We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Keep going back for more :)”

Review of Borth-Wen

Borth-wen Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Borth-wen Holiday Cottage
View from the House Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Borth-wen Holiday Cottage
View from the House
Lounge Area
Fully equipped Kitchen
One of the double bed rooms
Twin Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Path to Barmouth Bridge
Barmouth Bridge and Estuary
Sunset on Barmouth Promenade
Dramatic Barmouth
Barmouth Beach
View of Porkington Terrace
View over Barmouth Bridge
Barmouth harbour
Barmouth bridge & Snowy Cader Idris
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine M
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Keep going back for more :)”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My partner and I now consider ourselves to be 'regulars' at Borthwen, we enjoy staying there twice each year and have done so for almost four years.

Barmouth is a great base from which to explore the beautiful surroundings - Harlech, Dolgellau, Porthmadog, Portmerion, Aberdovey, etc. Whether you're there for a walking holiday or just to relax on the beautiful stretch of an excellent beach, there are choices galore.

The house is in a superb location - only a short walk away from Barmouth town centre - , with terrific views of the sea from the balcony in the large living room (even better when the sliding doors are open on good days, though there is some road noise).

Recent improvements (the new carpet and sofas) are greatly appreciated, making this a very comfortable 'home from home'. There is a huge bathroom with separate shower cubicle which has the best power shower we've experienced.

The kitchen is roomy and well equipped, and all rooms have been spotlessly clean when we've visited.

We can highly recommend this lovely property to potential self-catering Barmouth visitors. We are sure you will enjoy it as much as we do :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The much better view than that we have at home !
Liked least: There are no negative aspects to a holiday at Borthwen :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoot999
Northwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable house, fantastic views and great walks”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Booked last minute and very pleased we did. First-class location with fantastic views. Small amount of road noise but not disturbing and worth it to watch the world go by. Warm and comfortable house and had everything we needed. Brilliant for walking - lots of hill walks with amazing panoramic views but also lots of flat walking by the sea and across the estuary to Fairbourne - or up the side of the estuary towards Dolgellau. Didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Internet access would have been good (...but not necessary)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerdre...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“I want to go back”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

stayed at the cottage for a week and was really impressed with it . Views were amazing . You had everything there . We all enjoyed our stay . Instant hot water .I will definately go back at some point .Children loved it there was books for them to look at and jigsaws . It was very modern and spacious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: liked everything
Liked least: no internet connection
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEWatts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday home. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 2 daughters (aged 9 & 13). A lovely cottage, only a few minutes walk from the centre of Barmouth. Nicely furnished and decorated. The view from the balcony is amazing. We loved the little secluded beach, just through the gate across the road. The road can be a little tricky to cross so be careful with young children. Good value for money. Would highly recommend it. It could be improved by having a dining table in the lounge so you can appreciate the views at meal times. Also Internet access would be good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the beach, the location.
Liked least: Slightly damp downstairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday home in a picturesque location”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I stopped at borth-wen and couldn’t have had a better experience of holidaying in Mid-Wales, The pictures on this web page don’t give this holiday home justice as it has been refurbished with a flat screen TV, new carpets throughout and a new leather sofas and chair. It also has a separate relaxing study with a massage chair. This is a home from home in a delightful location with picturesque views from the balcony and they’re right what they say about Barmouth having it’s own Micro Climate as you only had to travel a few mile in land to meet the rain while we basked in sunshine. I would recommend this holiday home to anyone as it is well equipped spacious and extremely comfortable and good value for money. Only criticism is that the picture of the living room needs updating to show off the property to its current high standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the balcony
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing