We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
82
30
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
30
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room cooked breakfast single room friendly couple carry our bags sea view railway station travel cot fire escape breakfast room set you up for the day sea front stayed here for one night choice of cereals rooms are clean tea and coffee making facilities biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

No Parking (we were told there was)

Depressing room with old mattresses full of lumps. Old pillows that were yellowing. Smelly old thin towels with Rips in. A shelf that was sloping and not fixed to the wall.

No blind in bathroom (there was but didn’t work)!
No bath mat.

Sloping shelf/ plenty of dust and not very clean.

Breakfast was ok and the lady was pleasant and helpful .

The Man who owned it was not helpful at all.
He watched us struggle out with bags and my friend who is disabled asked him for help and he wasn’t too pleased. He also watched me struggle through the heavy fire door and didn’t offer to help.

We won’t be going back!

Needs new beds/ bedding and a good clean!
New Towels.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank wendylynnprescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie P, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review; albeit not one that we were expecting.

If your experience was indeed as shocking as you state, we would expect you to have raised the issues with us at the time. If we have missed something when cleaning, we are only human and would have re-cleaned if necessary for you. Our bedding is changed every year. The mattresses are changed as issues arise and so we will look to changing the mattresses, if needed.

We can address a couple of things - we do not have a private car and do not state anywhere that we do have. There is on street parking, that is free of charge, but works on a first come, first served basis (local residents included as well as visitors!)

There's a blind in the bathroom and the bedroom; if you had trouble with either of these, we would have been happy to help.

We offer help with luggage to our guests, again if you were dissatisfied with our service, we would expect you to raise this with us.

In spite of your 'shocking' time with us, we do hope that you had a nice time in Barmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

This was a little bit of a surprise package. The Host Steve and his wife are very nice people and helpful. It is only a short walk to town, railway station, attractions and supermarkets. Plenty of parking out the front or in the side street. The room was a fair size and enough room to store our stuff-there is wardrobe in the room. The bathroom is a little small though workable. The shower was hot and strong. The towels are on the small side and a little worn. Stayed in a room without the beach view (I think room 5) though the back door could be opened to let a nice breeze through. A set of stairs to get to the room. The room is a little tired but clean. Fully cooked breakfast was just the right size with plenty of cereal and yoghurt available. A nice view from the breakfast room which is on the ground floor. There is an Iceland and Tesco near the railway station.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DDSWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here, I booked 2 nights to explore Barmouth and some local towns, the location was perfect for that. Room and bathroom were both clean and tidy and had a sea view. Breakfast was great, set me up for the day. :)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We are doing a road trip around wales with the 2 kids and booked this b@b as it was within budget. It's definitely a budget property. It's in need of serious maintenance and care. We had family room at top of building be prepared it's small and the bathroom is in need of serious renovation. Breakfast is good but don't expect hotel standard. Location is ideal. It's in competition with several other properties along the beach front and it will soon be in danger of being left behind if some care is not taken.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Just back from our weekend away arrived Friday afternoon and we would definitely recommend here we had a twin room and both beds were lovely and comfortable tea and coffee making facilities in the room with complementary biscuits, on suite bathroom with lovely fresh towels and soap shampoo and shower gel, breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.30 and was cooked fresh and was delicious and plentiful nothing was to much trouble would highly recommend

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanette137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews