We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
89
29
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
29
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephants drinking few meters khwai river herd of elephants game drives overlooking the water picnic lunch raised platform wild dogs tented accommodation special experience comfortable beds high tea all kinds three nights waterhole sky
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

I had a trip in Botswana 🇧🇼 in august 2022 and i have been in Hyena Pan for 4 days; staff were great, food tasty and i had wonderful time there; having a cocktail before sunset when herds of Elephants and Buffaloes drink at the pond will be always a great memory of this trip. Thanks to Territori Africa in Italy for the tour organization 🙏🏻🥂

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gianni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Thank you so much for leaving us this lovely review.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.

Best wishes - The Natural Selection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

The Sky Beds experience at Hyena Pans was marvelous. Our Sky Beds were on the 3rd level of the structure with a mosquito net covering a very comfortable bed with a deck.
Toilet, wash hand basin etc. next level down.
We enjoyed sundowners overlooking the pan with elephants drinking. The food was delicious and our guide used a laser beam to point out the myriad constellations above us.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back before too long.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2022 via mobile

The location of this lodge is very good near a pan filled with water and attracting animals. The central area is nice and during dinner you can enjoy wildlife a few meters away. The tents are spacious and comfortable. The food is good. The gamedrives are very good but the lodge is rather far away from Khwai River where you can see most of the wildlife. However there are several attention points :
- although the website states that all tents have a view on the water , this is not true (our grown up kids had a tent with no view at all (avoid the two tents furthest away from the lodge)
- on arrival the staff said that WiFi is not always good : it is just not available (no issue but be clear about it)
- we stayed two nights and only the last morning we had warm water
- they completely mixed up laundry of different tents

So service can be improved.

Room tip: Avoid tents without view on the water
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EdithS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2022 via mobile

On arrival we witnessed a herd of elephants crossing the water. The accomodation at Hyena Pan is situated around a natural (but water fed) pan teaming with wildlife. It is not unusual to sit at dinner witnessing the antics of elephants splashing about just a few metres away. There are twice daily game drives plus other activities. However, the densely shrubbed location of Hyena Pan means that there is a reasonable drive to more open terrain to see some of the wildlife, particularly lions. Don't let that put you off though, there is plenty to see. An elephant appearing seemingly out of nowhere is not unusual. Add to that all kinds of antelope, warthogs, buffalo, birds and reptiles then you realise there is plenty of wildlife everywhere.
The accomodations is comfortable and offers differing views around the pan. The large tents (forget your perceptions about tents - this is luxury!) have comfortable beds and showers. There are no fences so wildlife is everywhere. You will be escorted back to your accommodation after dark for safety. See what footprints you find on the sandy soil as you venture out for breakfast!
The food is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rosebayfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natural Selection, Marketing at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review - we really appreciate it.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2022

It's been three years since my last trip (like many safari goers I think) and this was the first time staying at Hyena Pan. It was a VERY bumpy ride. The hot water in the shower didn't work and we asked for repair on two different days. Laundry was returned still wet - even after kindly asking about it. Food service wasn't solid -- both in quality of food and how the servers interacted with us, i.e. "Are you done with that yet?". Most disappointing was the fact that game sightings were brief - the game was skittish around the vehicles and we couldn't get anywhere near. Our guide was friendly enough but lots of his conversation centered around plants because most of the game hung out at the far end of the pan on which the camp was located. Can not recommend.

Room tip: Suggest asking for a tent away from the main dining area.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sunbun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews