We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
44
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews likes and dislikes mokoro boat wild dogs game drives african bush wonderful staff dudu albert dodo singing privilege nico safari lodge properties zebra guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2019 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay here at Khwai Bush Camp for 3 nights in early September. We were not scheduled to stay here on our trip to Botswana, however circumstances happened and Khwai Bush Camp were able to accomodate us incredibly soon after the enquire were made. We were very lucky. Where we were had no internet available so we did not know where we were headed once we got off the plane but we were met by the wonderful KayTee and Max our guide. Max was able to sniff out the sightings including an incredible confrontation between a male lion and two lionesses. I don’t think I’ll ever get a picture anywhere near as amazing again. KayTee met our every need and more. Such a wonderful host who was incredibly attentive. He and Max assisted to find the right bandage I required when I accidentally slipped over and reignited an old ankle injury.
The food was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. It was wonderful having the chef announce the dinner menu at afternoon tea, something to look forward too. I had several requirements for food and they were wonderful in accommodating for them.
The room was luxurious with wonderful decor and an incredibly large comfortable bed.
I am very glad that we had the opportunity to stay here. We were spoilt and if ever given the opportunity to come back we would be there in a heartbeat. Thank you to KayTee and Max and all the others from behind the scenes that made our stay so wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shannons357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Thank you for this lovely comprehensive review, I am thrilled that we were able to pull it all together and accommodate you. Your sightings and experience is wonderful, thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

I will be sure to share this wonderful feedback with the entire African Bush Camps team. Likewise, we do hope that you are able to return in the near future. Until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019

Sightly hanging my head in shame, as it was way back in March 2019 we stayed. But its still with us. Hello Professor Ken, Hello DuDu! We (parents and two early 20's kids) had a glorious time at Khwai Bush Camp.

Maps, sat nav etc is a nightmare as the Camp is still known by its previous name. We probably spent 3 hours driving around trying to find the actual camp, whlst actaully being less than 5 miles away - this exploration included driving across a runway. We arrived a bit fractious, to the traditional greeting from all the staff and then everything melted away.

The Camp is luxurious, nothing too much trouble from the wonderful staff, food five star and all home cooked, and a stunning location. Professor Ken, our guide was superb, knowledgeable and great fun. DuDu and all her team were similarily wonderful.

Highly recommended in every way. PS I left some binoculars behind, so i will need to retreive personally at somepoint.

PPS Its a brilliant holiday to do with older children, March was great time weather wise, early 30s at highest. Okovango Delta a must.

Room tip: Its a brilliant holiday to do with older children, March was great time weather wise, early 30s at highest. Okovango Delta a must.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

We don't mind that the review is late, it is wonderful to receive it none the less. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your wonderful praise of our team I will be sure to share it with them all.

If you could email me re. your binoculars I can investigate with camp, gemma@africanbushcamps.com

I am thrilled the whole family had a wonderful trip, until we meet again, stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019

Khwai Bushcamp was outstanding! From the moment we arrived the grasslands were greeting us with a herd of elephant, zebra and water buck! DuDu the Camp hostess was so gracious and a delight to speak with. The entire staff made our trip very memorable and surpassed all expectations! Albert, our guide was very knowledgable and just a delight to be around. We learned a lot from him not only about the game but also the country and culture. Our highlight was how Albert spotted the wild dogs and flanked them as they went on a hunt-we were able to witness the entire stalk, run and hunt! To top that off Albert spotted a male lion in the bush feasting on a large antelope buck! Loved, loved every minute of this safari and camp. We spent three nights there and each dinner we arrived back from safari with a surprise location for our dinner! So elegant and very special. African Bush Camps are extremely well run and the entire staff well trained and an absolute pleasure!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loperpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Amazing! we are thrilled to be your favourite, thank you for such kind praise. You certainly had some wonderful sightings, thank you for sharing. I have passed on this kind acknowledgement to our entire team, they will be thrilled to receive it.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019

Our family of 6 spent 3 nights in the Khwai Bush Camp. The experience was outstanding in every way. The staff went to extraordinary lengths to make our stay memorable. The lodge and cottages were comfortable and nicely furnished. The food and special evening under the stars were special treats. And, special thanks to Sinka, our guide, and Kaytee, the camp host, who made our stay in Africa a joy. The game drives were terrific as we were able to view just about every animal to include elephants, lions, leopards, giraffes, and many others. The Khwai Bush Camp is highly recommended for those who wish to experience the Okavango Delta region!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BinAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with brilliant sightings.

I will be sure to share this feedback with our team, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019

We are self-drivers and found so far every Lodge or other places we wanted to go. We had two different sat-naves but none of them found the village Khwai. No problem we had maps too and it is very good indicated. So, to find Khwai is easy. But to find the Khwai Bush Camp is everything but easy. There are absolutely no indicators showing where to go. It took us more than half an hour to find that lodge, after arriving in the village of Khwai.

The Lodge is nice and has only 6 houses which is great. Food is excellent and the drives are great (Mighty). Just the one who planned the infrastructure in these nice houses did not really a good job. In the bathroom is no plug socket but the only mirror in the house. So, if women would like to style their hair they have to do it in the living-room. There you can plug your hairdryer but there is no mirror. So not much of use. There is a possibility to charge all your electric devices. If you turn on the light in the bathroom you turn on the light in the bedroom, not really smart planning, especially when there are two switches but only one in use.

That Camp is in the bush and it is quiet until some people feel the need of flying in by helicopter. These were the managers of African Bush Camps. Completely unnecessary noise that disturbed me very much and it is an unnecessary air pollution. In my opinion a complete stupidity.

Later we met these people and said hello to them – no answer. The following morning two of them were at the breakfast table and again we said “good morning” no answer. I was Group CFO and deputy CEO of an international Hotel Group. That behavior of these folks is an absolute no-go! They can and have obviously al lot to learn from their employees. They disqualified themselves.

All the employees do a great job, are always very friendly and know what their guests expect. The game drives were extraordinary and Mighty our guide was really great. He has an incredible knowledge about the wildlife and nature. And he gets not tired to explain it to his guests.

We would go there again and we can highly recommend that lodge to other travelers. Last but not least to mention the interest and motivation Kay the manager in place showed. We had nice talks and he was always interested if we are happy or if we are missing anything. As I already mentioned, they all do a great job, thank you very much for such nice days we could spend in your lodge.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank peterunderwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write this review it is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to look into the concerns you raised.

I do appreciate you acknowledging the fantastic work of our team and thrilled you felt their warmth and hospitality. I am sorry it took you some time to find the property but now you know where we are it will be easier next time. We do look forward to welcoming you back then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews