We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy little house in the Crichowell”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crud-yr-Awel

Crud-yr-Awel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crud-yr-Awel
lounge tea?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Crud-yr-Awel
lounge
tea?
main bedroom
kitchen
little bedroom
A lovely walk across the moor to Chartists' cave.
Walking the old tramroad along the llangattock escarpment.
Crickhowell bridge and river Usk
Crickhowell from the castle mound.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aniruddha...
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cosy little house in the Crichowell”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We found this place to be very cosy and comfortable for a family of 4. It was well equipped and well maintained and has an old style heating in the living room.

All necessities such as groceries, restaurant, pub and petrol within walking distance. Another one not to miss is a Crickhoewll information centre which has collection of walk maps around crichowell.

Another do-not-miss place is The bear hotel pub. Excellent food and typical atmosphere.

Overall, a great stay in CrickHowell.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our week at this cottage Good size accommodation, clean and comfortable. Very close to the centre of lovely Crickhowell with own parking space. We noticed road noise at first but got used to it. Owner lives next door, we had all we needed including good wi-fi. This is a great little town to be based in for Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains, lovely walks nearby including riverside, canalside and mountain. Found 3 park areas within Crickhowell where our dogs could be let off the lead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Hi Wendy,
Thanks for your frank review of the cottage. There is some road noise but it was on a very busy weekend. Very glad you enjoyed your visit to our lovely town!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Village, very nice cottage.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I rented this cottage for a weeks stay with my family. The cottage is lovely and very well equipped and comfortable, everything you need is here. The village is lovely, as are the Brecon Beacons. We have had a lovely stay, and Jeff and Jane are lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Internet was a bit hit and miss, but highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely village.
Liked least: Would have been nice to have working Wifi
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Hi Angela
Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review of the cottage. The variable internet connection is, unfortunately, what happens in the countryside! I hope it didn't bother you too much.
best wishes
Jeff & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susna2014
Sevres, France
1 review
“Very spacy appartment in amazing well equiped little town with nice owner”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Ground and 1st floor in a small house, good equipment, we had everything we needed. As we came with public transport, we were glad to find everything to buy in Crickhowell for reaseonable prices. We hired bikes from Hopeyardfarm and went canyoning on brecon canal. Beneath problems with the map, we were very happy, though internet was sometimes a little bit capricious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Hi Susanne
Thanks for taking the time to review the cottage. You are quite right about the capricious internet but it's the same for me too. One of the troubles with rural reception. Very glad you enjoyed your stay.
best wishes
Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realrambl...
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It is just minutes from the town centre and all its pubs tea rooms and hotel restaurants. You park right outside the front door. The cottage is very comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen, nice bathroom with a bath and over shower. There is plenty of cupboard space in the bedrooms. It has central heating and a gas fire, so very cosy. Jeff made us very welcome and explained how things worked. The sky wifi was a bit on off at times, but we managed fine. We only took our car out once the whole week as there are plenty of walks straight from your door. Would love to return in the future

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2014
Hi Jill
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. I know they're a bit of a pain to do so much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
bw
Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing