We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
257
63
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
63
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway line barmouth town lovely site minute walk clean site grass pitch friendly campsite toilet block grey waste small shop excellent facilities site staff family camping trip kept clean and tidy camping field shop on site staff are so friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent position. Facilities terrible. Both blocks need knocking down. No one looks up to clean . Spiders and webs everywhere. Shame . good for town and great safe beach. On your doorstep. Wouldnt come back unless facilities better.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank bevandkev17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We have just returned home after another lovely stay at this campsite. The staff at Hendre Mynach are always friendly and take a real pride in their site, and in the service they offer. On more than one occasion, I have been delighted by the fact that they are willing to go 'above and beyond' to help.
The site is always immaculate and the showers and toilets are clean no matter what time of day, or how many campers are on the site! Staff 'patrol' the site, emptying bins and chatting with campers and this makes a real difference.
I loved the new addition of the dog shower. We always bring our two dogs and it was great to be able to wash the sand and salty water off them. Barmouth is the most dog friendly town I can think of and this site is loved by dog owners - and I have not, in several years of visiting, seen a single incident of trouble involving a dog.
If you are thinking of visiting Barmouth, I can highly recommend this site and we have already booked to go back later this year.
Well done all at Hendre Mynach!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank nicja2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here a few years ago but never in a tent and never with 2 dogs.The weather was beautiful and our pitch 11 The cottage, was tucked away but close to the amenities. When we arrived we were shown to our pitch and informed of where everything was by a friendly chap called Steve. The site is perfect for accessing the beach and the walk into barmouth is easy, flat, and around 20 mins. The Min y Mor pub, en route, is excellent for a refreshing San Miquel with a big garden at the front. The showers and toilets were clean and the park very well maintained.
I must say a huge thank you,again, to Steve who saved our evening out by jump starting our car after a flat battery incident. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carolsZ1686ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendre M, Owner at Hendre Mynach Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. Steve is made up to read his name in print! It's always good to hear what we're getting right. We're glad to hear you had a lovely stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Steve has had his allotted pat on the back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

we enjoyed this so much last year we re booked this year WHAT a week the sun shone and the site was again superb .....Dog friendly is an understatement just about everyone had at least one dog BUT all were kept on leads and were well behaved. We stayed a full 7 days. The superb weather helped as does the excellent beaches and friendly staff. The Camp shop is really good and unlike many do not take the proverbial on prices £2.95 a pint of Welsh cider is reasonable if you like cider try it, the welcome was brill makes a great start to a Holiday does that. Out pitch was generous and the neighbours who came in friendly as were others on site with greetings as you passed. The only tiny nit pick and it is a tiny one is they really could do with another Toilet / Shower block over towards the Beach crossing but it is a tiny nit pick. The site is very clean with Wardens constantly patrolling , picking up any stray rubbish. The walk along the prom to the beach is 5 mins maybe 10 depending where you are on site. The Walk into Barmouth is a easy 20 minute stroll the prom road train is frequent and cheap enough the local A-B Tacsi .... Mike is brill and £4 for both of us from the Town along the Prom to the back of the site a pedestrian gate over the Railway gives easy access .

We really like this site ....and recommend it to any camper, trailer tent, caravan ot Camper van They are 'bike friendly too and a fair few folk on Motorcycles stayed over the week and at the weekend.

Room Tip: it is a tent and caravan park so the "Hotel" questions are meaningless
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendre M, Owner at Hendre Mynach Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your thorough review: the Welsh cider really is refreshing!

I note your comment regarding the loos: we are continually developing the site and do listen to our customers. We tried a Portaloo but it was not a success so have reviewed our site plans are considering our future options now with regards to planning.
Please note that there are 2 site shower/toilet blocks and a council-run loo just over the railway.

We are delighted that you notice how much care we take to keep the site clean and tidy.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

A lovely site, I was amazed at how quiet it was as caravans and tents are pitched together which I find can sometimes cause a problem. We were close to the gate across the railway line that lead out to the promenade, which was ideal, I would not have been so happy at the opposite end of the site. Well stocked shop, the showers and toilets were a bit dated and could do with a bit of a refresh, but hot water was plentiful. Staff were generally helpful. There is no club house on site but Barmouth is within walking distance and there is a hotel on the front (Min Y Mor) that does good food. There is a railway line running the length of the site, however there is only a train every couple of hours and it is not disruptive. It was so nice we are hoping to go back again next year!

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendre M, Owner at Hendre Mynach Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thanks for your review.
We have a grand plan to upgrade showers and toilets but this year we have made sure that we have really efficient boilers giving hot water and we pride ourselves in checking and cleaning thoroughly throughout the day, every day. We do listen to customer feedback and recently increased the number of checks and the length of time allocated to our deep cleans.
This year we have also been focussing on adding three brand spanking new PODS to the site and converting my former home into a beautiful holiday let for up to 8 customers, having listened to what customers want. We can't wait to launch the house soon so watch this space!

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year to extend another warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews