We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect Home from home. Excellent access to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen/Diner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Diner
Sitting Room Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Kitchen/Diner
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
garden1
garden2
Spring garden at Ramblers Rest
Spring in the garden2
Spring in the garden
street view
River Usk
Crickhowell Castle
Morning - Crickhowell
Early Morning Mist
Ramblers Rest Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
glen907
Furstenfeld, Austria
1 review
“A perfect Home from home. Excellent access to the wonderful nature and warm and friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is a great little cottage, can easily walk up to thetable mountain and back form the cottage in 4 hours max and such a lovely walk up past brroks etc. Also close to Tal y Bont waterfall what a beautiful walk just 25 mins away and of course the Brecon and Monmouthire Cannal, we hired a boat for the day and had a great time. All this on your door step. But what is best of all is the cotage is close to the river and the wonderul town of crickhowel, what a jewel of wales. A beautiful town, with many small family businesses and very warm and friendly people.

The Hosts of ramblers cottage are extremely warm ad friendly people and have always made us feel welcome and this of course helps to make the holiday.

A great cottage, great location and nice and relaxing. If you looking for a get away from it all and relax, then this is your place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really does sound as though you thoroughly explored the area! See you again next Easter! Christina (owner).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susannah...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Shhhhh”
Reviewed 17 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Don't want to say too much or else you will all stampede here and we won't get a look in! Best appointed cottage to date after thirty years self- catering. The owners had thought of everything. Crickhowell is the most friendly village with lots of amenities.8 miles from Abergavenny. We will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Ramblers Rest Cottage - it's good to know we get some things right! We too, have been using self-catering cottages for over 30 years, so we hope we do know what people expect to find when staying in our cottage. See you again! Christina (0wner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
1 review
“Great place to explore the Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A lovely cosy cottage, with all you need for a stay in the Brecon Beacons. Great location for exploring the wonderful countryside and tackling some strenuous walks. Also a fantastic village for pubs, cafe's and shops, thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your review, and good to know you all got into the walking - yes, some are strenuous, but that is what keeps us Crickhowell people fit and well!!
Hope to see you again one day. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ramblers Rest is a lovely, comfortable and well appointed holiday cottage”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage is part of a street which is full of character and a few minutes walk from the centre of Crickhowell. The shops are excellent, particularly the TWO family butchers. There are some superb walks around the town to cater for all degrees of fitness and capability. And there some great pubs that do good food. We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Good afternoon. Just read your lovely review of Ramblers Rest Cottage. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this, and it sounds as if you really got to know our lovely little town!
Hope to see you in Crickhowell again one day. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
1 review
“A little gem”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ramblers Rest Cottage is a really lovely, homely place to stay in a wonderful location. The owners have furnished it beautifully and thoughtfully. It is also very well equipped, especially in the kitchen. The bed is very comfortable and the bedroom is a good size. The garden is delightful and well worth taking the time to sit and relax in. We were very grateful for the kind welcome gifts. Crickhowell is a very pretty and interesting small town with independent shops, nestled amongst the most spectacular countryside, great for walkers. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the Bridge End Beer garden, which is located right next to the river, with a wonderful view of the ancient bridge and only a stone's throw from 'our' lovely cottage. We would love to stay there again and highly recommend Ramblers Rest Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind words about our cottage and Crickhowell, and it's lovely to know that people appreciate the quiet and peaceful cottage garden - AND the weather was kind to you! We were sorry not to meet you on this occasion, but hopefully if you come back we can say hello! Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing