We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
31
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
31
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle island khwai river tauck tour game drives wild dogs unfenced camp travel arrangements air conditioning luxury hotel dining area classic safari safari experience game reserve mini bar large deck tent cabins bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

My wife and I completely enjoyed our stay at the Khwai River Lodge. Per the name the lodge is right along the river, which allowed us to see a family of hippos every day and also two elephants wading through the water when we woke up one morning. The rooms at the lodge are the equivalent of a luxury hotel, being very spacious and with air conditioning and high end shower. Our guide Jimmy was the best part of the trip, showing us all the wildlife of the Okavango Delta and answering all of our questions. We'll be recommending the Khwai River Lodge to everyone visiting the Okavango Delta.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear mcgoobs,

Thank you for your fabulous review of your recent stay with us. It's a real treat to see the hippos and elephant so close to the lodge, we try to count the hippos, but haven't been that successful...! Jimmy is absolutely delighted with your feedback, thank you for the acknowledgement and for your recommendation to fellow travellers.

Warm regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We stayed in 4 luxury safari lodges on our recent trip to Botswana - all excellent - but this was my favourite!
Luxurious but still low key & intimate. Our chalet was spacious, beautifully furnished, spotless, & had absolutely everything you could need. The views out across the river & flood plan were amazing - from the lodge & our room you could see hippo, elephant, impala, fish eagles & more. Sleeping whilst the hippos 'laughed' - utterly unforgettable.

Food was excellent in choice, presentation & taste.
Staff & service was professional & friendly, helpful & knowledgeable.

Above all - our wonderful smiling knowledgeable guide - Watch ( sorry for keep calling you Walter !) - you found us a leopard - 3 days running; you found us wild dogs; Goliath Heron & so so so much more. Your love & passion for your country & its wildlife shone thro & made us all love it too. & our drives were such fun - lots of laughter. Memorable for a very long time. Thank you Watch ( I hope someone shows you this review) - from Mary & Jon x

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear CathyWinchesterUK,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you were so well taken care of and that you had such excellent wildlife sightings too!

Walter (Watch) haha, is such a fantastic guide, with a lovely sense of humor, his stories delight us so very much, and he is just as passionate and knowledgeable too. Our lodge managers share all our reviews with the staff at the lodges, he will most certainly have seen it, thank you.

Thank you Mary and Jon for your heartfelt message.

Warm regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

A group of us flew in to this fabulous lodge in April. Right from the pickup at the aircraft, the excellent experience already started. The staff are obviously well trained and the way they treat each guest is amazing. Each member of staff comes over to personally greet each visitor by hand and they are super friendly and knowledgeable. The game drive was amazing and we saw SO many animals, especially elephants! The food was also super yummy! Highly recommended…

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Hugo P,

Thank you for your lovely review and your recommendation of the lodge! The sightings at the lodge is excellent and we are delighted that you were able to see you many of them.

Warm regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

As with all Belmond properties the service is top tier. The room was beautiful. The food great and the safaris wonderful. With Belmond we were pampered from beginning to end. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this camp to anyone .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HowardTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear HowardTorontoCanada,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you were so well taken care of!

We hope to welcome you back again soon and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This beautiful lodge is although it is a bit dated but is due to be completely refurbished in about two years time.This is an unfenced camp and game does visit in particular we met a charming elephant all adds to the fun !!!
The whole experience was great wonderful drives with super rangers and an abundance of game,which is what you are there for.
The Food was wholesome and plentiful and in fact all you seem to do is eat in-between drives no good for the waiste line but it is a holiday after all.
There is limited fre WiFi in the main area but not in the rooms. Safaries are not suitable for young children these are wild animals not a zoo
We will certainly return and would recommend you to visit

Room Tip: All the suites are the same so you can not go wrong
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Khwai River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Clive L,

Thank you for your lovely review, and indeed the wildlife sightings from the lodge and the surrounds is unsurpassed!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon, and that we can add a few more unforgettable memories, and perhaps a few more inches to the waistline too.. !

You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and search for @BelmondSafaris.

Warm regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews