday celebrations. We have passed along your beautiful sentiments to all the staff who send their kind regards and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Till we meet again, your friends at
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Mombo Camp is located on Chief's Island, Moremi Preserve. It is truly the Land of Plenty. It is hard to drive for more than a few minutes without coming across zebra, giraffe, Impala or other game. We saw leopards mating, lions galore, with Cubs mauling each other and the moms. The scenery is gorgeous with huge acacia trees and baobabs thousands of years old. We had a fantastic guide Sevara, extremely knowledgeable, fun to be with and he couldn't do enough in finding things to enhance our experience- including finding 3 black rhinos that thundered in battle line towards our jeep. Like all Wilderness Safari Camps, Mombo is well run- food is superb, accommodations luxurious- Mombo is a Premium Camp. The people at the camp including Hamish, the manager could not do enough to insure everything was perfect. Awesome- Pula!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TaxiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear TaxiMike,

Thank you for your marvelous review, we are delighted to hear that every element of your stay with us was able to exceed your expectations. We will be sure to share your beautiful words with Severa, Hamish and all the fabulous staff in camp.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I am not a prolific TA reviewer - only for the very special places in my lifetime. This is one of them. My wife and I work about half-time in Africa including Botswana. When I asked our government sponsor (who has been all over) where to go if we take a safari - the answer was clearly - Okavanga Delta in Botswana. We found Wilderness Safaris on the web and they connected us to a local travel agent in Denver. As it turns out - the good reserves and good agents actually visit these reserves to get to know which ones have what accommodations, food, service etc.
When I say "reserve" that is somewhat misleading. There really aren't fences keeping animals in or out here. This is nature at its finest. Botswana (we know the government well) are one of the finest in conservation, anti-poaching and adoption of rhinos and others from other countries that need to place them. The delta is a natural attraction as the area floods once a year from rains in Angola driving wildlife naturally to the area. We happened to come after a long drought (our second visit) and saw the delta as we hadn't before and were not disappointed.
So if you believe the the Delta is for you - Mombo Camp is the best - whether Little Mombo or Mombo Camp. They are adjacent and of course share the same natural wildlife in their environs. This was our second visit of 3-4 days (can't afford the time or money for longer) and we got to see offspring of the same leopards and lion prides from our last visit. You can see pretty much anything hear except Cheetahs. The changing seasons give different opportunities. The flooding drives more wildlife, but you can enjoy more babies of all types in other times. The guides are experienced and friendly. Be patient and you will enjoy quiet moments of lions lounging, cubs waking up and playing, etc. It even rained heavily one whole day and we still saw some things we had not before.
Lastly, the food and accommodations at Mombo are the best. Nothing to want or need. If you want wi-fi and facebook - I don't even know if internet is available - you are in the wrong place. This is Africa untouched. As it has been for centuries. Come and enjoy and respect where you are.

Room Tip: The views from the two "tents" we enjoyed were as peaceful as they come.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denver7756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear denver7756,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see we were highly and rightly recommended. It sounds like you had some amazing sightings and we hope you were able to take home some great photos of your memorable time with us. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
15.3 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
231 reviews
65.3 km away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
287 reviews
106.7 km away
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.9 km away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
88 reviews
32.1 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
106.0 km away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#13 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp

Address: Mombo Island, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: R12 711 - R63 036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nostalgic look back at our roots as safari pioneers in Botswana, Mombo Trails Camp is a light-footprint tented camp that has been specially erected to provide accommodation during the rebuild of Mombo and Little Mombo camps. As such, there are no permanent structures, but all the luxury and comforts of a Mombo experience, along with Mombo’s world-famous spectacular game viewing on offer. Eight elegantly furnished and spacious guest tents with en-suite facilities are situated on slightly raised decks to minimise impact on the site, all under large, shady trees, and often within sight of a variety of the area’s wildlife. Set under towering jackalberry trees, the dining, bar and lounge area offers beautiful views over the floodplain. Delicious meals are enjoyed here or under the stars, while veteran Mombo guests, guides and staff gather around the campfire to relive the history of one of our longest-running camps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mombo Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing