We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
89
29
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
29
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephants drinking few meters khwai river herd of elephants game drives overlooking the water picnic lunch raised platform wild dogs tented accommodation special experience comfortable beds high tea all kinds three nights waterhole sky
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2023 via mobile

We were exceedingly disappointed in Hyena Pan. The manager of the resort was very rude and disrespectful to our daughter. And took no responsibility for her (the manager’s) behaviour. It completely ruined our stay - and if we could have left, we would have. We felt very uncomfortable. It is certainly not in keeping with our experiences travelling in Botswana. With regards to the camp, the other staff were respectful. The food was good. The game were very sparse - did a lot of driving and did not see much, compared to every other camp we have been in in Botswana. Hyena Pan felt more like an African Resort, rather than an authentic safari camp to us. When I contacted Natural Selection to follow up, I was disappointed with their response. While they said they “took the matter up” with the General Manager, they also said they had extensive contact with Bush Lark Safaris (the group that referred us to Hyena Pan), and when they didn’t hear back from Bush Lark, they “did not pursue the matter further.” Confusing, you would have thought they would have pursued it with me - the customer. We will not return to Hyena Pan or another Natural Selection property. And would not recommend them.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Dear Louise,

Thank you for choosing Hyena Pan for your safari and for your feedback.

It's a great shame that there was a misunderstanding and that you were unable to meet up with your daughter in camp.

We wish your family many happy future trips to Botswana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2023

Yes, it is more rustic but still very comfortable place to stay. Beds are very comfy, great storage space and a good fan for those hot afternoons. The difference with the more expensive camps is a poorer shower head and a toilet that has no sound proofing whatsoever😊.
It was smart to start the trip at Hyena Pan as the next 2 lodges were more luxurious - best to start with more rustic.
Location of Hyena Pan is great especially due to proximity to elephants. There is a watering hole right in front of the camp.
Hyena Pan is a further drive to see the animals so you have to go out about 30 minutes, but not a problem. They also have a “hide” which was fantastic for seeing elephants, zebras etc. up close. Let your guide know as soon as you get there that you want to go into the hide. He has to book it as it only holds 6 people.
The landscape at Hyena Pan can be described, in places, as post-apocalyptic, due to all the downed trees caused by the elephants. Great to see this area and then go to Chobe area for the next camp – quite a difference. (Chobe gets more rain so it is a different habitat)

Laundry: They do it daily but no “smalls”. The only thing is that this place was not a great one to have laundry done. Clothes come back “rough”. Is this due to the salt content in the water? You notice it when you wash your hair, as well.

Our guide gave us brief “lectures” every day when we went out, which was very helpful. Guides did this at all camps – very knowledgeable.

Dining: Of the 3 camps best food was at Hyena Pan! Dining is not communal, which we thought was good until we went to second camp and realized that we loved the communal dining. One night we were the only 2 at the camp and because that night is always BBQ night they still did the full spread along with singing.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank claire1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2023

Dear Claire, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review.

We're so pleased that. you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long.

Warm regards,
Hyena Pan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2023

Very dissapointing - we booked this stay on the impression that the lodge gives a complete okavango delta experience: overlooking the green water, mokoro boat rides,... This was not the case, the lodge has no possible water activities and is located in the forest.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nathaliev686
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Thank you for your constructive feedback. It's a great shame that your expectations weren't met but please rest assured that your feedback has been shared.

Kind regards,

the Hyena Pan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2023

Amazing location watching the kudu, impala and elephants drinking whilst eating your breakfast lunch, and dinner. Friendly warm knowledgeable staff, joyous and happy in their work and interacting with guests, a real treat!! great food, .Slept well in the comfy beds , good pillows , loved it !!! Our guide Neko amazing knowledge of tracking and wildlife . patient and good fun, wonderful happy wise kind man. we saw lots of incredible wildlife, the experience was better than we could have hoped for !! keep doing what you are doing folks, and guys like me will keep returning !!

Room tip: enjoy folks, take a good camera that takes movies!!!!!
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Journey543705
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review - we're thrilled you enjoyed such a happy stay with us.

We really appreciate your kind words about our wonderful staff and hope to welcome you back before too long.

Kind regards,
Hyena Pan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2022

Hyena Pan is a superb camp. With only 10 huts not too big to loose the personal touch. The camp and huts were beautiful and well cared for and the staff were attentive and friendly.

The camp is situated on a waterhole frequented by elephants most of the day with visits from zebra and Kudu.

The safaris were jeep based with no more than 4 people and were mainly in bush/shrub. Plenty of wildlfe to be seen, both large (elephant, zebra, hippo, giraffe) and small, steinbuck, long eared fox, spotted owl, pelican, stalk) and the highlight, leopard.

Our guide, Mario, was friendly and knowledgeable and took very good care of us. Such a special experience.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneG266
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2022

Hi June,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review - it means a lot.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews