We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
44
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews likes and dislikes mokoro boat wild dogs game drives african bush wonderful staff dudu albert dodo singing privilege nico safari lodge properties zebra guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2019

From the moment of our arrival when all the staff greeted us with singing and cold towels, this all-inclusive lodge amazed us with its joyful atmosphere, superb service, spacious luxury rooms and never-to-be-forgotten game drives. A smallish river flows some 200m from the lodge with passing groups of animals frequently in view.
The 6 'huts' are suite-sized with verandahs looking towards the river, very comfortable beds, soft linen and a great shower.
A Boma was the setting for dinner one evening with swathes of stars above as the staff choir gave a concert of African singing. Unforgettable!
The Moremi Game Reserve was bustling with wild life and our cheerful and knowledgeable guide,'Mighty' was expert at locating game and providing relevant commentary on day and night drives. Lebo, our manageress, was so kind, thoughtful and attentive. So, top marks for this must-go-to game lodge

Room tip: All are equally good
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJ9Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2019

Amazing, thank you for the top marks we do appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. I will be sure to share it with our wonderful team.

Mighty is exactly that.... mighty knowledgable! Thanks again for the lovely feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the near future until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019

We spent a month traveling around Southern Africa (Namibia, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe) and can safely say this was my favorite stay of them all.

Khwai Bush Camp is a small camp with just 6 very comfortable cabins complete with patios and separate sitting areas. All meals and beverages including unlimited soft drinks and alcohol (beer/wine/spirits from a self-service bar) are included. Delicious and well prepared food. Free laundry service (except socks and underwear). A beautiful pool area and a beautiful deck with fire pit from which you can watch elephants graze in the afternoons. Friendly and attentive staff, some of whom join you for dinner each night.

All this is great but what really impressed me was our guide. It seems that they give you the same guide from the time you're picked up from the airstrip to the time you're dropped off, which is great for consistency and making sure the guide understands what you want to see and can work to find it for you. Aubrey was the most knowledgeable and hard working guide I've had on a safari. Morning game drives dark and early at 6am and last until about 11am. After lunch and free/rest time, afternoon game drives start around 3:30pm and last until about sunset (6:30pm). A long day for sure. Aubrey was able to find big cats using tracks on the road (he really knows his tracks and how to identify what made them) and careful observations of other animal behaviors that might suggest predators nearby. We were first to find big cats more than once in our three days. Additionally, he has some knowledge and appreciation for the needs and interests of more serious photographers, helping to ensure you're in the right place with the right light to make better photos as opposed to the usual tourist snapshots. And he knows lots about other subjects including birds and the night sky.

In addition you have the options to do a night game drive, a canoe ride (~2 hours), or a walking safari. We did the first two but not the walking safari. Didn't see as many animals as the normal game drives, but still fun experiences which give a different perspective of the area. One the night drive, Aubrey mimicked some owl calls which actually caused a small owl to come out for us to see.

We also visited Chobe and I felt Moremi was better for variety of animals and landscapes, from open grassland to river banks to dense shrubs and forest. Moremi is a great place to find wild dogs and we were lucky enough to find them finishing an impala kill.

Would love to visit here again someday!

Room tip: Mid-season (April/May) isn't as busy and much cheaper, you should still see plenty!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pdxphototraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Thank you for this lovely review, it speaks to everything we aim to achieve. The guiding experience is our heritage and I am thrilled to hear about your lovely experience. I will be sure to share this with Aubrey, he will be delighted to receive it.

Wonderful that you experienced a variety of activities each one sure does provide a unique perspective. The area is beautiful and it sounds as though you had a wonderful display of wildlife. Magical!

We too would love to host you again in the near future, until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2019

Staying at Khwai Bush camp is an extraordinary experience! Beautiful accommodation, a very good organization, delicious food, wonderful safaris… Everything is of a really high level, but it’s the passion and dedication of their team to give you an unforgettable personal journey that make it as exceptional as the beauty of their country Botswana.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fredericstey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Thank you for leaving this wonderful review. We are thrilled that we were able to be a part of your personal journey, keep exploring, keep discovering and keep growing.

All the best and we hope to welcome you back in the near future until then, keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

I have been really impressed by the location , the quality of food and accommodation , and especially the professionalism of the staff and the guides. I can recommend this to anyone looking for a unique experience in the Botswana bush.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Desironf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2019

Best in Botswana, that is a title we will happily take. Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019

In March 2019 we were lucky enough to stay with friends at KWHAI Bush Camp.

The staff was fantastic: All have a beautiful and very friendly personality and all are very special people …they make the place!!
We loved Nico and Christine for their funniness, Dodo and her table stories, Comfort – when he introduces the wines in the evening and LB – the “chef with an amazing voice” …and of course all the others not mentioned here!

Our guide PIET took us on thrilling gamedrives, between lions, elephants and leopards - at night and day!!!
We learned so much new! He showed us loads of additions to our bird list and his bush- and animal knowledge is fantastic!!!

Well, to cut a long story short: Khwai Bush Camp is the place to be and we will be back!!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaSchnellSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2019

Thank you for such a thrilling review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to write it. I will be sure to share this fabulous feedback with our team on the ground, they will love to receive it.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Until then keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews