We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent base for exploring a lovely area.”

Review of Borth-Wen

Borth-wen Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Borth-wen Holiday Cottage
View from the House Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Borth-wen Holiday Cottage
View from the House
Lounge Area
Fully equipped Kitchen
One of the double bed rooms
Twin Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Path to Barmouth Bridge
Barmouth Bridge and Estuary
Sunset on Barmouth Promenade
Dramatic Barmouth
Barmouth Beach
View of Porkington Terrace
View over Barmouth Bridge
Barmouth harbour
Barmouth bridge & Snowy Cader Idris
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eric C
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An excellent base for exploring a lovely area.”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Borth-Wen is a very comfortable holiday cottage with views you can only dream of. We had the added bonus of excellent weather but i am sure would have been just good without. Excellent family value for money. We stayed with my brother and his daughter and we couldnt fault it. Highly recommended as a base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views from the first floor lounge.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv701
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look at the view!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This became our key phrase and we did enjoy the lovely view from the lounge .
Borth wen is great value for money accommodation,it provides all that you need and is clean and well equipped.
The location is excellent in relation to the town, cycling/ walking routes,and is centrally based for other local attractions.
There is good secure storage for bikes etc. and the off road parking is a definite bonus.
We found the owner very friendly and helpful.
Barmouth itself offers something for everyone.
We will certainly go back,in fact we can't wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy B
1 review
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here last August , then again with extended family in October, both times we had a great time so much so were going back again this year. The view from the window is stunning . Its a short walk from the town of Barmouth which has a fantastic pub called the Last Inn , the steak is to die for . Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view....... stunning!
Liked least: Beds were a little uncomfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect spot for barmouth”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

everything we needed was in the property including travel cot and high chair over the road was a single gate into a public garden area and through there to a small beach which we had to ourselves for the full week although that would probably be different in the school holidays
only a short walk into town although 1 short steep part on the way back
on the whole i can recommend this property as i have already done to work mates

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the convenient location
Liked least: nothing stands out as disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra L
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most pleasing and comfortable property with great view!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The proximity of Borthwen to Barmouth town centre and harbour is just a few minutes walk along the main road. The property itself is very adequate, spacious and clean with a beautiful view of the harbour. Small public park opposite leading down to a 'secret' beach and the cross harbour railway bridge which you can walk across (we only went half way though). Well equipped and clean kitchen suitable for family dining but there are many-places to eat down in the town too. Our weeks holiday was most enjoyable having Borthwen as a home base. Anyone wishing to enjoy the town and surrounding countryside would find this property excellently positioned with sufficient off road parking for a number of cars.
Glad we found you - hope to be visiting again soon - Thanks Jago !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great view
Liked least: Sprung mattresses a little uncomfortable.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$337
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing